First Post: Hi I'm cockroach! Steem On!

Hello Steemit!


I am a 17 year old IB student in central Florida who is extremely interested in what Steemit has to offer. My IB Economics class decided with the help of @Nidolabz, to start a project on crypto-currencies that could expand our on knowledge on Bitcoin and Alt-coin and their effect on the world economy. Now on the topic of my interests, I attempt to be a jack of all trades, I am a self-taught programmer in C languages but have dabbled in some database management languages such as SQL (mostly SQL lol), I have also participated in some game jams because like most of my friends, I love video games, everything from League of Legends to Fallout to Mario Sunshine, I love em all. I am also an amateur photographer and filmmaker, I love films, ever since I was young movies were an outlet for me so over the years I have gained some knowledge in terms of what makes a good film and have wanted to do reviews for quite sometime. With my passion of movies, I have also been an amateur Editor for a lot of video projects, including a YouTube channel that I run with some friends, I mostly use Sony Vegas 13 but I'm trying to get better with Adobe Premiere. Lastly, one of my true loves is producing; making music is truly something that keeps me happy and inspires me to continually try at something in an attempt to sharpen my skills, I mostly work in Reaper and Ableton Live but also use FL Studio from time to time. When it comes to crypto, I'm strictly a rookie and have thrown my hat in only about once or twice with some decent returns (traded a bit of Litecoin) but I would love to learn about it and start trading a lot more. All in All, I'm just happy to be here, with such a great community, I already feel like I love it here and can't wait to get started!

Steem On!

20171206_185216.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to Steemit!
Hope you get to enjoy wonderful human company here.

thank ya!

Hi @cockroach What an odd name for a username haha At least they are one of the most resilient creatures on earth and resilience is one of the characteristics that you'll need. Things can get tough here specially with the mounting competition and dealing with the different people here. Anyway I would like to welcome you here at steemit and I hope you will enjoy it here. If you need any help just post a message in one of my post or mention me in one of you post and I will try to help you out whenever possible. See you around :)

hahaha I get that a lot, just a username that stuck with me lol, thanks for the words of inspiration! see ya around!

Bienvenido amigo, el mundo de la criptografia es muy interesante...te sigo para leer tus publicaciones y apoyar en lo que pueda.

Welcome to steemit :)

Nice to meet you bro!!!!

Hola mi amigo, looks like we're getting the whole gang on here! IB Econ fam

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cockroach to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Welcome to Steemit! This is a great place to explore and share some of your thoughts in your research and exploration of cryto. They say jack of all trades and master of none, but jack of trades is the facilitator and he can see all and the pitfalls of others. Following

Congratulations @cockroach, this post is the tenth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 3630 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $775.08. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Hey cockroach, nice to meet a jack to my jill-of-all-trades. Sounds like we have some similar interests in the arts and I am also a novice with crypto and Steemit. Of what I have learned so far, I definitely know I am excited.

SQL seems to be a theme for me today. Since it's computer science education week, I found a website that was giving away a free hour of coding but with absolutely no experience, I didn't know what language to pick. My sister--an industrial engineer-- gushed about SQL but urged me to learn how to make a game/app so I would be motivated to keep up practicing the language by making something fun/personal.

Awesome! I'm glad you are enjoying programming! I recommend C++ or C# for programming games because of Unity's awesome engine that uses C#. Good to meet ya!

hey!
I upvoted this.

Please kindly visit my blog https://steemit.com/life/@thankful.andrew/what-is-my-purpose

thank you

Welcome to steemit, @cockroach!

Crypto is such a hot field, and this is a great place to learn. I am sure you'll get a terrific time here.

My profile is @flashfiction and i would like to present you some links i found really useful when i first signed up here. They will make you start with the right foot on Steemit!

These links will all open on the SAME TAB (Yeah, i know...), so i recommend opening them with "right click->open in a new tab".

LinkCheckDescription
Growing FastTopYou HAVE to register here, if you want to build an audience FAST. It's a free service for boosting exposure, upvotes and followers. You just have to click on "login". Have your key at hand (That awfully long number you got when you signed up on Steemit). The tutorials are easy to follow.
All about steem coinsTopThere are three coins of use on Steemit, and understanding them is critical for your success. This is a short explaining video, the very best i've found.
MarkdownTopEven if you can use some basic HTML on your posts, the correct way to format them is NOT HTML. You use a marking ruleset called, yeah, "Markdown". Have this as a complete reference.
PostingMediumThe top activities on this site are posting, upvoting and commenting. This is an excellent tutorial about making your posts look great. Don't miss it!
UpvotingMediumYeah, you tought upvoting was just a matter of machine-gunning your clicks and make easy bucks. Nah. It is actually a little more complicated than that. All you need to know is here.
Better interfaceMediumLet's face it: The interface on Steemit is pretty basic. "Busy" is an alternate interface you can use, more polished and easy to navigate. Both of them can be used simultaneously. Again, you just have to login.
Using BotsMediumThere are a lot of things to learn about this platform, and understanding bots is one of the most important. They are little different services you can access for a fee. I found this tutorial extremely useful.
Trevon JamesMediumI know, i know... there are lots and lots of GREAT steemians here for picking one to recommend, but i just love Trevon's style. He explains EVERYTHING you need to know about Steemit (and crypto) in a funny, accesible way. Check him out.
@flashfictionAwesomeWell, duh. My profile! ;) I write short fiction and tutorials on creative writing. I would be honored if you'd follow me.

Anything i cand help you with, i'm at your service!

See you around!

Woo-hoo, another floridian! Welcome to steemit. Hope you have fun on here. There are so many people to meet. Come chat in discord! I am part of a group called the minnow support group, there are a few floridians there i could introduce you too.

Hellooo welcome to Steemit :) lovely to have you here!! :)) You will enjoy Steemit!

Hello @cockroach. Am glad you are here on steemit. Hope you have a lovely time here on steemit. I upvoted you,its small, but just a sign of my good will.

Am on a contest now and I really need your vote. All you need do is click this link https://steemit.com/contest/@jaynie/the-never-would-i-ever-challenge-3-sports

And then upvote my comment @stellastella in the comment section.
That will help me win the sports contest. Thanks a lot for your anticipated help. You can join the contest also if you desire. Thanks alot for your help