Channeling my christmas frustration and turnng it into art.

postcard1.jpg

So, as you may have noticed by the title- I’m not much of a jolly person. Somehow, the magic of Christmas holidays and fireplace gatherings never stuck on me, as if I was made of some super non-sticky material (Wineglass? Fur pillow? Who knows..). Don’t get me wrong- generally I am almost always cheerful and just the sunshine of the day. But. Where I come from, winter is COLD. That means snow and slush and ice and cold feet. I am not a huge fan of any of those. Therefore, so long awaited X-mas, welcomed by everyone as time for relax, love and family, is usually marked in bold black letters in my calendar. Just like the dentist or jeans shopping. Ugh.
For me, Christmas is just ten days of being stuck at home (because there is no chance I am willingly going out into a blizzard), which means 24/7 with MY family (lemme make a whole separate post on that one later).
So here’s what happens: Comfort food (because uh, suddenly everyone wants to talk and what I’ve learned the hard way is, that talk in my family‘s laungauge means turning any kind of tipic into an argument. Thanks, I’ll pass), cheezy holiday movies, which, I have to admit, I am a big fan of. I watch ‘The Nightmare before Christmas‘ all year round and ‘Grinch‘ is in my top ten movies about green things (‘Shrek‘ never hit the list, he is so relatable that it haunts me). And last but not least: art.
Ever since I can remember, art has always been my steam off/cool down/let it out kind of thing. I am quite the introvert, although most of my friends wouldn’t notice, while I’m also a big joker and loud talker. Simply put, I keep the big emotions inside and creating art helps me keep the balance right.
This here is a series of my not-so-jolly christmas postcards, home-made with my own hands and bitterness. They shouldn’t be taken too seriously, if you’re a Christmas lover, please don’t get offended. I myself am more than aware of the joy that gingerbread cookies, hot chocolate and Home Alone can spark, it’s just that my inner Grinch is usually the one who’s holding the brush when I paint. If nothing else, get some laughs (good for your after Xmas abs) on the really bad puns.
And with that, I will leave you. Thank you for reading through (or scrolling down real fast just to see the pictures) my very first post. Please let me know what you think of the postcards!
With lots of coffee and dash of love,

Coffee-brain.

postcard2.jpg
postcard3.jpg
postcard6.jpg
postcard5.jpg
postcard4.jpg
postcard7.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome. Cheer up. Even down here in South Florida it is chilly. Not ski jacket cold, but still not shorts and sandals warm like usually. But, before you know it the cold will be gone.

Thanks! Yes, I can already feel the sun gettin warmer and warmer. Spring is coming!