Introducing Cool English - Moving All Content To Steemit, Planning To Expose 30,000 New Japanese Users To Steemit Each Month. よろしく!

Welcome to Cool English on Steemit!



Introcuding Myself and Cool English

Hey Steemians! Nice to meet you, I'm Bill. Actually, I've already been on Steemit for quite some time with another account, so this is my second self-introduction. The reason being that this account is dedicated to my English learning website, Cool English. I didn't really want to mix ESL learning posts with my other content. It's just messy that way.

What Is Cool English?

Cool English is a site for Japanese people who want to learn how native speakers really speak English. I started Cool English a couple of years ago as a source of natural English input for Japanese English learners. I try to focus on English that people actually use in conversation, and write the articles in a conversational style. It's been a semi-successful site, but if you've ever tried to do a website and get ranked in Google, you know how hard it can be. That's why I'm moving all present and future content exclusively to Steemit, and ditching the website, at least in its present form. I may do a new version of the site once with an embedded Steem feed, if I feel it necessary.

Potential To Introduce Steemit to over 30,000 People Per Month

You might be wondering why I chose the name Cool English. While doing keyword research for another website with the Google Keyword Planner, I just happened to come across it (in Japanese, かっこいい英語), and I noticed it was getting over 30,000 searches a month. So I decided to build a niche site targeted at that search term. Over time the site has built up traffic, sometimes as many as 200 unique visitors a day, with quite a few posts on the first page of Google. But I think I can do better by moving the content to Steemit.

Hopefully, I'll be getting the word out to 30,000 or more people per month that Steemit is the place to be to make money learning English, in addition to making money creating, reading, and curating other content. I want to see the Japanese community here grow as fast as the Korean community has been lately.

Get Paid To Learn English!!!

I'm going to be promoting the Cool English Steemit Blog as a site where English learners have the chance to get paid to learn English. There are all kinds of free English study sites on the web, but Cool English will be one of the first, if not the first, to allow people to make money while studying, through the power of Steemit, the only social media site that actually pays people to blog, comment, and vote on content.

English & 日本語

All of the articles I write will be both English & Japanese in one post (except for this one). Unfortunately, I only speak English and Japanese, so if you speak another language and are interested in translating articles into your language, hit me up!

Cool English on the blockchain... It's gonna be awesome for English learners!



If you're an English learner, I'm looking forward to helping you improve your English! If you're a native English speaker, well, I hope you find something of value as well. Maybe you can pick up some Japanese!

If you see any mistakes in my Japanese (or my English, God forbid!), let me know! We're all learners here. We all make mistakes. And we all progress.

Follow me here on Steemit to improve your English while earning Steem. You can also follow Cool English on Twitter and Facebook.

Stay tuned for more posts!


Take it easy!



Sort:  

This post received a 13% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @kendewitt! For more information, click here!

Thank you!

please help me to improve English.
upvote and following

Of course! That's what I'm here for. Thank you for upvoting and following, I'll do the same.

Thank you 😊

This is great! I welcome all our Japanese brothers and sisters to steemit :D

Thanks for your support!

I've Upvoted for sure. happy to meet you in this big family.
looking forward to your next post.
You can follow my food blog to know more about me @fatkid

Thank you. Happy to meet you too. My next post is coming soon, with more to follow.

This is a great idea! I teach ESL in China, and you've given me some ideas on how to use Steemit with my students.

Thanks! Yeah, obviously I teach ESL too. What kind of school and what level?

University level, but I've also taught younger students in tutorials. Chinese students have the same problems as Japanese -- very few chances to practice speaking English. Their school lessons are all about reading, writing and grammar.

Yeah, one difference I'm aware of is that Japanese tend to be more shy, which isn't very helpful for learning to speak.

But it's the same here in the schools. Focus is on reading and writing, and the obvious problem with that is that written English is usually very different from conversational. So the goal here is to write about spoken English in the style of spoken English, as much as that is possible. Kinda hard to ritespokeninglishlikeitsrillyspokenyano?

Exactly. That's what I tell my students again and again. Spoken English has only the slightest connection to how it's written down. I teach them both listening and speaking, and I try to bring their attention to common speech patterns, y'know?

BTW, American Accent Training by Ann Cook is a helpful book. Have you ever used it?

Yep, I know.

No, I haven't used that book but I have seen it online. I have gotten away from using books and gone to teaching strictly with audio. Of course reading is important too, but I find most students don't do enough listening so I try to get them into the habit. Saves me on printing costs too.

A big warm Steemit welcome goes out to you CoolEnglish! Upvoted and High Paw.

IMG_1435.JPG

Thanks! That's paw-fect!

Great idea! Wish I would have though of it! A cool eikaiwa on steemit! Best of luck.

Thanks! Why don't you do something similar? There's plenty of English out there.

I've got enough on my plate. I did teach at an eikawa many years ago and hated it so I'll leave it to people like you.

Ok, so I guess you didn't really wish you'd thought of it lol. There are plenty of other niches though. Where did you teach?

You're right, I would have probably jumped in front of a train had I have thought of it and actually acted on it. Still a good idea.

In Tokyo at a smaller eikawa. May not even be around anymore. We were "entertainers" not teachers.

Yes, eikaiwa can be a mix of entertainment, therapy, and sometimes actual English learning. My main goal at my school is to teach them how to learn on their own. A lot of people just don't know how to study language. But it is also entertainment a lot of the time, as in joking around and having a good time. I don't fake it though, if I feel like shit I let my students know. I think most people would rather see all sides of the teacher anyway, not a fake Genki face all the time.

But I run my own show, so I'm free to do it however I want.

Welcome to steemit community.
I’m @jyoungking2 Start by following people and they will do the same.
Good Luck

Thanks. I've actually been on Steemit since the beginning on another account, so I know the ropes.

It is a nice initiative as there are many non - english speakers keep it on .. would love to read more posts by you .. keep posting
Upvoted the post!
You Can follow me @utfull if you like
Will follow you back! See you around .

Yes, there are a lot of non-native English speakers on Steemit. But also, there are a lot of Japanese English learners who aren't on Steemit yet. So, hopefully I can help Steemit grow even faster than it already is.

Wishing you best of luck building up your blog.
Steemitにようこそ。

Thanks! Nice Doraemon gif you've posted!