Sort:  

Thanks! Why don't you do something similar? There's plenty of English out there.

I've got enough on my plate. I did teach at an eikawa many years ago and hated it so I'll leave it to people like you.

Ok, so I guess you didn't really wish you'd thought of it lol. There are plenty of other niches though. Where did you teach?

You're right, I would have probably jumped in front of a train had I have thought of it and actually acted on it. Still a good idea.

In Tokyo at a smaller eikawa. May not even be around anymore. We were "entertainers" not teachers.

Yes, eikaiwa can be a mix of entertainment, therapy, and sometimes actual English learning. My main goal at my school is to teach them how to learn on their own. A lot of people just don't know how to study language. But it is also entertainment a lot of the time, as in joking around and having a good time. I don't fake it though, if I feel like shit I let my students know. I think most people would rather see all sides of the teacher anyway, not a fake Genki face all the time.

But I run my own show, so I'm free to do it however I want.