Who am I? Or is it a lie? Chosen by the name 'Coral'

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Good Morning (from the U.K)!

I'm an English/Irish redhead named Coral and I am trying to live my best life.
Always wanting to better myself, constantly changing for the greater good. It's a long process but I AM getting there.
Despite the mental health road blocks, despite hating myself every now and again and taking a step back; I'll always take a step forward. I'm better than I was. I was the devil.

This is me:
29386959_10155736271687946_5848712921244237824_n.jpg

This guy has been in my life for the past 5 years; meeting him in the early 2010's changed my life around; I used to be a raging binge drinker, a heap on the floor, and he's influenced me to change and my life sky rocketed since!

29356644_10155736273582946_1446179642489700352_n.jpg

I live in this constant grey but with a lot of green land, it's where I was born and where I've lived for the past 26 years of my ever changing life and I'm learning to like it for what it is, even though I do dream of moving to the Netherlands in the future.

Character art is my forte; I started teaching myself to draw every day about a year and a half ago and I'm seeing progress. I also want to start getting into concept art and other subjects. Creativeness has always been my thing and always will be until I enter the world of souls.

One day I'll make it as a money making artist! I am determined.

My latest art:
29365711_10155736246252946_6427007238035996672_o.jpg

Screw the 9-5, office work, staring at a screen for 8 hours, 5 days a week. We do that enough anyway, what with our mobile devices and especially for me... as a digital artist, I live by my tablet to create!
I want to be self employed, work by my own rules, be able to go for walks and adventures when I want to.
Travelling is another interest of mine.
I want to see all these cultures, try all foods, listen in on all the languages of the world, all the traditions, I want to be everywhere. So far, it's just been Turkey, Amsterdam and Paris.
Next year to the world of New York and then Tokyo!

This is the reason to why I've joined steemit. I want to share my art with you, along with the processes of my art, I want you guys to see my journey, the beautiful progression of my skills. I want to share my love and connect with those like-minded and find new art to get ultimate inspiration from.

Whilst in Amsterdam:
29432574_10155736271902946_615677020646408192_n.jpg

Meeting new beings is my absolute love! I want to see where you live, your beautiful countries and cities and towns, your culture, I want to see what you create, what you do. I want to reach others!

Sort:  

Hey there, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and your name reminds me of Carl as said by Rick Grimes in the Walking Dead.

Oatmeal Joey Arnold, very interesting alias! I love it!
Ahaha, yes! I know of his character, watched it a few times before, the American pronunciation of 'Carl' does sound exactly like how you'd say my name "Corrrall".

funny honey

Welcome to Steemit @coralkarina... it's quite challenging at the start, getting our creativity noticed by many and finding a community that alike... but as long as you keep on going... you'll find your way...

Good Luck... try to add one more #steem-cartoon as your tag... I will upvote it if I find the post... cheers!

I have a little community of fans on Instagram, which I cherish. I need to find a way for a little while to maybe open comissions for them so I can engage and up my skills. I will keep going, shall never give up! Thank you sireh.

Add it as my tag? How do you mean? I have resteemed one more that is of importance to me, is this what you're meaning?

Thanks again dude.

Resteem is sharing the post... tag is categorized your post for your target community ...
example: your tags are 1.introduceyourself, 2.life, 3.artist, 4.characterart... (u have 4) maximum is 5 tags... try to add one more #steem-cartoon tag so it easier for our community to find you... we try our best to support each other... :)

Ah! I understand now. I had a feeling that is what you were meaning. :)
Thank you for your help @sireh

I've changed the characterart tag to just art, to make it easier for others to find me. There's a lot of great crafters on this community.
I'm glad to be apart of this!

The freelance life is the only life! Find as many ways as possible to supplement your income with art and you will thrive. Cheers :)

I need to find ways to do this; I believe my art isn't good enough to sell right now, also I'm not confident to do commissions just yet.
What ways can I do this? I'd love some information. :)
Thanks Sloe.

Happy to help!
Don't let your lack of confidence stand in your way, your commissions are waiting...
I would start with local businesses. When someone wants to open a coffee shop or yoga studio in your community they will seek out marketing and design professionals. These are your people. Find them and keep showing them your work. I can imagine with some refining your art can become a logo or brand icon.

Next, I would try any publications in your community. Free magazines, music rags, etc. They are always looking for local art and sketches that have local relevance. Bring them donuts, coffee and your new sketches. Build relationships. Stay on their radar.

How's your portfolio? Maybe we could have some fun on steemit by giving you fake clients and having you deliver final images. For example: new flower shop opening in late spring. Go!

Fantastic idea! It's confidence mostly. I have a tendency of comparing myself to the greats, the artists I love and follow on Instagram, Artstation, DeviantArt etc. It's hard to divide yourself from that. But I guess that is human nature.

I live smack bang in a city, so that should be quite easy for me; it's just PUSHING myself to do this and get the confidence. I create a scenario in my head where I'm doing the commission work for a client and then I imagine I'd get all flustered and think they'd hate my art every single time.
Hard to disassociate with that one.

That may be a good idea too! - I bet there is a sub steemit archive with commissions for artists.


Welcome to Steemit @coralkarina!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hi introbot,

Thank you so much for that, that's very useful. I'm insanely new to this and I have a lot to learn so, yes, they will be great to read.

Thank you again!

Hello! Excellent article, you're done! Welcome to Steemit, I'm glad to new friends and have followed you, I hope you will follow me as well, wish you successful development of your blog! 😃
Upvoted your post! 😉

Well thank you kind sir! It's nice to meet you too and I'm glad you enjoyed my introduction. I didn't want to give too much away just yet, more to come!
Have a beautiful day.

welcome to steemit! awesome coralkarina

Thank you, lopezdacruz (I love your username).

Welcome to Steemit Coral, I hope you will enjoy your time here :)

Hello Coral Nice name! Welcome to STEEMIT Family ! I am really glad you are here, enjoy the steemit.

Awh, well thank you! I like my name too!

Welcome to Steemit, @coralkarina!

Thanks herverisson!