Feelin’ the Fear and Doin’ It Anyway

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi, it’s nice to meet you. I’m KJ. I’m excited and afraid to be here on Steemit. 

I’m excited because there is so many interesting ideas and viewpoints expressed here and so much awesome information; I’m afraid because I’ve decided that I want to post on here instead of just reading. I know that most everyone reading this is probably already on here writing, but for me, putting my ideas and feelings out there is a frighteningly big deal.

The Fear of Putting Things Out There

I’ve always loved to write and create, but I’ve also always been a bit afraid of putting my creations and writing out there for the world to see.  I realize that not everyone appreciates the same things - yet even though I know that, I still feel that need to have everyone love what I create.

So basically, I try desperately hard to please everyone while at the same time knowing that I can’t - welcome to my hell. I imagine a lot of people are probably in that same boat.  

I’m trying to be okay with the fact that not everyone is going to appreciate me and what I have to offer. I’ve always been a very private person so writing about personal thoughts and feelings is new for me, which is odd because those are the types of things that I most love to read.

Who I Am and Why Am I Here?

Who am I? Other than being a mom, I honestly have no idea anymore. With a recent divorce, I am going through some drastic life changes and am re-defining myself or at least trying figure out how I want to define myself and what I want in my life.

I think one thing that has attracted me to Steemit is that I hope that the writing process and the act of putting my feelings and thoughts out publicly will somehow help me on that journey.  I’m also hoping that by putting my feelings and thoughts out there, I can maybe help someone else in their path of trying to figure things out.

The Only Thing I’m Certain Of Being Anymore:  A Mom

I’m a mom to two teenagers who I think are pretty great kids. They do make me want to pull my hair out at times, but I love them and learn a lot from them. 

I think most kids tend to be aware of and understand more than we think they do, and mine definitely have a way of simplifying something down to its essence and then saying what they think, which helps me a lot, but I'll admit, it sometimes stings a bit.

What I Do for Work

I work from home, running an online shop where we sell personalized invitation designs. Creating a business was a big step for me - another area where I’ve had to deal with fear. It took a while to get it to work, but I kept designing (and re-designing) until it finally is doing okay.

With my own business, I still do have fear getting in the way on a regular basis, but I’m learning how to deal with it (most days anyway). I love working from home and am working on starting a new online shop selling metaphysical and spiritual supplies and jewelry. It’s in the early stages, but is starting to gain momentum. 

In the past, I’ve worked traditional retail and waitress jobs, yet I’ve also worked some more unique jobs - I’ve taught at a marital arts studio, worked at a Sexual Assault Counseling Center, taught women’s self-defense courses, taught cardio kickboxing classes, and designed and managed websites. It’s been an interesting journey so far.

Other Stuff About Me

I have a bachelor’s degree in English. I grew up in California, but kind of randomly moved to Idaho about 10 years ago. I’ve always loved nature, wildlife, and the outdoors and been somewhat athletic. I love animals - especially my cats and dog - I love camping, hiking, fishing, running, and working out.  I also love reading, writing, and drawing. I love my family and friends. I love sunsets, tea, Chai Tea lattes, dark chocolate, coffee shops, flowers, the color black, and watching movies.


My Dog - Dwinn  He's a Husky/Border Collie mix and is a great dog! His name has an interesting story. When we adopted him from the humane society, we were taking forever to agree on a name so I started calling him “Dog With No Name,” which was too long to actually use so I starting using just the first letters DWNN and added the “I” in the middle and he's been known as "Dwinn" ever since.

What I Intend to Write About

I intend write about a mix of things that will hopefully help other people while helping myself as well: self-discovery, life, relationships, parenting, psychology, home business, small business start-up, the outdoors, and more. 

The more I think about it, the more I realized that I really shouldn’t care so deeply about the opinions of the people who don’t appreciate me or don’t like what I have to say. By putting the real me out there - I’m hoping that it might just help me connect with more people who like me for who I am and what I think, and those are the people that I want to be around. 

My Steemit Name - @creatingkj

I chose my Steem name, @creatingkj, because it represents two things for me - one, I love to create things so it is what I do; and two, I’m hoping to write about what I learn and my experiences in creating the new me - so I’m actually creatingKJ. So follow me, stick around, and see how that goes for me. I need all the help and encouragement that I can get!

My Contribution

I hope that my words can make a contribution here on Steemit - maybe even help a few fellow Steemians, but I realize that not everyone will be into what I have to say - a fact that I know I need to be okay with. This is probably the most open that I’ve ever been publicly, which scares me to death, but I’ve decided to feel that fear and move forward anyway. So with my heart pounding, I’m going to take a deep breath, close my eyes, and hit the “POST” button.

Sort:  

Nice to meet you Creatingkj ! Welcome to the steemit community ! Take care, @digital-gypsy

This post received a 4.7% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @digital-gypsy! For more information, click here!

Thanks for the welcome. I love your username.

Thats awesome that you stepped out of your comfort shell to write on here. Im looking forward to the topics you write on especially psychology.

To get started in the community please start by ✔liking✔♻resteeming♻and🔥following🔥people you like on here.

Please give me a follow too as I have followed you.

Thanks! I've followed you back and am looking forward to reading your posts!

Welcome
I have followed you. Have nice time at steemit

This comment has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 1.00 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @hamayun. Vote for Aggroed!

Welcome to Steem @creatingkj I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hey there! Welcome aboard! Shating and followed!

Greetings @creatingkj! it's good to meet new steemians. Feel free to follow me and ask if you get stuck.

Let me welcome you to this community @Creatingkj . I'm @chrisx and if you need any help feel free to contact or follow me :-)

Thanks for the welcome. I'm following you back

Welcome Creatingkj! Glad to see you,I hope you enjoy here as much as i do !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me .

Thank you. I'm looking forward to being part of the Steemit community!

Welcome to steemit, happy to have you here

Thank you. Happy to be here.

Hello @creatingkj. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Great post @creatingkj You'll find out more about yourself in this community! It's interesting the way that happens. You are going to do great here. Just enjoy the journey. Look forward to seeing you around!

Thanks for the words of encouragement. I appreciate it!

Nice to be your friend here at Steemit! The community needs cool people like you @creatingkj :)
I already upvoted and followed you to see all of your future blogs!
I wish you more followers and friends!
Don't forget to follow me too @apple64 so that we can be friend forever :D

Thank you. I'm following you and looking forward to your posts

Welcome to Steemit @creatingkj!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Hello !I am @minnowhelp, nice to meet you @Creatingkj,
I do track some @booster upvote runs and try to figure out, if this booster upvote really giving a value.
With this upvotes you can earn some money here, if they provide a value. That's what I am testing for new Steemians !

Im my session#1 I tracked amongs I tracked amongst other users the upvote boost of @triverse, he boosted his post value to $8.82 , which was $5.08 more than before the booster upvote !
And that with just an investment of $1.96 !

So if you want to see the results of my work, feel free to follow me @minnowhelp

Welcome to Steemit @Creatingkj !

Welcome to the steemit creatingkj

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Welcome to Steemit platform!! You will have such a good time here!! I do video tutorials for newbies and also yummy food ;) If you are very hungry, don't go to my page :P Alla xx

hello~ creatingkj, Follow & Upvote is a You and I great strength~, @leesujae17

Congratulations @creatingkj! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!