Am I Too Late To The Steemit Party?!?

Who is Cryptotter?

I'm one of those 20-something millennials who enjoys avocado toast and overpriced coffee, currently residing in Canada. I spend my day working remotely for a marketing agency where I lead search marketing efforts for our clients around the globe, as well as handling pretty much all technical challenges that get thrown our way. I spend a good portion of my day in a terminal window as a Linux sysadmin, managing a few hundred servers.

My experience in the Crypto world

I collected my first satoshis from a Bitcoin faucet back in 2010/2011 and have had bitcoin and cryptocurrencies in the back of my mind ever since. The idea of unregulated, low fee digital cash has excited me ever since I received my first Paypal payment and weeped at the fees.

I'd say bitcoin and crypto in general moved to the front of my mind in mid-2015 when I received some BTC as payment for helping a friend out with his website. That was the point when I actually started taking it seriously and using it as a payment method for covering various digital purchases like web hosting, tipping content creators I follow on YouTube, etc.

During the hype of the last year I've gotten more involved in the crypto space, learning more about the blockchain and new altcoins, investing more money into interesting projects and swing/position-trading when I see a great opportunity to do so.

Side note: If you're interested in trading I highly recommend checking out @quickfingersluc and his video series, learning how to (somewhat) safely trade in this market has definitely changed my life for the better. He was one of the main reasons I wanted to join Steemit to say 'thanks' for all the knowledge he's shared for free.

Why Steem/Steemit?

As part of my effort to learn more about cryptocurrencies I decided I should finally take the plunge and join Steemit. It first hit my radar in 2016 but I put it off because I wasn't really that interested in blogging, I thought it was just a Medium.com clone at the time. I've watched the platform grow and seen more apps built on Steem hit the market in the last year and decided I should give it a go.

I've seen the huge opportunity here for creators of all types to get some hard earned cash for their work and I want to be part of that ecosystem. I've purchased a very small amount of Steem and will continue making regulars investments when I can to upvote content and help creators cover their bills so they can keep making great stuff. This will be on top of my other investments in projects like BAT (Basic Attention Token) and whichever new projects hit my radar. If you know of any others in this space please let me know about them!

I'm currently reading up on Steem witnesses and how to contribute to the growth of the blockchain. I'm hoping to use some of my system administration knowledge to help the community out if I can.

Interests outside of Crypto

It takes up a lot of my time these days but I do find time for things outside of the crypto sphere. I'm a big fan of F1 (Formula 1) racing and haven't missed watching a single race in the last 3-4 years. I have yet to actually see a race in-person but hope to change that this year, as I plan to attend the Canadian, US and Mexican Grand Prix in 2018.

I have other fairly standard interests but F1 and Crypto dominate the majority of my time outside of work hours, along with a heavy indulgence of dank memes sprinkled in.

So am I late to the party?

Initially I thought so, but all signs point to 'no' the more I read. I see tons of potential in Steem, SMTs and other platforms based on them. Looking forward to being an active part of the community. 

- Cryptotter

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @cryptotter. The potential of Steemit is endless. I'm a newbie here, your crypto knowledge is actually way ahead of me. And there are lots of newbies like me. Thank you for your tip about @quickfingersluc and his video series. I'm surely gonna check it out. Keep sharing, keep learning, steem on!

Thanks!

The potential is huge. Lots of social platforms that need to be disrupted. My crypto knowledge is probably somewhere in the beginner-intermediate range, I just do a lot of reading. I've learned a lot about Steem in the last week but still have a ton to learn!

Awesome! Yup, we have tons to learn. Lets keep moving forward! Potential here is limitless.

Welcome to Steem!
Honestly I'm a few days fresh to and its crazy the friendly hospitality the community has! Thanks for trading videos tip, I'm going to have to check it out

Thanks! I think I'm a little jaded by other internet communities where the negativity flows like a river.

Luc's videos are great. The trading introduction video is a much watch, as well as his ethereum trading video.

I've already started position trading Steem & SBD to collect some free coins so I can build up my Steem Power quicker.

Very Nice! Great intro. With sincerity, I look forward to your future work.
I also am new, but I have a great coach here, so holler if you have any questions or problems.

so holler if you have any questions or problems

I may need to take you up on that offer at some point!

I appreciate the kind words and welcome :)

Welcome to Steemit, I love the icon so much. I'll have to look into this guy you mentioned- Oh! You should do like a weekly trade report - I would be hyper curious to see that.

And nah dawg, this party has even STARTED. Trust me, Steem has so much room to row - just wait until a few more 1 million YouTubers join - just wait.

Welcome! You seem like a great fit for this space.

Why are Steemians so friendly? Have I just not stumbled on the dark side of Steemit yet? ;)

Thank you for the kind words, excited to be a part of the community!

Oh there is a darkside of steemit. One of them is flagging wars.

I've caught some of that since I posted my comment. Thinking it's probably best to just keep my head down when it comes to the drama. I'm not well versed enough to comment on it anyways.

Congratulations @cryptotter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!