Tech & the human body, do we actually interact correctly? I don't think so! Come and join my project "Be a human, not a machine!"

Hi all.

I am Daniel, a 25 year old Dutch master student in Sports Technology, exploring the practical applications of digital technologies and the interaction of products on the human body (primarily in the sports area). Combining my interest in physics, human anatomy, sports and technology within my educational (and professional) career, along with a self-study on psychology, I am able to get a broad understanding of how the human body interacts with the (digital) world. I would like to translate my knowledge into simple yet effective tips and tricks to optimise your daily and working life, as content for you on Steemit! (exclusively)



With a background in Human Kinetic Technology (technical human movement sciences), I have been able to get a great medical knowledge base in anatomy, physiology, biomechanics etc., as well as technical knowledge in programming, biometrics (measuring on the human body) and product design (3D design and printing) to understand both spectrums to find the optimal interaction between them. I don't have to educate most of you on technology, though I will highlight these aspects of course, but on the human body side I find most people don't know how their own body exactly works. As one of my former teachers once said:

"You need to feel praised to get to know how your own body is built up and functions. 98% of the people on the planet has no idea! Use this knowledge to your advance and educate others to your desire."

A summary & sneak peak of my upcoming content

Driving a car to work, sitting 8 hours a day to watch a monitor and sit/lay on a couch binge-watching Netflix each night... That is not what our body is build for! We are uniquely shaped animals optimised to move and exercise (to hunt for food to survive, many many years ago) and if we don't use its functionality to its potential, we will (subconscious) feel bad physically and mentally.

Digital technology is improving massively this century, while the human body progresses very conservatively and in the current era we have reached a point where technology (and society) is dictating our (human) lives. Being a bit more conscious of ourselves, even in small decisions in life, can help a lot!

Posts on Steemit

Through practical examples, simple explanations of physiological processes and highlighting interesting products/apps to use to your advantage, along with some humor/sarcasm here and there, I would like to take you on my journey: 'Be a human, not a machine!'.

My educational posts will put the primary focus on our body rather than technology, to provide an insight how to optimise our (busy) daily lives, use technology to our advantage, be more productive and become an all round better human!
(And for all crypto people out there, perhaps a better trader as well! I am not responsible for your actions in any kind, though I might have my share in positive results ;) )



I will mainly focus my content on this project, but as an experienced runner, overall sports & tech enthusiast and a (semi-professional) photographer, you might see some of these things popping by at some point. For this project, I will try to post articles once or twice a week on optimal times for workers (EU: 17.00h, UK: 16.00h, US: San Francisco 08.00h (PST), New York 11.00h (EST))

If you feel eager to learn more about me, my future content and yourself (is that possible? Yes, it is! :)), please follow me and leave a comment to say hi.
If you are inspired, maybe you could help me on a new project name. "Be a human, not a machine!" is a bit long, whereas abbreviated "BAH,NAM!" sounds like an Asian dish... There might be a small reward for the top pick! :)

Kind regards.
Daniel

p.s. I wish I would have more time to put into Steemit, but I am currently working on my master thesis at Adidas HQ in Germany. The topic is on the development of the next generation (of individualised) running shoes, some top secret stuff:

;)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit :) Sounds like you have some amazingly interesting stuff to talk about, I am definitely following that! Resteemed you via @welcoming, my page for sharing promising new users! Greets, @theaustrianguy!
P.S.: Do you speak german?

Hi AustrianGuy! Thank you, I am really pleased to have found Steemit and feel very welcomed by the 'human aspect' of this platform, rather than at other social media...
You are doing an awesome job to welcome and promote newbies, it just shares the love and passion only humans can have :) Same counts for your personal channel, a bit of a mix of blogging, Steemit promoting and on your medical profession, correct?

Ich spreche ein bisschen Deutsch, aber ich hoffe, mich zu verbessern. Dein Blog wird helfen ;) (but I would prefer to communicate in English ;) )

Yeah, it's a mix out of everything :D

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!
Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!
You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

That would be great @thethirdeye & @ocd, some extra exposure (focused on newcomers) is always welcome :)

That image with the moving stairs in front of the fitness center.....ironic!

Great, isn't it :p A wonderful example I use quite often to illustrate today's 'sportive' society (on the other side of the pond)

Welcome to steemit daniel93! I hope you find a home in our community!

Hi Lopez, I am looking forward to participate in this community. From my perspective, SteemIt is build for its users and the community, and not like Facebook or Twitter to get as much data/ad revenue out of every user. So I feel welcomed and appreciated by this concept, now it is just a matter of participating and getting along on the Steem blockchain :)

Hey and welcome to steemit!

For science/technology - related posts, I would recommend you to check out @steemstem and use the #steemstem tag, as getting curated by steemit's STEM community can give you a great boost.

Hi sco, thank you! I feel really appreciated to be here and to have my share in this community. Great that you pointed me at @steemstem, as written in my post, I am keen on science, technology and engineering. Sounds like a perfect match :) I will use your hashtag in my future (related) posts for sure, thanks!

Congratulations @daniel93! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit and cool work! that sounds like a really neat application of your field and I'm sure there is a lot that can be had there. Best of luck, look forward to more, followed!

Thanks Zachary! I just followed you, primarily for your crypto & blockchain club project, great idea for this (and the new) community! :)

Great job Dan. Very interested to keep reading about your research. Good luck with your thesis!

Thanks Dan!

Dude! Welcome over here!
I'm a fellow runner, passionate about the scence and the potential technology around it, as well. Will definitely keep checking back in!

Thanks man, always happy to inform people on interesting topics about tech and people ;) I am going to start with a 'visual thinking' project at some point, how to create engaging drawings to communicate your thoughts with others, which is more your type of content ;) I am following you as well, as I am curious to your motion design posts