Hey I’m Danny! Join me on my wildlife adventures through Africa!

Hey I'm Danny! A friend of mine introduced me to Steemit and I've been browsing for a little while just waiting to create a post and say hello!

I hope you might be interested in my stories/pictures from lion walks, trekking through the bush in search of rhinos and elephants, diving with great white sharks, hanging out with chimpanzees at one of the biggest chimpanzee sanctuaries in the world, and spending time with a pride of lions (who are due to be the first ever captive bred lions released into the wild!)



*





About me



I was born in Holland to English/Argentinian parents and grew up in England. From a very early age I became obsessed with nature documentaries and in particular African wildlife. I knew from watching the likes of Sir David Attenborough that I wanted to work in wildlife conservation. I soon realised that I could never be content with a typical 9-to-5 office job in the London rat race.



After a spell of 5 years working and travelling around
South America exploring the vibrant continent from
top to bottom my dream job finally came calling!



I moved to a game reserve in the heart
of the African bush to embark on the career
I’ve always dreamed off.






*


African Impact



I now work for a fantastic organisation called African Impact, offering community and wildlife conservation volunteer projects across Africa for young like-minded people who are inspired to make a difference. Famed primatologist Jane Goodall once said something that sums up what we try to do here:

“You cannot get through a single day without
having an impact on the world around you.


...What you do makes a difference,
and you have to decide what kind
of difference you want to make.”





I'm going to try and post one or two times a week (depending on the internet here in Zimbabwe!) I invite you to join me on my journey through the wild continent of Africa as I explore and try to help endangered wildlife live in harmony with an ever-growing population.








- - -
The picture of Sir David Attenborough and the Rhino is from The Times Multimedia Archive
The picture of Jane Goodall is from WildChimpanzees.Org

Sort:  

Inhale the future and exhale the past, do it NOW

Hello dannystravels, we would like to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiave. We are currently in alpha testing, if you would like more info join robinhood chat on steemit.chat or pm @repholder.

Welcome to SteemIT.

What does it take to be part of the so-called "featured authors" and what does it entail? Namaste :)

Wow,, thank you this is very cool!

Great intro post!!

Helmet

I was going to comment on not wearing the helmet, then I realized, if you are dealing with rhinos, hippos and large cats, wearing the helmet may be a moot point.

Hi……Helmets are for people who work in offices!

Hehe. I realize now that it is an African Jock Strap

Great shots! thanks for sharing your trip wit us, maybe you'd also like my travelogs, mostly about the Canadian Rockies so far, chekc it out:

http://steemit.com/@eric-boucher

Enjoy and safe travels!

Namaste :)

Welcome @Dannystravels !

Welcome to SteemIT Danny, and all the best. Hope to see more from your adventures.

hey @dannystravels !
nice to meet you and welcome to steemit dude 8]

What a brave move, I admire that so much, very motivating. Good luck with your journey :)

Well done following your heart and doing what you doing... Not everyone is brave enough to do it!

Greetings to a fellow african journeyman. Another London escapee here!

Hey Danny,

Welcome to Steemit! It's really nice to have you here and I really look forward to hearing more about your adventures in Africa.

What a great introduction, Danny. And great images too. Thank you for sharing! I am new to this also and I guess I will need to create an intro as well. Good luck with your travels and your increadible impact!
Irina Baker

Good luck!

Great post. Must be an amazing experience living in a game reserve in Africa wow.

Thanks…….it really is a special feeling. Not a day goes by when I don’t feel goose bumps listening the lions roaring at night or when we are sitting around the fire at night camping out in the bush!

Great Intro post, Danny.

I'd love to interview you as part of my "20 questions" series. (To give you an idea of what to expect, I interviewed @heiditravels last month.)

Hit me up on Steemit chat or reply with your e-mail if you're interested!

Cheers, and good luck Steemin'

Absolutely! I'm on [email protected]
Talk to you soon

Great travelling.., support u.., see the next more post @dannystravels

Hi, great introduction and nice photos! Keep it up. -followed & upvoted

Wow the robinhoodwhales are a real thing... how exciting! Besides catching some beautiful humpbacks, that baby rhino is probably the coolest and cutiest animal ive seen. Im definetly jealous of you getting to spend all that time in Africa with cute animals, must be a breath-taking experience.
Glad to have you on steemit

Hi……thanks for your comment. You don’t have to be jealous you know, anyone can get out here and do it, you just need to take the first step. These animals are critically endangered and if we don’t do something about it now we may never see them again in our lifetime!

Great picture with a rhino in the middle of nature! Must be a great experience

Se nota tu pasion-
your passion is noticeable-

Awesome post and pictures. Thank you!

Hi Danny, Do you need to join your adventure?

bugs in program

very cool, cant wait for more

How ydo you earn money for make this travels? it is quite expensive

Hi…..I made a decision a long time ago to quit the rat race where I was earning more money and follow my dream of living out in the Africa. I earn less money now but I’m a million times happier! There are many jobs in the safari and volunteerism industry. The salaries are generally small but they often supply you with a house and food and you don’t have any expenses living out in the bush so I’m now saving much more than I ever could in London!

Great journey! I am thinking to join african nature projects. What could you recommend as a first step?
Money couldn't buy happiness) Glad for you.

Hey…. You should take a look here as a starting point http://www.africanimpact.com and give me a shout if there's something you're interested in!

Great story! Keep it up!

Well done, good work if you can get it. David Attenborough must have inspired millions through his life. Cheers

Very interesting! Keep going, man!

Looking forward for new posts! Nice job, Danny

"You cannot get through a single day without having an impact on the world around you...What you do makes a difference, and you have to decide what kind of difference you want to make.” This quote resume so much many things in my life now !!! I will enjoy following your adventures...

Hi there and welcome! i'm new on the steemit too. nice meeting you, it's very nice and interesting to be close by people like you. i bet you have an interesting life down there in Zimbabwe :) cheers, man!