“Tell us your name and one interesting thing about yourself.”

You know how sometimes when you go to a class or a group activity and they make everyone go around and introduce themselves to the group?

“Tell us your name, and one interesting thing about yourself.”

I always hated it when they did that. It feels like we’re competing with each other to be the most interesting person in the room which, I know, is totally not the purpose of the exercise.

BUT despite the fact that I don’t like that exercise, I actually don’t mind it on paper (or in this case, screen).

First and foremost, my name is Daphne, nice to meet you.

Ever since I was little, I’ve enjoyed creative writing. I used to write lots of stories (most of them unfinished, mind you) and also told my mother I was going to be an author like JK Rowling when I grew up. My mother did not find that idea appealing and told me the chances of me being as successful as JK Rowling were pretty slim (she wasn’t entirely wrong though, it would be tough to match that kind of success). Of course, it didn’t really stop me from writing for fun, but as I grew up I also became interested in a different medium: film. I loved the magic of moviemaking and as soon as I was able to get my hands on a camcorder I was recording videos. At this point I was a bit older and had some idea the realities of choosing career paths such as filmmaking. Additionally, my parents didn’t support it either. Long story short, writing and video remained a hobby.

Here’s where a third interest comes in: travel. I had travelled to a few places with my family growing up and if I wasn’t documenting it with journal entries or photos then I was doing so with video. If I recall correctly, the first time I decided to actually put together my video clips into some form of an edit (with Windows Movie Maker, no less) was with my family trip to Shanghai around 10 years ago. That might have been the first time I really comprehended how different Shanghai was compared to where I grew up (O Canada!); I essentially experienced culture shock, which really opened up my eyes. It was fascinating to me to actually see more than one way a group of people could live and that a society could function. I wanted to see more.

It didn’t really occur to me nor was ever presented as an option to me until more recently that people could combine the above interests and actually make a living off of it, but in this day and age it is absolutely possible. I had gone a pretty traditional route: I went through school and got a professional degree and job, but if I could write and make videos about my travels then that’s what I would do forever. I started a YouTube channel not too long ago with the hope of being able to share these visual documentations and creations, and while I cannot currently live off of it, I enjoy doing it nonetheless and I hope to continue that here on Steemit and DTube.

Keep Xploring,
Daphne

Side Note: I also enjoy singing from time to time as well, which is why you may spot some song covers from me.

Instagram: @daphnexplores
Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/daphnexplores
Facebook: @daphnexplores
Twitter: @daphnexplores

Sort:  

Welcome, whats up?

Thanks for the welcome @truce!

Congrats, you made the @dtube #steemitminute for today!

Click the Image Below


Thanks reseller!

welcome to the community dear.... you look gorgeous,,,,

Thanks thusitha!

Welcome to steemit. Below is my introduction post. There is some helpfull information in it.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@rentmoney/it-s-time-for-an-introduction

Welcome to steemit


Welcome to Steemit @daphnexplores!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to Steemit :) I hope you like it here and good luck :)

Welcome to steemit.. We are both newbie here i hope we can work this out...

@annzam23 Thanks! Wishing you luck too!

Welcome to steemit dear 😊

Welcome to steemit! Hope you'll find your place here and be successful with whatever you throw yourself out in.. it's hard to rise up but not completely impossible, so be ready to put in some work and effort :)

@wanderingdanish thank you, wise words!

Hi Daphne, it's felt like a celebrity just join the Steemit. Glad to have someone like you.

Do shares with your past journey. It will be fun to hear the story. Cheers!

Thanks for reading @legendchew!

Welcome to Steemit. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for reading @lopezdacruz!

Hello and welcome to Steemit. I'm Steward, but everyone calls me Stew and it's a pleasure to meet you. You'll find the Steemit community is very warm and welcoming and here's a post to help answer some of your questions:

The Ultra Beginner's Guide to Steemit- What to do 1st

Also, if you'd like to know more about me: My Steemit Intro
I look forward to reading your posts, pleasure meeting you and hope you stay in touch. Welcome to Steemit!
follow stewsak!

@stewsak Thanks Stew! That's super helpful!

Welcome, Daphne! Great to have you here :) You seem very friendly and positive! Followed ;)

Thanks @wild-forest! This whole community seems very friendly and positive as well so far!

Nice Post, I am also new to Steemit and want to connect with new like-minded people. I have started a campaign so we both can get more followers.

Follow/Follow campaign is a fun way to gain more followers on Steemit. This is a cool idea to get more followers - comment on the post (https://steemit.com/follow/@sagarraj1/follow-follow-campaign) and I will follow you on Steemit if you follow me.

Welcome to Steemit, @daphneexplores! Really hope we have a new JK Rowling on our hands here :) Enjoy and have fun!

Haha @herverisson thank you, the pressure's on! :D

Hello @daphnexplores and welcome to SteemIt! Great to see another creative writer here on the platform....we need more and more!! Looking forward to your contributions. I'm @danielshortell and I write short fiction here on Steemit. Nice to meet you :)

@danielshortell thank you and that's awesome, I'll check out your writing too :)

Hey there Singer Filmmaker Girl, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and you re beautiful, love your smile, and I use Ubuntu and I edit videos on Open Shot Video Editor and I was in Canada once and I love travel and school is sometimes ok and some call me Harry Potter, haha.

Haha @joeyarnoldvn nice to meet you, very relatable! :D

Welcome to our growing Steemit community @daphnexplores ! Hope you enjoy it :)

Welcome
Your #introduceyourself blog is very nice.
Thats what its All about on this platform and this blockchain. Blogging is it, blog on and you Will be succesfull! 🤛 and You Will earn money. 💴💸💰be carefull with all your passwords !! Never give that up!
For very good safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11
I blog every day and love it!❤️
Helpfull is the Steemify App , its Free in the Appstore go cheque it out. And good luck steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Greetings from Brittandjosie - Holland

Welcome
Your #introduceyourself blog is very nice.
Thats what its All about on this platform and this blockchain. Blogging is it, blog on and you Will be succesfull! 🤛 and You Will earn money. 💴💸💰be carefull with all your passwords !! Never give that up!
For very good safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11
I blog every day and love it!❤️
Helpfull is the Steemify App , its Free in the Appstore go cheque it out. And good luck steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Greetings from Brittandjosie - Holland