New here, give me a hug and show me where the coffee machine is

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

introductions usually start with stating your name, where are you from and what do you do in life, with the occasional brilliant-looking adjective in between.
Name ok, name is easy. For all we care my name could be devcore. Every reference to linux filesystem /dev/core is purely casual.

Where am I from, yeah, this is also easy, I'm from Italy! I don't know how it works, should I make another post to introduce myself in Italian?

What do I do in life, on the other hand, is one of the toughest questions I receive from people. I got in the habit of making up stuff based on the context trying to look cool, just to make it easier. But here I want to be honest with you all: I am an hobbyist. A pro hobbyist. An advanced leisure-time tinkerer. A highly functional activity-hopping addicted which sometimes gets some money out of it but most of the time who cares. A wanderer that wanders so much that sometimes wanders out of wandering and stops wandering, but just for a while.




As much as I seem very good at it, I'm really just an amateur in looking handsome

Some simple examples:
  • I am a certified permaculture designer, have done some projects, few designs for other people, all nice and fine. then time came when I was about to open my own website as a designer to you know, look qualified. I got stuck on it, and few months ago I realized I really don't want to do it as a job. I still plant food forests in friends gardens and public places, and brag on how environmentalist-savy I am, just for fun.
  • I've been a juggler for years, working a bit with it, making competitions, when it was time to join a circus school in a serious life path... I didn't. Still setting stuff on fire, just for fun.
  • I've been a crypto enthusiast since 2012. Most people ask me "woah, so you must be millionaire!". No, 'cause I sold everything for a little gain everytime, without holding for years. Not that I regret it, actually I think that people that focus on money gains are missing something of cryptos. And that may have been done on purpose by Nakamoto, but that's a matter for another article maybe. I still shill my bags of coins to people and ask vendors if they accept Stellar, even though they don't and probably never will. Just for fun.
  • I have a university degree in medical herbs. Done some work with it, enjoyed it a lot. Then yeah, got fed up. Still managing drugs, just for fun.
  • I have been an IT guy in an office for an year. Always loved computers but it was getting too official. Ran away to travel in India, Thailand, Australia for a couple of years. Still hack my neighbour's wifi, just for fun.

This lack of definition is something I struggled with for a while in my life, forcing myself to fit in a role. Never worked.

So I tossed all this "professional-looking", this "define yourself", and all jobs in a compost bin.


Do you ever wake up feeling like a pirate?

Now, if you travel a lot, can't define yourself and are not on social media like facebook and twitter or any of that stuff, you may sometimes find yourself wanting to share your thoughts, scripts, photos and ideas, but don't know where.

As I understand, many people on steemit live in a similar way, and I may find a nice internet community of like-minded people here, so give me a big hug and show me where the coffee machine is please.

Don't expect me to be a serial poster, but I'll do my best to write nice stuff, coming from the heart.

That's all for now, have a great day.

Sidenote: Hello mom, I'm writing on the blockchain, told you it wasn't useless!




You can't do all those things at once... or can you?

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Sort:  

Welcome! :D

Welcome to this amazing platform, the last photo looks adorable and funny. =)

Thank you, glad it doesn't just look like a weird mess =)
Have a nice day

Nice introduction - warm welcome!

thanks mathito, highly appreciated =)

Love your intro and your free spirit! I too can't really say that there is a definition of what i do since there are so many things that I do. I haven't been able to travel as of yet, but look forward to doing so in the future and Italy is definitely on the top of my places to visit list. Thanks for sharing and welcome to Steemit.

Thank you lunarnoire, it's nice to have a warm welcome. Swing by Italy, we have good pizza!

Yes I plan to one day. It would be nice to actually taste the pizza from Italy instead of drooling over photos.

Hi how are you? Really nice intro, i love it ! I’m a new steemit user as well and would like to connect with other cool steemians, artists and musicians. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. I'm really pleased to meet you. So i give you my vote, follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Greetings from Paris. Peace.

Hi, I'm not really an artist or a musician... only sometimes and just questionably above the decency level anyway!

Thank you for kind words, I'll look into your works =)

I guess everyone is a musician.. some are just practising their level more than others ;) Anyway, i look forward to reading your next posts and i'm glad to connect (even if you're not a musician :)

Welcome to the community! I just joined Steemit myself about 2 weeks ago. Make sure to check out Steemfollower since it is a great way to get upvotes which could be difficult at the start since you don't have that many followers!
Followed! Wish you all the best luck!

Hello, thanks for the link, I'll look into that.

Have a nice one!

Hey, you seem awesome and this is a terrific, and engaging first post. Welcome! If you keep being this authentic you’ll do great here--looking forward to catching you and your sense of humor later. Here are some tips that helped me out when I first got started, btw. See you around! @lilyraabe

Thank you, I've seen some picture you took, nice works. I'll catch you around steemit :)

welcome to steemit, nice

Happy steemit !!! cheers

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dev_core from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello, welcome to steemit, I wish you luck !!!

I appreciate your welcome, all the best!

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and I play guitar and you are cool.

Hi Oatmeal Joey, I just ate beans and your message is just as appreciated as my meal was (and I tell you, those are great legumes we are talking about)

welcome to steemit @devco, that's quiet a few pies you got your fingers in, imagine you'll do quiet well on here. Make sure to get yourself known by engaging on other people's blogs. looking forward to reading your blog. that last picture really says it all, juggler indeed.

thanks for your welcome, @trucklife-family. I'll check out other people's blog, sure thing, that is a reason why I am here. Community is very important.

Have a great day

it is indeed, I just done a post welcoming a few steemians, put you in there, hope you don't mind. Have fun.

Lovely, funny introduction. Sounds like you've got a lot to write about then, being a multi faceted human being. Will resteem this.