Alert!! Newbie @ large. My 1st Steemit post

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!

Expat, wannabe blogger, amateur photographer, wine drinker, lover of all things beautiful, tryer of new things whenever I can and last, BUT not least, wife and mother of 2 beautiful children/almost grownups. Barreling my way towards ‘LIFE AFTER KIDS’ which is also the name of my blog; Karolien – There is life after kids! (finish reading and find an Easter egg.... 😋)

This is me!! 😍📸
PSX_20190429_141149.jpg

MY PARTNER IN CRIME; Hubby is a captain of a commercial fishing boat in Mauritius and is known to be away from home anything from 15-18 days or even up to 3-6 months. It’s a harsh life but I love him. What can I say….I decided I will keep him. It's been 24 years and counting after all... 😊 Life is often hard but never boring.

IMG_20190302_201854.jpg

WHAT HUBBY DOES 🛥️🐟

Photo_1556533388649.jpg

FOLLOW him on Instagram (@FISHERMAN)_CHRONICLES)
IMG_20190429_191414.jpg

THE KIDS 😍

19 year old daughter whom is an avid horse-rider and a 17 year old ps4 addict… ;p I can only say I have the bestest kids in the world. Ask any of my friends or family. 😉

THE GIRL-CHILD 💁‍♀️
IMG_20190302_201828.jpg
Instagram (@RIDING_DIARIES2019)

THE X-MAN(nickname) 👦
IMG_20190302_202023.jpg

WHAT DO I DO 😏

Worked as a teacher for about 7,5 years. HOBBIES apart from the obvious blogging and photography includes anything from woodworking with my skill-saw to making cement pots from scratch.
My woodwork and cement pots 😁
inCollage_20190429_143718379.jpg

KIDS ARE ALL GROWN UP... NOW WHAT? 🤔

Having my kids almost all grown up I now have time to explore and THOROUGHLY enjoy new hobbies and experiences which I blog about on [my WEBSITE] (https//www.karolien-thereslifeafterkids.com) as a total wannabe blogger…love writing but wish I knew more about monetizing my skills! Something which I’m hoping to learn about here as well.

MY BLOG
over at www.karolien-thereslifeafterkids.com

IMG_20190418_082306.jpg

SOME OF MY PHOTOS 📸😎
inCollage_20190429_142524213.jpg
Sort of a jane of all trades, mistress of none…that’s me. 😊

THE EXPAT-LIFE

I’m a South African currently residing in Mauritius. Although my husband has been here nearly 3 years my children and I only moved here December 2018.

WHERE I LIVE

We have lived in a lot of places in SA, living it up from coast to coast, moving to Mauritius was our 19th move in 17 years so I’m a bit of a moving expert. I’m pretty sure Mauritius is not our last stop. 😊

MY MAP 🗺

IMG_20190429_144316.jpg

MY WOMANING101 APP

I even have an app in the Google App store called Womaning101….Still deciding where I am going with that. I was a bit of a late bloomer and discovered blogging and technology at the tender age of 40. 😅 I love thinking up stuff but my business acumen suck. 😜

I am very excited to be here as I have a love/hate relationship with social media. Love it for the exposure it gives for my blogs and amateur photographic journey, but I HATE it for the trolls it brings. When I heard!
about Steemit and did some research into it, it seemed like my kind of platform. All about positive vibes. ✌️😍

I AM STILL A BIT LOST with all the do’s and don’ts and figuring out how to negotiate my way on here, but you all seem like a nice enough bunch of people supporting one another which warms my heart and gives me hope for this undertaking. 😊

I would love to grow my blog and monetize my passions. Steemit seems like a good place to start. I would love some followers and new connections whom I can follow back. [My FB LINK] (https://www.facebook.com/karolien.thereslifeafterkids/)

Our Mauritius journey & My amateur photography journey is documented on Instagram under (@OUR_MAURITIUS-MOMENTS)
IMG_20190327_175427.jpg

MY BLOG PAGE ON INSTAGRAM IMG_20190327_175404.jpg

I am very happy to be between like-minded people and I am looking forward to following you all and learning something from your postings and in return I'm hoping to share some content that you will all enjoy! If you made it this far without falling asleep, I thank you for taking the time to read my introduction. 😉

Photo_1556547790093.jpg

Sort:  

OMGOSH!!!!!!!!!!! YOU ARE VERY INTERESTING LADY!!! AND YOU LIVE OUT THERE!!! DO YOU SEA MONSTERS? TELL ME OK? LOLOLOL. WOW, WELL MY NAME IS FRANCESCA @PRETTYNICEVIDEO! IF YOU EVER HAVE QUESTIONS, JUST ASK. WILL YOU BE WRITING MORE ABOUT YOUR FEELING ON LIVING SO FAR FROM CIVILIZATION? OR YOU KNOW MAIN LAND? WOW. WELL WELCOME TO STEEMIT AND STEEM BLOCKCHAIN!!!

@prettynicevideo thank you. No I haven't seen any sea monsters yet..😂 😂 It's an OK place to live, I do miss the mainland as it's pretty restrictive here with traveling etc but I try and make the most of my life here. Yes, yes and yes I'll be sharing tons of stuff 😊😊😊 once I can figure out not to run out of Steem within seconds every day. Still very confused about the whole process of steemit and blockchain and still make stupid mistakes but I guess I'll learn. Thanks for leaving a comment and voting for me. I am on Fb as @karolienthereslifeafterkids and my blogs are on www.karolien-thereslifeafterkids.com ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Well this is a intro we like to see, hi Karolien its Britt from the Netherlands !
Hello to mauritius
This is not an automated answer its ME and welcome to Steemit.
You are a Steemian now! And your first blog is online. Better late than never, and I'm sure one day we will say those were the very early days of Steemit, so congrats! Whats essential here is regular posting off good quality blogs.
So start writing ! Tell us about your life, passion, animals or your work.
That Will attract possible followers.
Do be carefull with your passwords, they are yours and yours only.
Look up the free Steemify app in the Appstore or read this blog https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote Thats helpfull too.
Next to Steemify I use Appics and Partiko to post.

You can also visit our discord server The Steem Terminal is your one-stop location for learning about destinations on the Steem Blockchain & Discord. Here you will find people who are willing to answer the questions you may have as a new Steemian, documents to assist you, a place to learn and practice, and find out about the many opportunities to connect with other Steemians! Or the account @heyhaveyamet ( a coop with @xcountytravelers ) Where we highlight newcomers.
We also have s group called @steemitmamas we are fun !
Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead! Let me know if you have questions,

Love from the Netherlands
Britt

Hi @brittandjosie thank you so much. Much to learn and get used to but appreciate the help and tips. 🙂💞

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Thank you. @anonyvoter...got a ton of questions before I'll understand everything. So I might just take you up on that offer. 😉

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation #312!

If you give @ocd a follow – you can find other Gems!


With this nomination you will be able to use @ocdb - a non-profit distribution bot for whitelisted Steemians. Check our website for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information. We usually add everyone nominated at the end of the week. :)


We also have a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!

We strive for transparency!


Welcome to Steemit @dkkarolien!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Welcome to Steem! I hope you enjoy your time here. It's a great way to keep your brain engaged following the empty nest.

I am rather late visiting the Pay it Forward Curation contest entries, but that's how I found you. Keep up the great work!

@viking-ventures thank you for the welcome. Much appreciated

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello dkkarolien great have you with us you made a great choice by making Steemit your choice for Blockchain social media entertainment we appreciate that you took time out of your busy schedule just to join us and sharing this great dkkarolien thank you we encourage sharing so feel free to share your creative ideas when ready I can't wait to see more so feel free to explore post and enjoy your new Steemit account dkkarolien see you around all welcome enjoy


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 56. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Congratulations @dkkarolien!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade for newcomers in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 1 with 28 comments

I also upvoted your post to increase its reward
If you like my work to promote newcomers and give them more visibility on the Steem blockchain, consider to vote for my witness!

@arcange (71) much appreciated from this newbie.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome @dkkarolien. I'm glad to help.

BTW, feel free to vote for me as a witness if you like my work at promoting newcomers

Welcome to the steemit community @dkkarolien!
Couple of short basic rules: do not lose your passwords, make physical copies and store them off line; only use posting key for posting, active key for wallet, and the master password is for changing the other passwords in the event that they get compromised.
The next one is just basically don't copy other people's work without sourcing it to the author, and the same for quotes.
We sincerely hope you find all that you are looking for here, and have found a new home.
I found this post because @xcountytravelers and @brittandjosie at @heyhaveyamet promoted your post to help you grow quicker, and should you have any questions or need some guidance, you can go to the Steem Terminal in Discord here:

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Have fun and happy steeming!

Noted and thank you for taking the time to welcome me. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Anytime @dkkarolien! We at the Steem Terminal enjoy interacting with intelligent down to earth people as much as we can, we are a crazy family who resides there and like to welcome and bring in newbies who we might be able to give information to and guide them into some really interesting communities here on Steem.
In any case, enjoy your stay here on Steemit!
Steem onward and upward!

Hi @dkkarolien, welcome to Steemit, I joined this year and love it ! It takes time to get used to it here, but one thing I have found is it is good to post consistently and make comments on posts that interest you. hope you have fun on here, good luck !

@dougalporteous thank you for the welcome message. Much appreciated. 😊

Hello Karolien, welcome to Steem! :-)

Tip:
Please revisit your formatting
You wrote:
[my web site] (https://www.karolien-thereslifeafterkids.com)
Please note space between square closing bracket and round opening bracket. It shouldn't be there. It should look like:
[my web site](https://www.karolien-thereslifeafterkids.com)
which in result give you good looking link :-)

Welcome to Steem @dkkarolien :) Always super to welcome another fellow South African :) Looking forward to reading more from you xxx

Empty Nest Time. Great post. Awesome kids.

Thank you @joeyarnoldvn much appreciated.😊

Welcome dkkarolien!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

@esteemapp,thank you. I will definitely check it out 👍

Great introduction! It is never too late to start blogging, especially with such an interesting story to tell! It is great to have you here on Steemit. I gave you a follow and an upvote (:

Posted using Partiko iOS

@wellnesschange thank you so much. I also believe one is never too old to start something new. 😊

Welcome to Steem dkkarolien! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Hello and welcome to Steemit dkkarolien, receive a vote to support you. I invite you to read my guide about Steemit: https://tinyurl.com/BasicSteemitGuide

@toninnoxp thank you. I will check it out

Welcome to steemit @dkkarolien.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Thank you for the tips @tuanis. Much appreciated. 👍☺️

That was a fun introduction! I think you will enjoy your time here with the community which are very passionate about engaging and sharing like you have!

Welcome to Steem! You have taken the first step in achieving many goals here at the crossroads of cryptocurrencies, blockchain, and social media. Consistent engagement is needed to progress and grow your following and influence. I am currently working on a weekly post to curate new users and providing them an introduction to the ecosystem. I have selected your post as one I will feature in an upcoming post! In addition, I have published a post that provides great references to assist you in your journey. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions or feedback!

@newageinv wow super thank you for the welcome. 😁

Wow! Wow! Wow! Perfect greeting. Nice to see you and welcome to steemit!

Congratulation! I like your post so much and have featured it today in MY ENTRY POST. This is a weekly contest by @pifc and @thedarkhorse, Pay it Forward Curation Contest.
Have a nice day!!

Posted using Partiko Android

@aggamun many thanks. Still learning the ropes so much appreciated! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey! Welcome Steem!

Its preety different to other social media! To grow i recommend to use the service of @share2steem a way to share what you post on places like instagram or twitter and automatic post a replicate on your steem history!

Share2steem.io is his site and you will find the steps to configure your profile. You can earn some free upvotes provided by them!

You can also download the app of Steem to your android device. Its called @partiko and you cand find it by that name on Google Play

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @dkkarolien, welcome to the steemit platform. Hopefully you will grow and reach what you want here. Greetings from me @anroja, if there are questions please contact me. Don't hesitate to follow me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @dkkarolien

Welcome to Steemit & Wish you luck - success with Steemit!

Currently, We're supporting for the Planktons by our small upvote. If you follow @haccolong you will get free upvote of 20 users. You may like it, Check statement here.

To get 3000points and receive additional rewards from your activities on Steemit, you can use Partiko app for your phone.

Please ignore this reply if you do not need the above.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome try getting partiko to make things easy

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steem @dkkarolien. That was a great introduction. Unfortunately it did not attract any huge up-votes (yet). It looks like it is getting more and more difficult to get the big votes as more and more people sign up and make it more difficult to get noticed. In an effort to remedy this, I have created a sort of 'classified' listings page for people to promote themselves. Would you like to help get that page over the 'critical mass' stage by consistently advertising on it? That would be appreciated and help everyone in the process. You can find the latest version of the promotion page here.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Dear @dkkarolien,

Welcome to the community! You made an awesome start here, i like your post and so i made an easy upvote. Please keep producing great content like this. Looking forward to see more from you.

As part of our on-boarding & welcoming initiative, we have curated your intro post with our full upvote. In addition, we will also feature your post to one of our daily curation post to introduce to the Photocircle community.

Cheers!
@photocircle


PC comment footer 02.png

Learn about this new photo curation project by clicking >here<


Alternatively, you may also check on the latest article about our on-boarding initiative by clicking >here <

Hello @dkkarolien! I loved your intro post and I’m looking forward to following you and your adventures. I’m a real person (not a bot!) and I’m excited to hear more about your life as it’s so different from mine but also similar in some ways. I’m also a mom in her 40’s with two kids, and I enjoy crafty/artistic hobbies.

Hello and Welcome to the Steem Community @dkkarolien!

I would love to feature your new introduction post in my weekly curation blog if you don't mind! You can find it on my profile, @Ma1neEvent.

You can also check out the @MinnowSupport Project (MSP), a community of Steemians on Discord Chat where you can interact, chat, network, and learn with other members of the Community! There is even a Steem based radio station there with shows and music created by Steemians, @MSP-Waves! Hop in the @MinnowSupport Pond and say hello sometime if you'd like!

@ma1neevent thank you so much for the welcome and my introduction! Much appreciated from this newbies side. I hope to share lots and lots here and I love the interaction with fellow Steemians 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome, your life has so much variety, I am sure you have a lot of interesting posts.

@marihuya thank you, I sure hope so. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome introduction! I wonder if you have ever stayed in Singapore among all your 19 moves? :)

Welcome to the world of Steem by the way. There is much to learn but there are plenty of people here to help you along. All you need to is ask.

@culgin hi there.. Nope haven't done Singapore. Mostly in South Africa, Namibia and now Mauritius. Years back as a teenager I did six months in the Netherlands. Thank you for the welcome and the offer of help. I'm sure I'll need loads more tips and advice. 😬

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow what a great first post. And what a stunning place you have chosen as your new home.
We wish you good luck as you find your place on steemit.
I was drawn to your post through @partiko #introduceyourself
Interesting fact is that my wife Jemma originated from the Seychelles a few miles north of you.
So we will look forward to reading about your new adventure in the Indian Ocean.
Good luck. Peace and Happyness.😎

Posted using Partiko Android

@andyjem thank for the comment. I'll be posting loads! I'm a bit of a social media and blog addict. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steem! With your talents and enthusiasm, you're going to do splendidly here. The photos you've shared are lovely, especially those of your family. BTW, HOLY LARGE FISH!!

I'm with you regarding social media, though I don't venture out beyond Steem (and a Twitter account that's long overdue for an update 😀). Trolls are a pain but I get my kicks out of either ignoring them or responding to them with unrelated photos of food. (Usually, whatever I've had for lunch. Always good for a laugh.) There's a wealth of incredibly helpful people on our blockchain that are always happy to help so you're in a great place to learn those monetizing skills.

Wishing you joy and success in your time with our community and please don't hesitate to ask any questions that you may have.


We encourage everyone to explore the various posts and to leave personal comments on those that you wish (for example - thoughts regarding the content or a sharing of a similar experience you've had). This platform thrives through interaction as it's the best way to build relationships with other Steemians while finding communities and initiatives that peak your interests.

We like to advise bloggers to cite if images, videos, etc. used in their posts are of their own creation. This practice gives the creators an opportunity to have it clearly labeled that the works portrayed are the rightful property of the party posting it.

Another tip that we share with everyone is to be careful of copyright infringement when using material that is not of their original creation. Content (for example - images from a website) that grants permission for reuse is acceptable for content creators to utilize within their posts provided there is appropriate attribution to the source. Here's a link that will provide you with more information.


You've Been.png

We wanted to let you know, we have given you a 25% upvote, are now following you, and are introducing you to everyone we know. You can visit our post HERE.

You can also visit our discord server, The Steem Terminal, which is your one-stop location for learning about destinations on the Steem Blockchain & Discord. Here you will find people who are willing to answer the questions you may have as a new Steemian, documents to assist you, a place to learn and practice, and find out about the many opportunities to connect with other Steemians!

Welcome to the Steem Community.

Hey @brisby thank you for stopping by. It's been a hectic week so far and damn it's only Tuesday! 🤣 Thanks for the compliments and yes.. Big fish.. But there are bigger as well. 😉 I'm onto hubby to start his own #steemit account.. Got some convincing to do. 😂 Thank you for all the tips and advice. I make loads of notes. My blogs are posted here and my website. I'll keep the tips on mind. Go well.

Posted using Partiko Android

You started on steemit 1 month after I did. I have been amazed at how supportive the community is and have made some very good friends.

Have you tried out Discord yet? It greatly enhances my steemit experience.

I haven't heard of Mauritus but it sounds interesting. I bet living on an Island is fun!

I am new here as well. If you have questions about something I am happy to help. If I don't know the answer I don't mind looking around to help find it.

Hi there. Thank you for say hi. Yes I've been on for a little bit more than a month now. Hugely exciting and lots to learn.. 😂 At 43 my brain is having a melt down but fortunately I love technology and everything that goes with it. I'll be sure to ask. Thanks for offering. I've so far joined #discord, started using #Partiko, downloaded #steempress for my website and activated it.. Figured #steem2share, been using #appics, and been figuring the other terminologies.. 😂 Loads and loads to learn still but slowly does it. Trying to be active on here as much as possible which is not a hardship for me. The other Steemians are hugely helpful, check out my dreemsteem blog I posted last night. ☺️

About Mauritius... It's the tiny speck in the middle of the pink circle. 😂 It's fun but also not. I am actually South African but my husband works here so this is now home for the time being. I post a lot of island photos so be sure to check them out if you want to see more of the rock in the middle of the ocean where I live. ☺️ And to return the question... Where do you live? 🤔

So welcome to you too seeing that you are also a fairly new Steemian. Perhaps we'll help each other find the way. It's an awesome platform.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am in the Western part of North Carolina, a State in the Eastern, US. I live in the Mountains. I am fairly new to discord, have been doing some experimentation with tipu and have figured out some things. I did my first helpie cake curation today which I am excited about. I live toward the western tip of North Carolina, close to Tennessee.

north-carolina-county-map.gif

Huge distances.. I'd be interested in learning about tipu and helpie cake curating...those are things I still need to learn. 😊 If there is something in return I can help you with shout.

Posted using Partiko Android

naltedtirt#2812 on discord if you want to learn. I will share what I know and all for free with no expectations.

Thanks and ditto!

Posted using Partiko Android

if you want to talk on discord sometime I would be happy to. I can invite you as a friend but will need the 4 numbers after your discord name to find you.

Hi sorry it was bedtime this side of the world. @dkkarolien#5062

Posted using Partiko Android

No worries my bestest friends are across the Ocean.

How's the day going?