Long Overdue Intro Post - Just a Short Story

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

There comes a day when three thousand people follow the money.

done-3000.jpeg

It has to be the money because I have not really authored anything to follow.

So here goes my intro post.

If anyone wants to know me, you can see who I am by what I do. I choose to introduce myself by telling you a true story.

Today you get a new cover image and a short story.

A close family member travels half way around the world to see me, which happens once per year at best. They lost touch with me many years ago. These visits have given us a chance to get reacquainted.

I have always paid for the flights and would not think of allowing them to pay for anything while here. Then again, there was this one year where I found myself refusing to buy plane tickets. Silent scrutiny was in the air as I tried to explain, and they understood, but wanted to make the trip anyway. They bought the tickets that year and all was good!

I still felt really bad. At the same time, I knew I was doing the right thing. The tickets would have cost several btcoins at that time, and bitcoins were the only transferable asset I had. You and everyone else might call me cheap, and I am used to criticism, but there is more to the story.

continuing...

Family members arrived at their own expense. Meals, drinks and accommodations were on me because the dollars had not fluctuated to any extent, though the digital currency had. All went well and my guests returned to their place of origin. Phone calls continued as usual as that year went on.

Sometimes "No" just means, "Not now!"

It was about a year later that I got the call. We started to talk about dates for another visit. Once the date was set, I said, "I know it is difficult to take a few weeks off and come to visit, so of course, I will be picking up the flights this time." I heard a sigh of relief. I then asked for a bitcoin address because I needed them to pick up some things and bring them. Before the conversation ended, I sent a large sum of money and went on to inform them, "I just bought your plane ticket, and I wanted to send you the money for you last flight too." That seemed to make the other party happy.

The money showed up and instead of the price of a ticket it was well over a thousand times that price. Since bitcoin had moved from the two-hundred each, rising to ten-thousand each during that year, I gave them the same amount that I would have spent if I had stupidly bought the first set of plane tickets.

They got enough money to retire on that day. Afterward, bitcoin even doubled, or nearly so. Needless to say, they were happy I had said, "No!"

Their holdings have been split up and reinvested, and I am confident they have doubled up again. There is nothing like a practical example to teach someone a lesson: Never sell low.

-The End

I thought you all deserved a post.

Today, I no longer think about the price of bitcoin. I will not talk about the past issues, or go into the who or what happened in the past. I just wanted to finally give you all a post. Thank you for finding my account worth following.

I am @done


for the complainers who will bash me for using the introduction tags, this is my introduction.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Great job, I like your intro it's inspiring

Hello @done! It is amazing all the followers and the achieved without making a publication.. that says something and there is the answer thousands of people who are really grateful for everything you do every day.

After so much time (although I never imagined it would happen) we can know something about you, a person full of kindness and good wishes. The story is very impressive and reminds me a lot, for something that happened to me very recently.

To summarize, my story that brought me to Steemit a few months ago, was because of a hack that had an Italian exchange with the NANO cryptocurrency, because, at 17 years of age without any help I could reach 400 of those crypto. In December it was quoted at +30 $.. I never touched a penny and I lost everything.. Today I am here thanks to that. It will sound crazy, but I do not regret it, this just starts.

His story made me feel nostalgic and happy, to know him and to remind me why I am here. His confidence in me made me stand up! Welcome to Steemit? :)

It is true that you had not published, in fact I thought you did it through another user (I was curious to know who it was about), it is true that money attracts a lot of people's attention, however, you do not only have money, you also have a good heart, to know that it is enough to see their actions that say more than many publications, You have helped people in need on the platform, not just with votes, you even bought an account with the excuse of helping that user who would not otherwise have accepted your money, your comments and the people you help have special stories, you could choose to write and reward yourself but in your heart there has been no such ambition in all this time. 15 months on the platform just for the sake of offering help to others, that's admirable. There are many things I would like to know about you, and I may not have money but I would like to be able to offer you my friendship, not an interested one but a grateful one!

Thanks to you for helping so many people, because even if you do not believe it, a vote of yours puts food on the table of many people. I wish you the best and that you continue to succeed, you deserve it!

@Done, what a surprise it is to see a publication of your introduction.
I have no doubt that what you have done has already had its reward, and much more so when you are a helper.
We hope to know more about you and see more publications. Regards!

Welcome @done !!! Great agent of change, I am happy to read and I hope to continue reading always, thank you for your support, I hope God continues to fill you with rewards and blessings, count on my support always, the greetings of #Venezuela are you in my prayers, I send you a tight hug.

Welcome @done!!!! :)

I am happy to read your first post (introduction), a nice read. Thanks to your generosity in valuing my publications, it made me grow in this community.

You have my vote and all my support. Regards!!!

That story is absolutely incredible.. I imagine your friend is quite glad he forked out the money for the plane flight! I mean, sheesh, 10 bitcoins?? I need to drastically upgrade my friend group...

I could not bring myself to spend 10 btc and onl y get $2,900 worth of plane tickets. Hind sight is 20/20 but forethought, knowing the potential is what I used.

a very interesting story story @done, keep the spirit and never give up.

You are great @done, everyone will do the right thing when some people can only criticize us. I'm glad to finally be able to see the posts in your short stories and I'm sure you can always see the people around you. do not ever care when someone wants to criticize you. my greetings to you and all your friends there. Introduction is the only way to strengthen the relationship. you are great

Welcome @done!!! nice history I hope to read you frequently.

Welcome mr. @done the first time I want to thank you because thanks to you I can learn a lot, I remember it very much in March and then you give me my postpost upvote at that time, this is the first moment I see you post in steem.
May you be the most successful person here

Welcome back to good post steem @done, success always in work on steem

Hi mr. @done
Good night
Welcome to re-join in steemit, indeed I just been here but I've heard your name from my close friends who come from Indonesia, he told me a lot about you;
He told me that you very well often visited his post several months ago, and he is very grateful to you

Welcome back to the person who has inspired me in steem, because I am a success although only a small part but I am very happy because you have shared upvote to me,
Thanks for a very big one
Always success

It's perfect, I just saw a post from a @done and I have almost every day visited this blog, but none of the posts I see. but today I can read a short story from a @done I have been following for a long time, hopefully I can see you like this day by day and have a good day. my @chamberle will always support you @done.

Welcome to steem mr. @done a beautiful night can visit your post even though I only a small part that gives upvote to you, but I am proud to see you post

Hello mr. @done
Welcome back to the first post I see as long as I use this steem app,
I wish you success

I really want to see your next post it seems to be interesting to follow.
Thank you for sharing your story

Welcome back to steem @done success for you even though it's the first post

We welcome you at mr welcome welcome. @done
Good post

For a couple of days I was wondering who was behind this account, I was very curious. I could see how generous you are with people, and that caught my attention. The economic situation in Venezuela is unsustainable and chaotic, which has led many Venezuelans to look for some way to earn money. Steemit has been a great help for those of us who still live in the country. I'm happy to read a post on your account and know something about you. Hugs!

Esta linda la imagen de fondo, respecto a la historia creo fielmente en que los planes de Dios son perfectos, que no hayas gastado esos 10 BTC ese año no fue solo suerte, cuando las personas obran bien les va bien y estoy segura que Dios ha tenido algo que ver en como un voleto de viaje se ha convertido en una fortuna que no solo has usado para beneficiarte tu sino que has tendido la mano a otros. Saludos!

Well being following from a long time so its great to read a post from you awesome hopefully you will keep sharing :)

Congratulation @done you got 3000 follower. What a great story. Thanks for sharing

congratulations to you for 3000 followers and i am very glad to be one of them, thanks for your post and let me know more about your life story , good luck for you and everybody here. i love this platform to know more interesting people and know more things about this world.hope it to be better.

Congratulations for your 3000 followers, it's good to be able to read your presentation, much awaited and with this good message, thank you very much for your support, may God continue to bless you

hello interesting story, welcome to the community. I hope you are not a whale of those who with their great power of VP who have denied the votes to the good post and only vote among themselves, good luck and I hope you like this social network

Wao very interesting your story, family comes first, congratulations for the 3000 followers, for me it is a pleasure to be among those followers and the truth is that I am happy to see your first message @done, and I want to thank you for supporting my publications , may God continue to bless you, I hope to see more publications of which you have my support. Greetings.

Hi @done you are incredible
Do you make an investment at steemit.com
I really like people like you
Extraordinary
May you always succeed

What a great story, sharing with the family is very rewarding and even more so when you see it once a year, congratulations for those 3 thousand followers, I am sure they will continue adding many more, thanks for your presentation and for giving us this beautiful start of publication .

Wao, it's excellent this I never thought you would make a publication
It is amazing 3000 followers without having a single publication, the answer of this is gratitude you have supported many people and there you have the fruit of gratitude expressed in followers
It's great they have a big heart to really support without knowing is great, many people within the community need it and you like you have read or detected the need in each of the users and you have decided to change your life with a vote of help
Thanks @done
And then excellent presentation very good way to start your blog
Greetings 😍😍😍

Welcome excellent story that you have left us as your presentation has started in the best way, those 3000 followers grateful for the help you have left in each one, your unconditional support deserves that and more
Greetings @done and again welcome

Finally it's good to see you post dear friend @done congratulations for those 3000 followers, I'm proud to be part of those 3000 for a long time, visit infinades of times your blog to see you publish and finally you did.
It is a pleasure to be able to afford the travel of a family member, especially if you have the money to do so. What a surprise to receive 10 bitcoin in your wallet without a doubt.
Thank you very much for sharing this life story with us
Very happy to read you at last
I wish you a beautiful night dear friend @done

What a great story, I thought you were not real! How good it is to know that you make yourself known to the community! I've seen how you've helped others! that shows that your heart is great and your kindness also by caring for others and thus helping those who need it! Greetings from Venezuela ... God bless you and continue to give you abundance.

What a joy to see that there are people who still think of others, I have seen how you have helped people on this platform that shows that you are full of kindness! I would like to have that kind of opportunity to also help those who need it! May God continue to fill your heart with goodness and multiply you enormously! from Venezuela a great greeting

Well, to be the first time you publish is not bad for me if it costs me to write sometimes, remember that whenever you help you receive something from others is little or much it is good to always be grateful.

have a good weekend, greetings

Waoo muy interesante historia y estoy muy feliz de que poco a poco vallas alcanzando un nivel extraordinario @done te doy mis felicitaciones por los 3000 seguidores y por el nivel que llevas, espero que sigas mejorando cada dia mas, y haciendo feliz a muchas personas tu te lo mereces, saludos.

Welcome @done.

What an incredible story, this one!

Finally your first post, congratulations to the 3000 followers, and that this place be enjoyable and perfect so you can do more post.

Good evening, Success !

Hello @done. I saw your name near the top of the voter list on a few of my posts awhile back.

It's good to know there's actually a human behind the account. Now I can say thanks.

I didn't follow because there wasn't anything to follow, and I don't play that other game.

Anyway, nice to meet you, and have a good day.

Hello friend @done congratulations for the 3000 followers ... the truth if you ask me who was this person with such charity to support others unconditionally, but what a pleasure to know you, thanks for a post, it is much more to share the communicate and know, be welcome in this great community, greetings and I hope to read much more of your post. Those moments of the past were left behind thanks to God! Greetings God bless you!

Que emotiva historia de verdad que llega al corazón. Muchas felicidades por alcanzar un numero muy importante de seguidores, espero que disfrute mucho @done que pase una excelente noche.

hi @ done how can first appearance you can get 3000 follower. truly extraordinary....

Thanks again for the upvote from you mr. @done no words I deserve to mention other than "The most generous person in steem"

Welcome and join mr steem. @done, your first post is very interesting

Hello mr. @done
Welcome to steam
I will always support you
Thank you very much

Joining steam is everyone's dream, so I would like to welcome you to steam.
May you be my aspiration

greetings @done I have some time visiting your account to see if published, reasons his reputation, as I am new I thought it was great, sorry that it is something spontaneous but I think it is the best, as far as his story is right as far as criticism but Equally the best thing is to ignore the negative opinions because as much as one can try to do things to avoid them, they will always have a reason to do them, so they should only live their lives no matter what, because we only have an opportunity to live. and you have to make the most of it no matter what you say or it is not a pleasure to see your story and I hope to enjoy more publications and I will follow it if you allow it since I have not yet done it

An introduction @done very inspiring and at the same time an example to follow, I thank God that there are people like you who through their generosity can improve the quality of life of any person how I would like to help people as you do, in my country Venezuela there are many people in need which I would like to help as you do but unfortunately I can not do it but welcome the community I hope you can take into account my humble comment and may God fill you with many blessings, a Greetings from venezuela .

There are 2 pages
Pages