#IntroduceYourself: Servidor de la Narrativa y Chamán Rúnico // Servant of the Narrative and Runic Shaman

in #introduceyourself4 years ago (edited)

Intro.jpg

¡Hola, humanidad! // Hello, humanity!

Mi nombre es Javier Liendo y soy un Servidor de la Narrativa, un Cuentacuentos. Mi propósito en este mundo es escuchar, observar y estudiar historias respetuosa y responsablemente para luego compartirlas con la humanidad honestamente. Por supuesto, no siempre estuve consciente de eso, este es un breve resumen de cómo alcancé esa consciencia, y de lo que hago para honrar mi labor.

My name is Javier Liendo and I'm a Servant of the Narrative, a Storyteller. My purpose in this world is to listen, observe and study stories respectfully and responsibly, and later share them with humanity honestly. Of course, I wasn't always aware of that, this is a brief summary of how I reached that awareness, and what I do to honor my task.

Nací en Caracas, Venezuela, el 16 de febrero de 1985. Ya en mis primeros dos años tuve un encuentro cercano con la muerte al caer en las garras de la tos ferina, el sarampión y la lechina. Pude sobrevivir este período sin daños permanentes únicamente por la fe y esfuerzo de mi familia, pero mi relación con la Parca y el más allá apenas se había anunciado. Vivía con mis padres y mis cuatro hermanos, todos mayores que yo, en un barrio al oeste de la ciudad. La vida no era sencilla, no teníamos agua corriente, la electricidad fallaba con frecuencia y la casa estaba a merced de crecidas impredecibles de caños cercanos. Pero nuestro hogar era profundamente unido y sólido, fundamentado en una confianza incondicional que, como pude descubrir luego, es muy rara en este mundo. Desde el principio, mamá fue nuestra maestra en la responsabilidad, la disciplina y el dolor, mientras que papá era nuestro ejemplo de alegría, carisma y desapego.

I was born in Caracas, Venezuela, on February 16th, 1985. Already in my first two years I had a close call with death after falling prey to whooping cough, measles and chickenpox. I managed to survive this period unscathed solely by the faith and effort of my family, but my relationship with the Reaper and the beyond had only announced itself. I lived with my parents and my four siblings, all of them older than me, in a slum to the west of the city. Life wasn't easy, we didn't have running water, power outages were frequent and the house was at the mercy of unpredictable floods from nearby creeks. But our home was profoundly united and solid, founded on an unconditional trust that, as I could discover later, was quite rare in this world. Since the beginning, mom was our teacher in accountability, discipline and pain, while dad was our example of joy, charisma and detachment.

Libros.jpg

Aprendí a dibujar, leer y escribir antes de mis cuatro años. Incluso a esa edad ya sentía la pasión por los libros, las imágenes, el arte y las historias, pero no fue hasta mis seis años, cuando mamá me leyó Momo, del autor alemán Michael Ende, que realmente inicié mi sendero en la exploración narrativa. Desde entonces tuve acceso irrestricto a la modesta pero variada biblioteca literaria y musical de la casa, y lo aproveché al máximo. De Ende pasé a Homero, luego a Stephen King y a Emilio Salgari, a Alexandre Dumas y J. R. R. Tolkien, mientras mis hermanos escuchaban desde Miguel Ríos hasta Iron Maiden, desde Nino Bravo hasta Metallica.

I learned to draw, read and write before I was four. Even at that age I already felt a passion for books, images, art and stories, but it wasn't until I was six years old, when mom read me Momo, by the German author Michael Ende, that I truly started on my path of narrative exploration. Since then I had unrestricted access to the modest but varied literary and musical library at home, and I took full advantage of that. I went from Ende to Homer, then to Stephen King and Emilio Salgari, to Alexandre Dumas and J. R. R. Tolkien, while my siblings listened to everything, from Miguel Ríos to Iron Maiden, from Nino Bravo to Metallica.

Mamá3.jpg

A mis nueve años, mamá murió de cáncer de pecho después de un largo y tortuoso proceso. Tuvo que aguantar una inusitada cantidad de quimioterapias y además era alérgica a la morfina, por lo que vivía en dolor físico intenso y constante, pero mis hermanos y yo sólo la oimos quejarse en voz alta una vez. Su muerte definió por completo nuestra vida, pero lejos de disgregarnos, nos unimos más. Mis hermanos se encargaron de terminar mi crianza.

When I turned nine, mom died of breast cancer after a long and grueling process. She had to endure an astonishing amount of chemotherapy sessions and she was also allergic to morphine, so she lived in constant and intense physical pain, but my siblings and I only heard her complain out loud once. Her death entirely marked our life, but far from separating, we grew even more united. My siblings took care of my formation from then on.

Nunca me fue particularmente bien en la escuela, no me gustaban los números, los uniformes, las restricciones y los horarios. Siempre fui el extraño, el que no pertenecía. Luego de la muerte de mamá, mi desempeño empeoró notablemente. Comencé además a transitar la parte oscura de la narrativa: la Mentira. Mentía por cosas menores, como mecanismo de defensa, para ocultar faltas o llamar la atención. Nunca llegaron a ser mentiras realmente destructivas, pero con ellas, puse la confianza de mis hermanos a prueba, con cada vez mayores consecuencias. Abandoné las falsedades al principio de mi adolescencia, pero mi rendimiento académico siguió empeorando, así como mi estabilidad emocional. Por fortuna, el amor de papá y mis hermanos nunca desfalleció, y la música, el dibujo y los libros estuvieron siempre de mi lado, ayudados además por los videojuegos, que resultaron ser una gran fuente de dicha y aprendizaje.

I never did particularly well at school, I didn't like numbers, the uniforms, the restrictions and timetables. I was always the outcast, the one who didn't belong. After my mom's death, my performance declined notably. I started also traversing the dark side of the narrative: Lies. I lied for minor things, as a defense mechanism, to conceal my indiscretions or seek attention. My lies never came to the point of being destructive, but through them, I strained the trust of my siblings with increasingly worse consequences. I abandoned falsehoods when I entered adolescence, but my academic performance kept declining, as well as my emotional stability. Fortunately, the love of my dad and my siblings never deserted me, and music, drawing and books were always on my side, also aided by videogames, which turned out to be great sources of joy and learning.

Amiwos.jpg

Mi tránsito por el liceo fue incluso más difícil que la escuela primaria. Me sentía cada vez más desconectado de todo, caía en profundos estados de melancolía, lidiando con el duelo de mamá sin saber expresarle a nadie cómo me sentía realmente, pues ni yo mismo lo comprendía. Me costaba controlar mi ira, con frecuencia actuaba impulsivamente y usaba lenguaje terriblemente hiriente contra amigos y desconocidos por igual. No obstante, también en este tiempo tuve grandes guías y compañeros, algunos de los cuales siguen siendo mis amigos hoy.

My high school years were even harder than elementary school. I felt increasingly disconnected from everything, I had bouts of deep melancholy, dealing with my grief for mom, unable to tell anyone how I truly felt because I didn't even understand it myself. I had trouble controlling my anger, frequently acted on impulse and used terribly hurtful language against both friends and strangers. However, during this time I also had great guides and companions, some of whom remain my friends today.

IMG_20200422_145708.jpg

Ya hacia el final de mi adolescencia, entré en una escuela de artes visuales y mi vida cambió por entero. Mis amistades se volvieron más firmes y mi creatividad se fortaleció, pero aún seguía resintiendo la rutina del ambiente académico y por lo tanto, perdí grandes oportunidades con profesores magníficos, aunque las compensé con otras relaciones y experiencias que aún ahora siguen proporcionándome conocimiento y alegría. Mientras tanto, mis hermanos y yo ya nos habíamos mudado del barrio a un apartamento en el centro de Caracas, y la vida familiar estaba volviendo a su cauce. En estos tiempos fue que conocí los juegos de rol e intensifiqué mi exploración narrativa. También fue esta mi última experiencia en la academia formal, no obtuve título de bachiller ni me matriculé en ninguna universidad.

By the end of my teenage years, I enrolled in a visual arts school and my life changed completely. My friendships became more firm and my creativity flourished, but I still resented the routine of the academic environment and therefore, I squandered great opportunities with magnificent teachers, although I compensated for it with other relationships and experiences that continue to provide me with knowledge and happiness even now. Meanwhile, my siblings and I had already moved out of the slum to an apartment in downtown Caracas, and my family life was beginning to settle down. It was in those days that I found roleplaying games and intensified my narrative exploration. This was also my last formal academic experience, I didn't get a high school diploma or enrolled in a university.

Comencé a trabajar a mis veintitrés años como operador de fotocopiadora en una academia de redes, luego trabajé como dibujante de AutoCAD en una empresa de ingeniería. Para entonces, tres de mis hermanos ya tenían sus propios hogares y sólo vivía con mi hermana mayor. Nos tuvimos que mudar a casa de nuestra abuela materna en Guarenas, una ciudad satélite de la capital. Allí incursioné en el diseño digital, la fotografía y la traducción. Aunque yo no lo notaba aún, todo estaba contribuyendo a mi formación como Narrador del mundo que me rodeaba.

I started working at twenty-three years old as a photocopy operator in a networking academy, then I worked as an AutoCAD designer in an engineering company. By then, three of my siblings had their own homes and I lived alone with my eldest sister. We had to move to the house of our maternal grandmother in Guarenas, a commuter city near the capital. There I got into digital design, photography and translation. Although I still didn't notice, everything was contributing to my training as a Narrator of the world around me.

Oscasi.jpg

Del trabajo de ingeniería pasé al voluntariado social en una organización jesuita que atiende a niños desescolarizados en Petare, el barrio más grande de Latinoamérica, al este de Caracas. Allí aprendí a manejar mucho mejor mi ira y también la soberbia que, silenciosamente, había estado alimentando por años. La organización era dirigida por mujeres y eso, aunado a mi experiencia cotidiana con mi hermana y mi abuela, me permitió refinar mi respeto hacia la feminidad y a explorarla en mí. Pude atar muchos cabos sueltos de mi relación con mi madre y mis parejas, y me sentía cada vez más pleno.

I went from engineering to social volunteering in a Jesuit organization that cares for children without formal education in Petare, the largest slum in Latin America, to the east of Caracas. There, I learned to manage my anger far better, as well as the arrogance that I'd been silently feeding for years. The organization was led by women and that, coupled with my everyday experience with my sister and my grandmother, allowed me to refine my respect for femininity and to explore it in me. I managed to tie the loose ends of my relationship with mom and my romantic partners, and I felt more and more joyful.

Luego vino 2014 con terribles protestas en mi país y el comienzo de una ruinosa escasez de servicios y artículos básicos. Mi compromiso con la historia de Venezuela comenzó entonces, dejé mi trabajo en el área social y me enfoqué en la traducción. A principios de 2015, tuve mis primeras experiencias maravillosas con la marihuana, la primera de las plantas sagradas que han formado parte de mi desarrollo espiritual. A mediados de ese mismo año caí en una breve pero intensa depresión de la cual salí infinitamente más fuerte, descubrí que era un Cuentacuentos y finalmente, luego de ventiún años, logré dejar ir a mamá.

Then came 2014 with terrible protests in my country and the beginning of a ruinous shortage of basic services and stables. That's when my commitment with Venezuela's story started, I left my job in the social area and focused on translation. In early 2015, I had my first wonderful experiences with marijuana, the first of the sacred plants that have been part of my spiritual development. Halfway through that same year I had a brief but intense bout of depression and came out infinitely stronger, discovered my role as a Storyteller and finally, after twenty one years, I managed to let mom go.

Familia.jpg

Papá.jpg

En septiembre de 2015, mi papá falleció. Fue una muerte rápida y casi sin dolor. Su partida fue noble y feliz, y tuve la maravillosa oportunidad de estar con él por largo tiempo en sus últimas horas. La tristeza fue grande pero corta, y pudimos despedirlo con paz en nuestros corazones. Se fue como siempre vivió, tranquilo y con una sonrisa en los labios. Prometí ser siempre digno heraldo de esa sonrisa y mi felicidad sólo ha aumentado con los años.

In September, 2015, dad died. It was a quick and almost painless death. His departure was noble and happy, and I had the wonderful opportunity to be with him for a long time during his last hours. The sorrow was great but short, and we could say our farewell with peace in our hearts. He left as he'd always lived, calm and with smile on his lips. I promised to always be a worthy herald of that smile and my bliss has only increased with the years.

Protesta.jpg

Inmediatamente luego de este evento, comencé a trabajar en noticias, me aboqué con todo al seguimiento de los acontecimientos en mi país y entré al 2016 sintiendo un compromiso creciente con la narrativa a mi alrededor. Comencé a ver señales y símbolos en todas partes, a fluir con mayor facilidad, a amar más libremente. Expandí mi sexualidad, mi pensamiento y mis perspectivas. Me abrí a la Magia y la Magia se me reveló. Así asistí a mi primera ceremonia sagrada de Ayahuasca, conocí a mis primeros maestros y compañeros de medicina natural, e inicié mi sendero chamánico. Desde entonces he asistido a seven ceremonias de Ayahuasca, cada una con un propósito muy específico. También he atendido poderosas ceremonias de Yopo, una planta sagrada autóctona de Venezuela.

Immediately after this event, I started working in the news industry, dedicated to monitoring the situation in my country. I entered 2016 feeling a growing engagement with the surrounding narrative. I started seeing signs and symbols everywhere, flowing with greater ease, loving more freely. I expanded my sexuality, my thoughts and my perspectives. I opened myself to Magic and Magic revealed itself to me. That's how I attended my first sacred Ayahuasca ceremony, met my first teachers and companions in natural medicine, and started my shamanic path. Since then I've attended seven Ayahuasca ceremonies, each one with a very specific purpose. I've also been to powerful ceremonies of Yopo, a sacred plant native to Venezuela.

Oro como Miel - Ceremonia 27-28 abril.jpg

Ceremonia.jpg

También en 2016, comencé a ver Westworld, una serie para TV de HBO que ha sido vital para mi viaje de desarrollo personal estos últimos cuatro años. Dista mucho de ser un simple show para mí y se ha convertido en un foco de estudio narrativo. En 2018, además, recibí un gran regalo: mi primer set de Runas, con las cuales he cotinuado mi proceso de autodescubrimiento cada vez a mayor detalle y profundidad. Ahora trabajo con otro set que tallé y consagré con mis manos, y además he expandido mi práctica física, energética y mágica al Tarot, la Astrología, la sanación con Cristales, la interpretación de Sueños, la Esgrima Europea y la Biodanza, todo en servicio de mi Estrella, acompañado de grandes espíritus de Luz, bajo la tutela de poderosos Maestros y en conexión siempre creciente con mis Ancestros.

Also in 2016, I started watching Westworld, a TV series by HBO that has been vital for my journey of personal development these past four years. It's not very far from being a simple show to me and instead, it has become a focus of narrative study. Moreover, in 2018 I received a great gift: my first Rune set, with which I continued my process of self-discovery with increasing detail and depth. Now I work with another set that I etched and consecrated with my own hands, and I've also expanded my physical, energetic and magical practice to Tarot, Astrology, Crystal healing, Dream interpretation, European Fencing and Biodanza, all in service of my Start, accompanied by great spirits of Light, under the tutelage of powerful Masters and in ever-growing connection with my Ancestors.

IMG_20200422_135939.jpg

Color Explosion Mandala 2.jpg

Winged Watchtower 2.jpg

Esto soy y esto ofrezco. Gracias infinitas por tomarte el tiempo de leer una parte de mi historia.
This is what I am and what I offer. Infinite thanks for taking the time to read a part of my story.
Sort:  

Tremendo Introduce mi pana buenisimo adiwa!!!

Adiwísima, bro! Gracias!

@porters here on behalf of @NaturalMedicine – Welcome to the Hive community! Such a beautiful story and I love what you have to offer and appreciate you using the #naturalmedicine tag! I'm sure you will enrich the community! Thanks for sharing and so glad you can translate so we have both English and Spanish (I believe that is).

curation.png

We'd love you to enter our Covid 19 After The Virus Challenge
, which you can read about here. There's 100 HIVE on offer & lots of LOTUS to win!

My pleasure! Thank you! Yes, I translate between both languages. I'll be checking your Challenge presently! Blessings!

Me encantó esto.
Fue súper bonito leerte; se me arrugó el corazón un par de veces hahahah
Bienvenido!

Muchísimas gracias! Me costó un poco llegar a ese post, pero sospecho que era porque estaba controlando mucho lo que quería decir, jajaja. Bendiciones!!

También me pasa! Un montón!
También hay momentos de claridad, como el que describo en mi post, que me ayudan a borrar todo lo que quiero decir y se queda lo que verdaderamente necesita ser dicho.
Bendiciones de vuelta!

Welcome to Hive, @drrune!

Original content works best here.
Engaging the community is also helpful.

Hive-Now.com can show you useful stats on your account.

And from what I've found, the eSteem App is the best App for Hive - Check it out. (referral link.)
Their points system is great for earning some extra Hive tokens.

Also, after a while, look into Hive-Engine.com.

Be well.
@LionSuit

Thank you! I'll look into all of that, this is all quite new and exciting for me. Bless!

Welcome drrune!
Esteem is mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Download Android: https://android.esteem.app, iOS: https://ios.esteem.app, desktop: https://desktop.esteem.app apps that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as ESTM token.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem