Introduction: A venezuelan girl with nothing to lose.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

At this point in my life I've tried it all, and failed most of those times trying to reach my biggest goal by now, which is leaving my country (a very, very troubled one).

As the title says, I was born in Venezuela, March 1998, a year before the man who ruined mine and a lot of lives became the president of my country. I don't remember any part of my life where I don't just want to, but know I have to leave Venezuela if I want to be somewhat successful and do what I like. I also know that accomplishing that won't be easy, I know that my knowledge isn't worth anything in other countries and that if I do leave I'll probably go through a lot of shitty jobs, xenophobia, loneliness, homesickness and just not the best times. So, if I'm going to go through that, you may be asking, why do I want to leave? why in the world would I want to leave my loved ones to be left alone in a foreign country? The answer is right there, in the title of this post. I have nothing else to lose.


Me and my sister

The situation of my country has limited me in so many ways that I sometimes think I'm living in some kind of dystopian novel. I'm not gonna get into all the details and all the ways this has happened, I'm just going to name one so you get the idea.

April, 2015.

By this time I was graduating high school and tho I love cooking and baking, that wasn't a career option for me, not only because studying that was very expensive, but it was very hard to find the ingredients for the required dishes and pastries that one is supposed to learn how to make. So I had to find another option, and there was only one academic career and only one University where I wanted to study; I decided I wanted to study Modern Languages at the Universidad de Los Andes, Mérida. This university as in another state, and although my parents didn't like the idea of me going there and live on my own, they supported me. I traveled to Mérida just one week before graduating high school to make the test for Modern Languages. I wasn't prepared at all, like at all, I didn't study for it like normal people do, you know, to enter the career. Because I haven't studied for it and went there just with my previous knowledge I wasn't very confident that I would get in, but I had to give it at least chance.

1.jpg
Faculty of Humanities and Education of the Universidad de Los Andes, Mérida.

On June 2015, the result of the test were delivered. Just 60 places were given to the people with the best score on the test. The last person on the list had only 1 tenth of a point more than me. I was devastated, but I wasn't going to give up. In this University they give more places to people but a semester later, so I waited.

On April 2016, the results of the second list were delivered. My name was the first of the list, ergo, I had the highest score on the test among all people. Romanticism aside, that was one of the happiest moments of my life. That same month I moved to Mérida to study the career of my life, in my favorite city.

2.jpg
A very gracious picture of me sleeping between classes.

Right now I'm not gonna go into detail about my experience there, but maybe later in another post.

April, 2017.

If you are from Venezuela you know what happened during this time. For people who don't really know, from April to July/August last year were one of the darkest times in my country.

I was supposed to start again for the next semester in the ULA in April, but because of the protests against the government, this was delayed many, many times. By June I knew I didn't want to study anymore, but work on the internet, making dollars as I could and save that money to leave. On September classes started again and I traveled to Mérida but not to go to class, but to retire the ULA. I was heartbroken. I cried a lot and I still want to cry right now, as I'm writing this. It wasn't easy for me leaving university, leaving the career of my dreams which I waited so long to get into, in which it was once one of the best universities in Latin America.

It hurt me a lot to do that, yes, but I knew and I still know now that it was the best decision. We lost the university, and I can't lose my life for it.

I would like to get more in detail of what I'm talking about here, of the protests, of what happened to students in Venezuela and more. If you want to know about this things please let me know in the comments.

January 22, 2017.

So all of this gets us to here. As I said at the start of this post, by now I've tried a lot of things to make money on the internet and I've failed. I haven't made enough so I can save some, I always spend it all in food and basic needs as my parents' just like a lot of professionals in Venezuela, make around $3 per month. And that is why I joined Steemit. I, right now, see Steemit as one of the only resources left I have. I don't know if I'll be successful, but I have to at least try.

I have a good feeling about Steemit, and I hope it's right.

The content I will be publishing at Steemit will be very versatile. I wanna post short stories, poems, talk about subjects of feminism, veganism, politics, cinema, music and books. And I want to post things both in English and Spanish, so it gets to more people.

My goal in life right now is to leave Venezuela. I really want to work hard for it and work hard in another country to find my track. Every vote and resteem you give my posts at Steemit, I see as a donation from you to help me accomplish this goal, and by helping me you're helping my family and loved ones too.

Sort:  

welcome to steemit @fauxine

Bienvenida Chiquita a Steemit, gracias por tus palabras de valentía y de entereza. realmente naciste para escribir. Tienes el don y el talento. Lamentablemente ahora estas nublada de tanta tristeza, rabia y odio pero ya podrás despejarte y buscar un buen nicho de trabajo. Lo primero cercarse las lagrimas y buscar temas que quisieras comunicar, no los hagas tan extensos si los acompañas con fotos, pintura o música que sean de tu autoria ayudará. también no olvides leer y votar qui lo que se trata es de ganar seguidores y eso lo conseguirás inter actuando con otros. Discutiendo aportando a la comunidad. Bienvenida un gran abrazo A volar.

Welcome @fauxine!!! You will definitely enjoy being here

#followedyou

Welcome!!!

I wish you all the best for the future. If you need a laugh, try my #emojitrivia. If you want to win some money, take a look at my giveaway

welcome to steemit

Welcome to Steemit! Enjoy the ride as much as you can!

Welcome To Steemit! You are really going to like it here. This is a unique place where there is no competition. Instead, we all work to build success by helping each other out. The best way to grow is to build Steem Power and vote to reward other authors.

I encourage you to take the time to search for other posts that interest you and upvote them. Also, start following authors that post good content and upvote them as well. Follow Me! Make some friends and you will be well on your way to earning some nice curation rewards and growing your following.

This is a great place to network with other people from all over the world. If you continually post great content you will grow a following in no time and start making some nice author rewards.

Best Of Luck!
Spencer Coffman
My Latest Article: 7 Must-Have Apps

Bienvenida a Steemit. También soy nueva en la plataforma y el mejor consejo que me han dado es ser constante y con expectativas reales. Éxitos.

Welcome @fauxine. You have an interesting story and, from the sounds of it, a variety of interests and talents. You should be able to find a place here at Steemit. Making money usually doesn't happen quickly here, but if you work at it, produce quality content and be active in the community, you will get there. Just takes some patience and hard work.

I wish you the best of luck on your Steemit journey and I look forward to see what you will post next.

Welcome to steemit I hope you continue to share your story

Welcome to Steemit! Where you do you want to move to?

Bienvenida, será un placer poder disfrutar del contenido que compartas con nosotros, de mi parte te extenderé la mano para que puedas reunir y emigrar, muchos estamos en tu situación.
Comparte, vota y gana seguidores