👍Positive changes in my life including Steemit - @felipesuarez a brief introduction

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

Felipe Suarez
My name is Felipe and I was born in Costa Rica. Costaricans are called “ticos” and probably you might know this already, there are many of us around the globe!
I work for one of the best tech companies in the US. I am based from Costa Rica.

Let me share with you the journey that I am currently on trying to become a better version of myself by staying active again and doing the sports I love to stay healthy and have a healthy work & life balance.

As any person, sometimes we get caught up in different things & activities from life that take us away from who we really are and have always been. I always liked sports - all of them, many. I enjoyed playing them and always had a lot of fun. But I incorrectly decided for many years that I could live without sports and only focus on work. I think that it was an incorrect decision because to work well you have to be in contact with nature. And to be able to go out and play, you have to work first. So both relate %100 to each other…

I am very proud of my work, career since 2003 and all the great people/professionals I’ve met, projects done so far (for tech companies and myself) and companies I have worked for (world class in the web development & agencies industry) but I was feeling like I needed more from myself.

I needed more..


In 2015 I realized that I had become a workaholic and that I didn't have a work/life balance. I totally loved my job back then as I do now in the present but that year I changed and decided it was time to start doing the sports and things I like again and this would allow me to work even better by having a work life balance that allowed me to be less stressed and have a healthy lifestyle.


Returning to be active

Felipe Suarez surf

In 2015 I returned to do all the sports I liked and also i decided to try new challenges.


Returning to be active

I returned to Mountain biking and started to do Enduro which I really love. I have a BMX/MTB background so going downhill/jumping in enduro is totally appealing to me, I love it Here in Costa Rica we have MTB bike parks and nice places to ride and visit. Video: https://www.instagram.com/p/BFc6GlaNV5I/

Felipe MTB

Felipe Enduro MTB

I also returned to skateboarding. I found some sk8 parks in the city and I tried them out. It was very cool to return to riding and it felt AWESOME to feel and ride my skateboard again. I realized I needed some safety gear and bought myself some wrist guards, elbow pads and knee pads. I took a couple of falls and they hurt , and with my age (38 this year 2017) I cannot afford to get hurt, especially since I am not a kid anymore.

Why Skateboarding, some people ask me?

First thing I respond is “why not? age is just a number!”. Skateboarding for me is very relaxing because you get to live in the moment and focus only on what you are doing at that time because if not, you will fall. Riding a skateboard is a great feeling. I cannot do every trick I did before but I enjoy staying within the limits to avoid injuries and riding around doing some tricks or hitting the pump track.

Felipe Suarez Sk8

Felipe Sk8

Rollerblading is also so much fun, when I was a kid I had a pair of rollerblades. During a trip to the US in Martha's Vineyard when I was a kid I rollerbladed a lot and this left me with many positive memories so another sport that I am visiting again is rollerblading. I bought myself some rollerblades and with my existing sk8 safety gear I now also practice rollerblading. Its a great workout and I go to a city park that has a nice inline skate track to practice and have fun. Fun video: https://www.instagram.com/p/BTUs10-hMIV/

Felipe rollerblading

Golf is Pura Vida!

I also Golf and like we say in Costa Rica… “Pura vida!” which means “Cool”! Golfing for me is also very relaxing because it's outdoors in very nice places with a lot of nature. It was terrible that I stopped playing... Here's me at some nice locations in Costa Rica for Golf. I have to stress that it is not that fin when you play bad but it’s a matter of having fun.

Felipe Suarez golf

Felipe Suarez golfing


New challenges: Surfing & Kiteboarding

I always wanted to surf. But I never did it because I only stayed bodyboarding. Many of my friends surf and I never did it but in the back of my mind I always wanted to do it. So I tried it as well! Surfing is very challenging and because of this it’s a great workout. This is why I love it because it's difficult and takes a lot to even stand up. You have to paddle a lot. I am a beginner and still learning but the feeling of it is what keeps me going.

Surf Felipe


Kiteboarding, OMG

Kiteboarding is completely new for me until 2015 and I have to say it's the most awesome and radical thing I have ever done. I went to the local kite beach in Costa Rica and took lessons for a couple of days on how to do it safely. Its quite a learning experience and you do have to pay close attention in class to avoid missing anything in the water by yourself. Its a challenge to keep in mind all the things that have to be done when you in the water but its super cool. I am a kiteboarding beginner still and I have a lot of practice to do because I have not gotten the hang of it yet but it's super exciting. Its a great exercise and I saw people of all ages doing it which was really motivating, I thought it was only for super fit athletes. But it made me realize that I needed to get in shape to do it better.

Felipe Suarez Kiteboarding Costa Rica


Small comment though,

I am mentioning all these activities because it's what I am doing to have fun lately and have a good work/life balance. I wanted to share this since I am new to Steemit. Sports helps me relax during the weekends. I am doing all this for fun only. By no means I am trying to imply that I am a great athlete or anything like that. But I do have fun and I apply my skills from childhood because I have always been very active. I play other sports and I enjoy even video games for their competitive nature.

Like I mentioned before, all this helps me be more grounded and be more effective at work with new responsibilities and challenges.


What do I do for work? I love what I do!

I am an e-Commerce and Web developer professional. I have a lot of experience in web dev working for different digital agencies and developing for e-Commerce. I have been front-end web developer, technology manager for team of developers in charge of high traffic US enterprise sites/accounts and e-Commerce professional. I started my web dev career in 2003 and I have been lucky to have been part of amazing teams of developers, projects and tech people in amazing companies.

Felipe Suarez VMware Costa Rica

The issue I found, like I mentioned in the beginning of my post, was that I had forgotten about the sports that I liked to do. Sports and outdoor activities are very important to have a good work performance during the week and stay motivated. Exercising is basic to be healthy. To be healthy is very important to me now. Sports are cool, it's just a matter of finding the one or ones you like.


Giving back

My job allows me to participate in social benefit activities to help the community here in Costa Rica and I participate as much as I can. I like to give back and help people that are in need. Social activities are important for me also so I try to help and participate in my job on these types of activities and go with my colleagues to a community in need to work, help and give back.

VMware Foundation Felipe Suarez Costa Rica

Thank you very much for reading so far. I joined Steemit because I have always had an interest in cryptocurrencies and tech in general. I had found about Steemit some months ago but until now I decided to join, I should have done it before because it's really amazing. With the addition of Dtube it's even more exciting and the business model behind it is very attractive as you know with real results unlike other platforms. I am sure this platform is only going to grow and is this is why I decided to share my honest life story and post it here as my intro.

I think it's important to post original content here to help it grow. I wrote my first post about this: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@felipesuarez/smiley-my-pre-introduction-statement-steemit-original-content-thumbsup I hope you can also check it out. I received some nice replies which was really exciting.

Again, thank you very much for taking the time to read this and getting to know me. All my pictures are taken from my Instagram account. If there is anything I can help you with please contact me.

Best regards,
@FelipeSuarez
follow

BTC = 1GCzfaXoUp7z1PYBspXSEpJ7QMYCbjptV5
LTC = LXqxTtNzhs9U7RYKg6mWEQcQhZJdd5xj5X
ETH = 0x2eF167A3ad055A1086D69D0b57c83aB47F6c6757
DASH = Xg7y9eW2NgHJYRw7aFZjv44E4xkmYZPRGA

pura vida Felipe Suarez @felipesuarez

Sort:  

This post received a 3% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @felipesuarez! For more information, click here!

only @originalworks and Steemit original content.

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @felipesuarez. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @felipesuarez to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!



¡Hola, @felipesuarez!

Te invito a que te unas al chat Trail Hispano en Discord en donde podrás compartir tus posts y hablar con toda la comunidad.

Además puedes a unirte al Trail, el cual es un proyecto del chat en donde puedes recibir votos en tus posts. ¡Recibe alrededor de 80 votos en cada post y más según la gente se vaya uniendo!

Para unirte al trail, accede a https://trail.steemhispanos.chat. Para más información, te invito a que leas el siguiente post: Tutorial actualizado Trail hispano en Discord, herramientas y reglas 🙂


Para apoyarte en esta red, te comencé a segir
y he votado este post.

Nuevamente, te doy la bienvenida a Steemit y no dudes en contestar este comentario si tienes alguna duda.

Esta es una iniciativa de @moisesmcardona. Considera votándolo como Witness en https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Lee más acerca de mi Witness presionando aquí.

Bienvenidos a Steemit! Thanks for sharing! I just came back from a run after doing some work and read this post. I can really relate to this feeling of needing sports. I love running and half a year ago I took up rollerblading too. You really just can't sit all day working on something. You need to move and be active and clear the mind. So Congrats on being Active and Welcome to Steemit!

Hola @mela913 ! saludos desde CR a Puerto Rico. Following you! I really love your comment and its also motivating so thanks. Its cool you rollerblade as well! I really like your phrase "you need to move and be active and clear the mind". Thank you and good luck to you too!

Muchas Gracias!! :D Upvoted and Following ;)

This post has received a Bellyrub and 6.10 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @felipesuarez. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

bienvenido a steemit @felipesuarez, buen post. Disfruta mucho tu tiempo aqui.. Exitos! te invito a seguirme @jjrendon

siguiendote amigo muchas gracias x las palabras y la motivacion. Q tengas muchos exitos tambien!

siguiendote! te invito seguirme tambien, muchas gracias por visitar por aqui. Saludos y pura vida!

I knew you were a golfer, but it seems you're a pretty busy guy! That's a very good introduction. Good job.

Thanks Paul for taking time to check it out. We need more golfers on Steemit , we're the first thanks for sharing bro, cheers.

welcome to steem bro! glad youre having a good time

following you now @jjjjosue thanks so much bro! appreciate you passing by. Yeah I really like this community, it's different and better than the rest.

Gracias por presentarte y continúa con el deporte, que nos da equilibrio. Mens sana in corpore sano. Un abrazo!

Muchas gracias @herewegoanara Anara, me encanta tu comentario. Saludos

Welcome to steemit @felipesuarez. Nice introducing.
Can we be a follower friends? I upvoted and followed you. I also new in this channel and I collect friends. I follow you can you also follow me and you will get a good contents from me ;-)
Thank you.

Thanks @chebee , following you now, have a wonderful week ahead. Good luck to you too.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Aug 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $50.66 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wow... What a way to be active. I love that you so much love sport. I think you will make a very good athlete if time can be drawn back.

thanks man!! sports and just having fun are important, what do you like to do?

I love sports like football and table tennis. I play it occasionally though because of my busy and tight schedule.

nice!! table tennis is a lot of fun and actually very difficult and makes you swet a lot because of intensity, thats cool man thanks for sharing.

Hi @cleverbot can you please give me an honest review of my post?

thanks @cleverbot can you please upvote all my posts?

first you give me watermelon and now this? @cleverbot please tell me a history about you

what would you improve about yourself?