#Introduceyourself, chickens, dogs, goats, sheep, and vegatables.

in #introduceyourself2 years ago (edited)

#Introduceyourself
I am 54 years old and I live in California’s Bay Area where I work a hair stylist. I love coming home to our small farm at the end of the day and visiting with my ten chickens, two goats, two sheep, and two dogs. We also have a large garden where I grow many vegetables, fruits, and roses. I also really enjoy cooking and when the Pandemic hit I started baking as well. Here is a photo of a Turkey pot pie I made after Thanksgiving and a blueberry pie I made for my husbands birthday.

image.png
image.png

As I said I have ten chickens. I choose the different chicken breeds I have based on the color eggs they lay. The chicken breeds that I have are Speckled Sussex, Welsummer, Whitting True Blue, Ameracauna, Australorp, Olive Eggers, and a Lavender Cream Legbar. The names of my chickens are Dottie, Pepper, Daisy, Hazel, Verucca Salt, Pickles, Kiwi, Olive, Bluebelle, and Estelle. The chickens have a large outdoor area and coop. I use to let the chickens free range our lower yard during the day, but foxes got one. So now the chickens only free range when my husband or I are in the backyard. The eggs my chickens lay are blue, brown, tan, peach, and green in color. I have some pictures of the eggs my chickens laid below.

image.png

My goats are two male goats. One of the goats is a black and white pygmy goat named Oliver. Oliver is the smart goat of the two, he has learned a few tricks like getting on his back feet and walking as well as shaking. He knows he gets a treat when he shakes so sometimes just walking into the backyard you will see him put his leg up and shake, hoping for that treat. The other goat is a mixed Icelandic dwarf goat that is brown, black, and white and his name is Dozer. Dozer is the bully of the herd and will push his pasture friends out of the way for any treat. Both Dozer and Oliver will chew on anything in the yard including trees, tools, trailers, fences, and gates. They killed a few large Oak trees before my husband learned to protect the trunks of the trees.

image.png

Our sheep our Painted Desert Sheep and we have one female who is brown and white , we call her Una. The other is a male black and white, we call Guinness. They do a much better job controlling the weeds in the pasture. The sheep keep the weeds trimmed very low almost making the pasture look like mowed grass. The two goats do control the weeds also just not as well.

image.png

Now were are to my beloved dogs. I have a male Cardigan Welsh Corgi who is black, grey, and white with blue eyes, who goes by the name Rocco. I also have a female Siberian Husky mix who is brown, black, and white, who goes by the name Scout. Both of my dogs are very spoiled and have a bedroom that they share in our house. Our dogs love running around our yard, but when it is time for me to go to work the happily go into their bedroom for the day. From their bedroom they have access to a dog run on the side of our house.

image.pngimage.png

In my garden I grow, pumpkins, squash, cucumbers, carrots, lettuce, artichokes, zucchini, radish, eggplant, tomatoes, cabbage, peppers, and onions. My husband and I also grow blueberry, blackberry, grapes, raspberry, and boysenberry. My husband also tends to all our trees and vines which are apples, oranges, mandarins, pears, passion fruit, cherries, olives, plums, nectarines, peaches, pomegranates, limes, lemons, and hops. I love to spend the weekend tending and harvesting from our garden.

image.png

Lastly, I have 23 roses that I love to cut and bring into the house when they bloom. About 20 minutes from my house is a huge nursery that specializes in roses and has hundreds of varieties to walk through. I really enjoy going to the nursery and picking out a new variety of roses. The problem is my rose garden is full now and I need to look for a place to plant more.

image.png
image.png

Have a great day and thanks for reading my post.

Sort:  

Welcome homesteadwifey!
Ecency is fastest website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @homesteadwifey! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I love the chicken names and then the roses at the end are spectacular! Nice to learn about your homestead! Here's something to crow about! Your post has been upvoted and now is in our poultry collection 2022 The Poultry Collection - Chickens, Ducks, Peacocks and more!