Hey, my name is Gibely and this is the story of 17 years of broken plans and how I got over them.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

Let's start.

I was born and raised in Venezuela, and I can't really tell you a lot about my childhood, I forgot most of it, I do have a lot of short flashbacks, gold ones, with pets, my mom, my dad, mostly my brothers, I remember laughing, playing, singing, drawing, walking, exploring and being maybe too analytical to actually enjoy most of what I did, I was always the kid that spend most of the time with the older people, I played a lot with my cousins but I have more memories of watching novelas and eating candy with my aunt, I drank a lot of coffee and watched a lot of tv as a child, and I enjoyed it, I do go back on my childhood and stay thankful for the decision I made, I'm happy to be the person I am today, even though I'm still growing, and hope to never stop doing that.

11219405_1052601954751110_7908814488561673626_n.jpg

Yep, that's me as a baby

let's get to the point, let's start with the broken plans.

When I was a little innocent child I noticed I understood English a lot easier than all of my class, and, I found myself interested in learning more languages, so, yes, I imagined myself being a translator for people at touristic zones, meeting people from all around the world, and traveling all over the world understanding what people where saying, you could say that's actually a great life plan for a 12 year old, I guess... ‎Well, I kinda lost interest.

‎I got demotivated by a lot of external factors, the fact that I wouldn't be able to do what I actually planed to do with my degree did most of the job, same happened with photography and graphic design, fashion design, I'm a "all over the place" interests kind of person, that happened a lot in my life until, I was 13, I think, I was really sad, I was really anxious, I was really, really, really insecure about myself and I didn't have anyone, or, I didn't feel safe talking to anyone about it because I thought there was no one who could understand me, I thought no one had ever felt this way before and no one had ever been this bad before, I thought no one ever felt without nowhere to go, like there was nothing for them in this world, like there was no space for you and you were where in an empty room full of nothing and everyone else is outside with a clear road in front of them and you're just in a room, you have nothing to do, nothing to feel and, no one to understand so yeah I had a really bad... I don't know, youth?

14 - 47.jpg

14 - 23.jpg

1506772_731421366869172_1902066564_n.jpg

63065_591896537488323_1323187318_n.jpg

Some cool unprofessional photos I took in 2012/2014

I grew over that, as I said, or as everyone in my family said to me, I was really "mature" so, I could definitely get over it, and I did, but after all that, it got me, there is actually people who understand people... there is actually people who understand how minds work, well, there's psychology and I fell completely in love with it, I found myself looking for psychologist reading what they had to say and falling even deeper in love... I still want my languages degree but I am completely passionate about psychology as you can see, I dreamed about this since I was 14, maybe... and it was a possibility, until my country broke down, you see... all I've ever dreamt was a possibility, and my parents made sure I knew that, they would support me at anything I choose (even if it got me to starvation for not ever finding a job), they got my back, but this... It got out of hand, the only college in the state I'm living in that actually offers physchology is private and really expensive, so they couldn't pay it... My parents are amazing people, hard working and just really inspirational, they never said no. But I choose not to study that, it would mean to much weight for them economically and I didn't want that because I understood, and still understand my country's situation...

Anyways, I got the opportunity to study veterinary medicine, in a university that's ohhh so close to my mother's family house, where I spent most of my life's vacations, I always wanted to live here and I am still living here actually, Sooo... College, it started so great, I was learning so much, and, after 4 months of doing nothing, and seeing no one more than my family it felt so great, in less than 6 months it got really bad, education got worst, I was really demotivated, I felt like a failure and also like I was wasting precious time, I just talked to my mom and I'm out of it, my plans didn't work out, again...

But I'm over it, just as that, my mom understood (she's awesome I'm willing to make a post just about her at some point) and that's all that matters to me, I'm going to continue studying, just not at college, and I will get at some point out of here and I will, definitely fight as hard as I can, and even harder than that to get what I've always dreamed and what I know I deserve. I know there's place for me in this world, I know I will help people, I know I will continue to find bumps in the road, maybe, ones bigger that others but I'm not willing to stop, I'm still not giving up, because I know I'm more than this. I've grown so much, and I will keep growing, and I will keep learning, I will still have to fight ( even with myself ) to stand up, and keep going but I know I can, and as I am saying this for myself, I am saying this for everyone that's reading this.

I know things get out of hand sometimes, I know it hurts maybe too much sometimes, I know you cannot see further sometimes, that it feels like there's no sense in keep going, but there is, you can be so much more than what you're right now, I know as a fact, there's so much more for us than what we have right now, things will clear up, but you need to keep going, and don't be ashamed of taking a break, because I've done it, we've all done it, it is needed, just know your worth, and don't stop at what you think you can do, keep challenging yourself until you know where you can actually get to. Be brave even if there's fear everywhere.

I can tell you, at 17 years that I've lived, the worst can happen, but, there's more than the worst case scenario, you can keep going after it, dare to keep trying.

And that's all guys, I'm really thankful for this opportunity, and you'd be reading a lot more of me so I hope I planted a little seed of interest in me

KUJICAM_2018-02-27-22-28-07_developed.jpg

Last but not least, a recent photo of me being extra positive for no known reason, I know it's blurry but it's the best I have at the moment, also fun fact it's here because I didn't knew where to put it.

Sort:  

Hello welcome to steemit!! it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

Welcome!
Great to know more about you from your introduction. Would love to see more of your content Followed and Upvoted!
(Follow me back and together we can improve the community at Steemit.)

welcome to steemit @idkgibely

welcome to steemit, the most common mistake Newbies make is that they think success on this platform is just dependent on how much you post but that isn't entirely true. In Steemit, your upvote determines your rewards and as such interaction within the community will afford you the opportunity as a newbie to mingle with people especially people with huge steem power who will be able to upvote your posts and reward you well.

Nice start! Welcome to steemit world @idkgibely! Enjoy your stay and happy steeming!

Welcome to Steemit idkgibely. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! Welcome to the blockchain


Welcome to Steemit @idkgibely!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman