From Kenya To South Africa, My Story...

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello everyone! My name is Intisar Awan, I am 22 years old and currently living in Johannesburg, South Africa.

I have recently graduated from Monash University South Africa, where I pursued a Double Major Bachelors Degree in Criminology and Sociology.

I was born and grew up living in Kenya,I was raised by a single Mother who worked very hard to care for my younger sister and I, after the unfortunate passing of my Father who we lost to Lukeimia. After completing my "O" Levels at High School, I took a gap year to focus on getting into University and completed my S.A.T.s and TOEFL tests in order to apply to a University in Texas, U.S.A.. After much consideration I decided to apply to Monash SA and to my delight was accepted.

I'll never forget the excitement I had to travel and study in a new and foreign environment. I had never travelled out of Kenya before and was anxious and excited to begin a new chapter in my life. I began with a bridging course at Uni and soon after met the love of my life. We moved in together, along with his best mate and shared a cute little double story house with a lovely little garden near Uni. A year later, my Boyfriend and I had moved into our adorable little apartment 5 mins away from Uni, It had the greatest view, right at the top of the hill, you could see the tiny cars and houses for miles from our living room balcony.

After our final year at Uni, my Boyfriend and I visited my family in Kenya for a couple of weeks and took a beautiful trip to the coast. We enjoyed our holiday and returned back to South Africa for Christmas.

Earlier this year, my Boyfriend, with the help of our amazing friends proposed to me and of course I said YES!

My Fiancé and I both graduated from Uni in March 2017. He went on and started a business with his partner and best mate, while I worked briefly as a waitress in a little coffee shop (after much difficulty searching for employment, especially as a foreigner in South Africa.)

While waiting for the approval of my Visa, I have engaged myself with various activities that I enjoy, such as practicing yoga, baking sweet treats for my friends and family, as well as gardening and expanding my indoor plant collection.

I hope you enjoyed my little life story thus far and I hope to learn and make lots of friends on STEEMIT as well as contribute to the community.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @inty I have sent you a tip

Welcome to the community..Hope you like it here:)
Follow me if you like my posts:)

@rashi thank you :)

welcome to steemit, congrstulations!! nice pictures. I will be following you, I hope we support each other in this virtual world.

@yessi thank you! Yes,we should :)

Welcome to the community...looking forwards to what u have in stock for steemians.

@eurogee thank you, I am excited to post more content!

Welcome Awan, great to meet you :)
Image of dksartSteemit

@dksart thanks, I really enjoyed your post on drying and harvesting mint :)

Welcome to Steemit @inty!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

great to meet you - i am now following

@daydreams4rock thank you :)

hey your welcome and come and check out my art and music if you like

Welcome to Steemit, @inty!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot.

Sounds like you'll have some inspiring stories to tell after traveling so much! upvoted and followed, good luck!💪

@priscers Thank you, I hope to write some more on my travels :)

Hello and welcome to Steem! :-)
Followed. Follow me back 😘

@kassie-vegas hey, thank you :) will do x

Welcome to steem!! Nice to meet you. I hope you will enjoy being here in the community. Please feel free to follow me. Thanks!!!!

@deepbhhatt thank you, i will :)

Congratulations @inty! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!