#introduceyourself - Who I am and how I raised $244,994 on Kickstarter

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

What's up Steemit!? My name is Evan. Although I am not exactly sure how everything on this site works I LOVE the idea of a decentralized blog/video/audio platform. The ability to upvote (and pay) content that the viewer finds valuable is brilliant. I would go ahead and ramble on about how this is the future of content creation, but I'm sure everyone here already knows this. Moving on...

I've been watching Steemit for awhile now and decided to finally post. The commodity being exchanged on Steemit seems to be "valuable information". If one wants to receive value (in the form of Steem) from the community they must first share valuable information (in the form of content). I thought deeply about what information I could offer to the community that would help empower my fellow creative humans. Last year in October, I launched a Kickstarter to raise funds to mass produce an instrument that I created called the TheoryBoard. 

Here's a quick blurb I wrote about the TheoryBoard... As we move through time the universe is constantly reconstructing matter into novel forms. Old constructs fade into the past as new designs emerge. The TheoryBoard is the evolution of the MIDI controller. Its innovative lay out allows the user access to a new way of perceiving music, making it the ultimate hack for production and composition. Never before has a MIDI controller given this level of insight into the language of music theory. The previously complex world of scales, chords, inversions, melody, and harmony is finally packaged into an easy-to-use, simplified form. By merging color and sound the TheoryBoard provides a synesthetic experience for anyone interfacing with the product. Diatonic scales, chord groups, and the correlations between them are expressed through color giving the user a unique advantage by allowing visual reference points while playing. The TheoryBoard houses every scale known to man. When the user selects a scale they have full access to every note and every possible chord within that scale. This removes any doubt from what can, or can't be used... All the right combinations are right there at your fingertips. The TheoryBoard is for anyone interested in composing or producing music. A complete novice could pick this up and instantly level up their understanding of theory, while advanced producers could use this to derive new inspiration. 

My team and I just finished the design for the second revision of the TheoryBoard. Soon we will be shipping these worldwide. I sacrificed A LOT of time and energy into manifesting this creation. The process was WAY harder than I had anticipated, but I continue to work hard and stay focused everyday. Obviously I want this endeavor to be fruitful for my team and I, but more than anything I want to inspire people to create. I feel that the internet is empowering creativity. I never would have been able to make this happen without the information I gathered from the web. I encountered SO much negative energy from friends and family when I would explain what I was trying to accomplish. To be honest it was a bit discouraging, but I did not let them stop me. 

I raised $244,994 on Kickstarter. I screen captured the entire process and have everything in video form. I feel that this information can be valuable to the community so I am planning on releasing a bunch of videos showing how I did everything step by step. I used Facebook ads to drive backers to the campaign (I screen captured this as well). I spent around 4k total on advertising to raise almost a quarter of a million dollars. I learned a lot during the campaign and want to share it with all of you! Originally I was going to release this as a paid tutorial, but I would rather use this platform. I am not even sure if people are going to see this post, but if any of this sounds interesting to you please subscribe and resteem this post. Also, any information about how to use this platform successfully would be great!

Here is a link to the Kickstarter: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1962606435/theoryboard-music-theory-made-easy

Here are some random tracks I produced using the TheoryBoard:

Here are some famous songs being remade on the TheoryBoard:

Here a few producers that I paid to make tracks using the TheoryBoard for our Kickstarter video:

This is the Kickstarter Video which gives an in depth explanation of how everything works:

So yeah! I love all of you and hope everything is going well. Life can be so difficult sometimes it is almost unbearable. Keep pushing everyone! Keep creating! Keep innovating! This world can be saved through innovation. Your creative endeavors are important, do not stop. 

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @irijule!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman


Welcome to Steem @irijule.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

That's super cool! Good Luck! I wish you all the success!

Thank you for my first real comment! I will follow and upvote your material as well! I wish you all the success too!

Was I your first? Wow that’s historic! I will keep an eye on you to see how you progress!

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.geeky-gadgets.com/music-theory-made-easy-with-theoryboard-30-10-2017/

steemitComment.png
We are excited to see you join us here! Steemit is a remarkable platform that is built to reward users for creating quality content. Its a logic called proof of brain.

As for TechChat, think of us as DJs that create tech content instead of music. We create content by looking for the most shocking, interesting, and exciting breakthroughs in the tech space. Basically - we do all the research so you dont have to.

We hope to hear your opinion on TechChat’s content! We always love to hear from our community.

Happy Steeming 🚀

Welcome here in Steemit @irijule!

Welcome to steemit @irijule!
I gave you an upvote value of $0.02!
Please have fun and enjoy your stay with us!

First of all welcome to Steemit! 😃
Second of all, you are the first newbie that I see here that makes such a great Intro!
And last but not least, What a great project you and you're team are doing!

Certainly I will follow your future work here! Hope you can share more with us!

Cheers!

Good news for you i'll share every week post reward with my post blog reader, for receieving fast upvote reward., fallow upovte and write comment on post,, these three step will give you best weekly reward instant to your sbd wallet from @yousafharoonkhan and welcome to steemit enjoy ..
https://steemit.com/follower/@yousafharoonkhan/today-i-have-decided-i-will-send-and-share-some-sbd-to-all-my-upvoter-commentor-fallower-who-will-upvote-read-my-post-i-will

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and you are cool.

I want to begin by pointing something out:

F IS GREEEEEN!! I knew it!

I am honestly amazed at how you managed to pull it off. Feels amazing to bring an idea into reality, doesn't it? Also, I like the concept of bringing synesthesia into a wider audience, since it helps associate and distinguish sounds - seems ergonomic, in a way I can't really describe

Your story reminds me of a saying about "no prophet being welcome in their hometown", and to be honest, I faced a lot of discouragement from close people as well. I'm glad you pulled through it in one piece, and transformed your idea into a reality.

You got my upvote & follow!

Congratulations @irijule! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @irijule! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!