My name is Jasmin 🌸 and I just resigned from my job!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit! My name is Jasmin 🌸 and I just resigned from my job.

Now, you must be thinking, who is this person and why would she make that her introduction? Well read along and I'll tell you!

WHO AM I?

As you know already, my name is Jasmin 🌸. I'm a 24 year old (almost 25 year old ⭐ ) graphic designer from New York. I've worked for amazing companies like Nylon, Refinery29, Comedy Central, and many others. I like cats, Korean barbecue, anime, street style, most music, and plenty of other things that would make this post drag for hours... 2017 has been quite the year for me. I bought an apartment, got married, and was actually diagnosed with, then beat a rare form of Leukemia (an ABSOLUTE WILD story for another post). In the past 365 days, I felt like I've lived about 20 lives and only a few have actually been what I wanted. It 's time for a change.

image1.jpg

WHAT DO I WANT?

In early December, I finally took the plunge - as many people have - into the crazy world of Cryptocurrency. With a modest Christmas bonus and enough guts to lose it all, I made a few purchases through Coinbase. In only a matter of a few weeks, I've already gained back my initial investment and made some extra profits. Then it hit me. I didn't need an average desk job to be successful. I could create my own success using the many skills I have acquired through life and with a little help from the internet. Crypto made me realize that clearly anything is possibly. It just takes some guts.

This year, I want to take risks! I'm still young damnit! So, at about 6 pm EST yesterday, I went into my bosses office and handed in my letter of resignation. With about a month left at my cozy corporate job, I hope to plan and set a direction for how I want to live 2018. I want to be a freelance graphic designer, content creator, style icon, writer, a great wife and overall a success on my own terms.


Image source

WHY STEEMIT?

After diving head first into the world of Cryptocurrency, it wasn't long before I discovered the awesomeness that is Steemit! The ability to be paid for engaging in a site at no cost to the user is absolutely REVOLUTIONARY. DON'T EVEN GET ME STARTED ON D.TUBE. I would be foolish to not engage with technology that has so much potential. If I didn't discover Steemit, I would definitely be on Wordpress, YouTube, and Twitter, trying to make a living on platforms that are way oversaturated and designed to limit my content. Above all, you can feel the camaraderie just oozing out of this platform. It LITERALLY pays to engage.


Image source

WRAP UP!

Overall, I want my Steemit to be a documentation of self-growth and discovery. By Summer 2018, I want to come back here and see how much I've changed. Hopefully, I will be a better Jasmin moving in a direction I finally want to be in. So here's to resigning from my job and an exciting 2018.

If you wanna see more from me, please follow me around the internets.

jasminvalcourt.com
instagram

I will also be looking for freelance work by the end of February, so don't hesitate to send an email to [email protected].

THANK YOU!

Sort:  

Good for you for taking on some extra risk while you're still young. Working is fine, but sometimes you need some time off to gain perspective. Hoping you all the best...

That's the plan! I haven't taken more than a month off work since I was 19. 😖 Thank you so much!

Hey Jasmin, congratulations on being free and pursuing your ambitions in life! Steemit is definitely a great platform to grow a presence on at the moment... the likes of YouTube etc. as you say are waaaayy oversaturated, it makes it rather intimidated for people starting out. Let's hope 2018 is a good one.

As you are interested in cryptocurrency, my blog is going to do an overview series of the top 100 coins and it'd be great if you could give me a follow... I've just released my third post on BAT but I've got many more to come!

Hope you have a nice day :)

@nathan290595

Thanks Nathan! Will definitely follow. I’m def interested in what your thoughts are on NEO and WTC when that list comes around!

Ahhh thanks, I'll try and get round to doing them sooner rather than later! I've actually not invested into either as of now but I've heard great things about NEO. I'll have to do some research and get round to doing them sometime. :)

very nice post, keep it up. make sure to check my art page too. artists need to come together on this platform to make a very big impact.

Thanks so much for the comment! You are so right! I’m hoping to collab with a few artists on here in the future. Let’s help each other get where we wanna go! 👌🏽 @tokoya

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Such useful information!! Thank you!

Thank You Friend nice To Meet You
@jasminvalcourt.
the Best And amazing.
Nice To Meet You All #steemians
My Name @wanpelor I Am Coming From Aceh Sumatra.
I Say Welcome And Happy To You Here

steemit or eSteem.
Vote @good-karma As Our Witness.
Do not Forget Follow Me Also @wanpelor

@wanpelor Thanks! Nice to meet you as well!

Wow, it only steemit that can make someone to make this awesome decision of taking life in his hand without allowing people to decide for them. Welcome to limitless opportunity. Steemit rock and you need to also rock in that direction.

@kellywise thank you! I know the possibility in Steemit, crypto, and the digital world is wild. I had to just take a chance.

Glad to have you here. Can’t wait to know more about your journey. Keep kickin’ ass!

@kafkanarchy84 Glad to be here! I didn't even know you resteemed my post!!! Thank you so much!

Welcome to @steemit Jasmin! 🌸 , hope you enjoy it here :)
I am also (beginner) graphic designer from Thailand.

Thank you!!! Oh awesome! I look forward to seeing your future graphic design work on here. Us designers gotta stick together’!!

Thank you Jasmin :), at the moment got lots of free time as my work is freelance.
And I have just started to be a beginner, already check out your work.
They are great!!! And yes we need to stick together!!! 😁

Congratulations @jasminvalcourt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for sharing this post with us,
I enjoy reading it and I hope to stay enthusiastic for all you upload.
I invite you to follow my blog and support us.
regards!
Imagen2.jpg

Hey Jasmin! Welcome to Steemit.
That was a nice introduction post. See you around :)

Thanks @wandereronwheels! Also dig your videos. I have friends who are go-pro motorcycle enthusiasts. I'll be sure to share your page with them!

Welcome Jasmine and thanks for sharing your excellent post. I am eager to hear more about story of how you beat Leukemia and, of course, see more of your artistic creations. All the best!

@jampresents thank you so much! Definitely in the next few days or week I’ll have more stories to tell. :)

I hope you do well on your new journey.

Will you be posting often?

@mikefromtheuk Thank you so much! The goal right now is once a day! I'm not so sure if that's often in steemit terms but often enough. ahah.

Good for you. Altough the first advice I have for Steemians is, "keep your dayjob", I still admire your risk taking. Good luck. Following.

@orenshani7 Thank you! I know I definitely took quite a risk but it's now or never! And it feels better getting support from those like yourself in the steemit community. This platform rocks!

This is a bold step you're taking. Hope you made proper research before taking such bold step.

I love the fact that you believe in yourself. Let's talk on Steemit chat

@samstickkz Thank you! I did do a lot of research but I'm definitely someone who learns better on the job. Let's hope I land on my feet! Oh and thanks for bringing Steemit Chat to my attention. Don't believe I have an account yet, but we should def connect!

OK then, create one

@samstickkz will do! Let me know your user name. Same as steemit?

@jerrybanfield had a freelancing website that is built on Steem too

Awesome! I'll check him out!

I wish you the best of luck. I too hope to make this jump one day, but with a wife and kids I will need a little bit more of a foundation built beneath my feet before I feel comfortable making it. Props at making a leap and I really like watching that show with my wife.

@gniksivart Thank you so much! We are all on our own paths. I have complete faith that you'll be able to take the same leap sooner than you think!

@jasminvalcourt
Congrats now you are free!!!
May your time here on Steemit be fruitful.

@friendly-fenix Thanks!! I know. It feels like a huge weight off my shoulders. :)

It's nice to be free! How do you like Steemit so far @jasminvalcourt?

Loving it so far! Everyone here is so friendly. I feel if I stick with it, I’ll learn a lot about myself. There is no community like this.

Yeah, it a pretty exiting community, I'm proud to be a part of this number!
=)