Hello From Michigan! Designer and Maker

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! I've been poking around Steemit for the last month or so after hearing about it from my brother. I've finally decided to jump in!

My name is Justin. I live in Michigan with my tiny family. I'm a graduate from KCAD in Grand Rapids and have been working as an Industrial Designer for the last few years.

IMG_4510.jpeg

Design!

I love what I do and I'm excited to share. I am someone who is constantly tinkering, making, sketching, and building. I want to share this passion with the steemit community and hopefully run into some like minded people along the way. I want to use this blog as a place to share my process and talk about whats going on in the world of Industrial Design. I'm also hoping to create DIY Instructions and open source designs that everyone on steemit can benefit from.

Here are some images of varius projects I've worked on over the last few years. As you can see Furniture City (Grand Rapids) has really rubbed off on me.

IMG_4503.JPG
Flat Pack Coffee Table

IMG_5140IMG_5140.JPG
Photo Credit @jrue

IMG_4633.jpg
Getting the joinery just right

IMG_4506.JPG
Conceptual outdoor seating

IMG_4509.JPG
Chaco Mountain Sneaker Concept

IMG_4508.jpeg
Watch/GPS Sketch and Render

17-0086327-3.jpg
Steelcase Space Division

Steelcase-Brodyd.jpg
Steelcase Brody focus pod - CMF

Portfolio+Spring+2015+7_Page_36.jpg
Minimal Desk

Let me know if you want to know more about anything posted above.
If you if you know of others in the design community here I would love to get connected.
I'm looking forward to getting to know you all!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, cool designs!

Awesome designs :) A process from idea to product would make up for a great post I think!

Thanks @welcoming ! Yeah I was thinking about making that my first in depth post.

Great start, welcome to steemit and I love those photos posted above it caught my attention. =)

Welcome, awesome design style.

Loading...

Awesome designs. Welcome to steemit, looking forward to seeing your posts!

Thanks @neoromancylife looking forwards to yours as well

Hey, welcome to Steemit! Great designs! I spent 20 years as a theatrical scenery designer and furniture maker. I just started a great FREE program to help plankton get started! https://steemit.com/minnowsunite/@markrmorrisjr/hey-minnows-free-promotion-to-2500-fans-plus-a-chance-to-win-free-usdsbd-and-so-much-more @markrmorrisjr

Thanks @markrmorrisjr! Just peeked at your blog. Looks great. Your program looks great too.

Cool, well, I look forward to seeing you around.

Welcome!
Beitzel’s are taking over.

Thats right!

Hello! I really enjoyed your post and thank you for sharing. Reminds me of Scandinavian designs! Haha! If you have time, please take a look at my new Steemit post. I hope you like it too!
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@shaunven/a-cryptocurrency-guide-simplified-crypto-outpost
Just know that I always follow back!

Thanks @Shaunven Yes, my designs definitely were inspired by the greats. I have a love for Scandinavian design. I took a look at your blog. Looks great!

Hay I know that guy! Sweet, good to see you on here sir.

Hey! I know you too! Hope you have been doing well!

I have! Just a few lakes away from you in Minnesota.

Hello, Jay, and Welcome to Steemit.

Interesting intro. It seems like you have plenty to offer to the Steemit community, and hopefully you will find many benefits for yourself also.

Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

p.s. It was your reference to "Michigan" that made me click on your intro. Then I saw you're from GR. I graduated from Calvin a few decades ago.

Thanks @majes.tytyty! Yeah it seems like half the people I meet here in GR went to Calvin. Sounds like a great place!

Let's just say it was an "OK" place. ☺

Here's 2 more points re making your posts attractive. ...

Use the “EDITOR” function to make your posts more attractive / readable. To do so, before inserting any text or pasting any image into your “POST” box, you must click on “EDITOR” at top-right corner to activate it. (Later, you can switch to “MARKDOWN / HTML.”)

And below is a link to a recent post of mine, outlining the steps to “Enlarge Photos or Images” on Steemit.
https://steemit.com/photography/@majes.tytyty/how-to-click-to-enlarge-photo-or-create-a-click-for-full-screen-link-in-12-clear-and-easy-steps

Awesome blog by the way. Just followed you.

Thanks. Looking forward to some great posts by you, too.

Welcome from a fellow Michigander. Great designs, best of luck!

Nice man! Welcome. You got some awesome looking stuff! I'm excited to see what all you do

Oh hey! Thanks friend. I'm actually thinking this might help push me to document my projects better and hopefully be a little more prolific. PS your stuff is hot.

That all looks great and we are looking for steemians like you.
We have started a woodworking community here on steemit and would welcome you. We have a discord channel, link here: Woodworking on Steem Discord Channel And a weekly woodworking post competition ,
you can read the post here

Thanks

The Ability to Create is amazing . i myself love it .

Great to see you here, and get more visuals on the work you’re doing. I really like the flat pack coffee table and the minimal desk. Nice clean lines.

Thanks for the kind words Juan!

hey so nice I really like your post! Thanks for it! I actually wrote my 2nd part of my introduceyouself and I write about that I went to jail because of cryptos... lets make steemit together to a better place with our content! I would like to read a bit more about you and maybe do you have some more pictures? Maybe you upvote me and follow me swell as I do? https://steemit.com/counterfeit/@mykarma/2-jail-review-counterfeit-euro-speeeeending-time

Welcome to steemit,
Hopefully you will be successful with this platform and don’t forget follow & Upvote @ona09

welcome to steemit comunity i hope you enjoy here :-)

Welcome to Steemit from Missouri! Neat looking stuff you create and the pics are awesome. I hope you enjoy your time here and be sure to check out DTube and Dsound as well. These are the video and audio platforms that are based on the Steem Blockchain and are great additions to your Steemit world. As well, I hope you will look over some of my content and consider following along! Kindest regards.

Thanks @captainbob I'll take a look

Welcome to this beautiful community ..
I invite you to visit my blog.

Thanks @yaiven looking forward to getting to know everyone

Congratulations @jaybeitz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Awesome designs, nice to e-meet you!

Hi Jay! I am also in the Grand Rapids area! I am currently creating a new cryptocurrency device. Let me know if you ever want to meet up and connect. Follow me @Bitzerk!

Hey @bitzerk . Just looked at your post. Sounds like an awesome idea. Can’t wait to hear more. Yeah we should meet up for coffee or a drink sometime. I’m definitely up for it.

Nice to meet you! Welcome to steemit : ) Love the presentation of your work here.

Nice to meet you! Excited to see you on the Steemit platform and can't wait to see what you post about. My blog is about design, art, architecture etc so you may find it interesting too :D

Ah cool! Glad to see you here!

Congratulations @jaybeitz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jaybeitz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!