The Millisecond Monologue Before Posting

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

The second word of the main title is click bait, or is it not?

It is natural for people to be most interested in themselves. Before I click on a post I ask myself, at least on a subconscious level, what am I gaining here, how does this affect me?

I think that people have seen it all, read it all kinds of personalities, so how would I make a significant impact is what I asked myself. The answer is to not stress out that much and just write what comes to my mind.

Is this introduction worth your time?

What would I like to read? I assume it is what others like to read, too.
Something that I can relate to, something that is written candidly, something that might be a solution to a problem.

  • If books didn't lie to me, then I know from a fact that what seems to be most personal is actually most universal. This is why I decided to write this introduction as a monologue: It's so that people can relate to the thought process in this introduction.
  • Any monologue is candid if it is not made up.
  • Finally a solution... There won't be a solution because no problem is addressed. But let me make up one for the sake of this post: What to write in your introduction that people would like to read?

This last question... it reminds me of people who teach how to be successful by doing x, y, z, while they for themselves have become successful from teaching how to become successful, and not by doing x, y, z.

This is the maximum amount of negative talk I'm comfortable with. More than that would be hating. That one example is only a fraction of people who fake it until they make it, which is a legitimate way to get around. <3

The actual introduction

Now that I feel I warmed up, here is something about me:
I'm years old, I like to do stuff, except for working for a living, and...

This wouldn't get you far in dating.

One more try, this time with more specific information:

I'm 26 years old, male, living in Germany, I studied Nanotechnology, and ...

This is what you would call identifying yourself with what you have achieved, but not with what you really are, or drawing an ego from the things one owns, or from the titles that are given to people who achieve something in the view of society. This not not interesting, not personal, and doesn't tell a story at all.

One more try, this time more humble but also more personal:

I'm Jay, I like to work out, it helps me to connect with my inner self, and it clears my mind from self-destructive thoughts, so I become more receptive to new thoughts that enable me to widen my horizon and allow to have a shift in paradigms.

I love to eat healthy because I believe strongly it will have an enormous positive effect in the long run, just like cryptocurrency, so I HODL on to that.

I try to make that best out of the day, learning just a bit more every single day, or becoming better at any aspect of my life that I value, so it adds up and makes me a person of higher quality. My performance might be fluctuating, but altogether it is continuously going up.

I also enjoy(ed) watching or playing video games, and reading manga. My interests shifted, so I cannot afford to go all in in that activity anymore. I think these hobbies are undervalued and have a social stigma on them. But some video games have the most epic music, and a manga can have the most epic adventure or story, it's like what a romance is for women. It helps eliciting emotions which are fuel to productivity and hard work, or hard training.

Lately I started honestly appreciating the things that I usually take for granted and just being in the present moment.

It has been an awesome ride since I found out about personal development, which is the type of content I plan to share in the future. And I don't want to be a copycat, which is why I try to look for points that has not been addressed deep enough. I also go through some trial and error, so people can save real life time by reading some of it.

That's it for this topic. I'm new to steemit, and I see the great potential it has. I really like where this can go. I'm convinced it will have a huge impact on social media.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jayvogler! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi, @Jayvogler, In case this has been your first Introdusemyself Post i'm here to welcome you to Steemit. I hope you have a lot of fun here and you may follow me. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good days and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :)

Welcome to Steem @jayvogler I have upvoted and sent you a tip

You can never solve a problem on the level on which it was created.

- Albert Einstein

Thx guys for the warm welcome, really appreciate it.

I think we are a part of something truly special here, and I welcome you! Another early adopter to this amazing technology.

I was wondering if I'm really an early adopter, I hope so. It really is amazing being on the front lines of a new technology.