Introducing myself - Complete newbie to Hive and Blockchain

in #introduceyourself4 years ago (edited)

Hi there everyone, this is my first day on Hive!

My name is Jonathan Cousins and I am a 42 years old and live in County Armagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom. I am married for 13 years with three children.

IMG_5686.JPG

Work and Education

I graduated from Ulster University in 2000 with a BEng(Hons) Manufacturing Systems Management. Since then I have worked in telecoms, heavy plant and the pharmaceutical industry, across and range of project management and engineering roles.

You can check out my full LinkedIn profile here

Blockchain History

I have absolutely zero blockchain experience. It took me ages this morning to work out how to actually sign up and get started on Hive.

A bit thanks to @asgarth for all his help in getting me started. Without his help, I wouldn't have even been able to post this introduction!

Reason for joining Hive

In my spare time I love to write about tech and productivity. I have been looking for somewhere that I can begin writing with an emerging community and audience. I found Hive by searching "emerging social platforms in 2020". Hive was the only one that seemed to be a good fit for writing and I was really excited to see that it was only a few weeks old.

Anyways, that is enough from me for now, other than just to say a big hello and ask your forgiveness early on for all the stupid questions I will ask and mistakes I will make!

@hivepeople

Sort:  

Hello,
Welcome to Hive.

In order to prevent identity theft, identity deception and content theft, we encourage users to confirm their online identity. Users with an online identity that have websites or blogs, users who are creators of art and/or are celebrities of all kinds, are asked to verify themselves. Verified users tend to receive a better reception from the community.

In order to confirm your authorship of the content, please mention word "Hive" or add a hyperlink to Hive in your Medium profile:

https://medium.com/@tomdenz

You can remove this mention from your website, once we confirm the authorship.

Thank you.

More Info: Introducing Identity/Content Verification Reporting & Lookup

This is the pen name I was writing under on Medium. @hivewatchers, can you update/remove this post please? I have added "writing on Hive" to my Medium profile, as you requested. But none of the link in your post work to allow me to verify my identity.

Welcome, you will do well here!

Welcome to #hive from me, over here in Northern Thailand. I confess to being rather a tech luddite but appreciate those who aren't all the more because of that. What we could REALLY use on the blockchain (and elsewhere) are bridging people - who make the tech and the "oh that's easy" from the nerds into something digestible and not panic material for the rest of us. 😊

You're gonna do just fine, Jonathan. Kudos to @asgarth for being a stellar Hivian and getting you started.

Shared to my twitterfeed. #POSH

Welcome jonathancousins!
Esteem is mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Download Android: https://android.esteem.app, iOS: https://ios.esteem.app, desktop: https://desktop.esteem.app apps that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as ESTM token.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Jonathan welcome to hive hope you were safe from this pandemic situation that atack our world.
stay safe.

Hi @galberto, thank you so much for your comments and kind welcome!

Welcome aboard!

I saw your post while searching through the #introduceyourself tag.

@asgarth is pretty helpful!

I wrote a Hive Survival Guide if you need a resource to help you navigate the Hive blockchain!

Cheers and Happy Hiving!