Hello People of Steemit! My name is Kim and I need a haircut!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180217_182433_218.jpg

Hello People of Steemit! My name is Kim and I need a haircut! I'm brand new to Steemit. I read quite a lot about it before I joined and the concept appealed to me in so many ways I had no choice but to jump in. Sounds like the perfect democracy to me (or as close as it gets). We'll see. I've seen some great content here and a wonderful community spirit. Hopefully I can contribute in a meaningful way.

A bit about me: I play music and do other stuff. Just like you - I've spent enough time doing one thing that I've become pretty good at it, but I'm also interested in lots of other stuff! So yeah I earn a modest living as a musician, and I love it, but that doesn't define me - as I don't JUST live and breathe music. I have opinions about many other things. Too many in fact. You'll be hearing some of them soon!

Some of my other interests include kitesurfing, art, photography, technology, travel and environmental advocacy. Steemit looks like a place where I can read, chat, learn and write about a wide range of topics so I'm really looking forward to getting stuck in - however music will still probably be my main topic of discussion. I blog a bit from my website here http://www.kimwainwright.com and I'm on all the usual social media sites - mainly to update those people who are interested in my music career.

I recorded my first album recently. It was a really BIG deal for me as it was a once in a lifetime project. Many years of hard work and VERY expensive! The best of 3 decades to write, 3 years to record, 3 days to upload - and gone in 3 seconds on someones social media feed! That's the way of the world. You don't make an album to make money. You make one to lose money! I wouldn't change it for the world though. Go ahead and take a listen. You might even like it! http://smarturl.it/KWRetrospect

A bit more about me: I don't actually live anywhere! Some people say I'm living the dream - free as a bird, nomadic lifestyle, playing music, no day job etc. Well it's pretty close but there's actually no such thing as freedom. We're all searching for it but sorry folks - it doesn't exist (I can feel another blog coming on.)

For the past three years my wife and I have been house sitting at various locations around Perth Australia. It should actually be called 'pet sitting' because that's what it's really about - looking after pets in their own home while the owners go on holiday. When we don't have a roof over our head we hook up the caravan and drive out to to a nice beach that's within reach of my gigs. In fact that's where I am right now!

House sitting is surely one of the best ideas my wife has ever had - and she's had many great ideas. We don't have kids so it's not so complicated for us to live like this. We've been intentionally 'homeless' now for almost seven years, either traveling around Australia in a camper trailer, house sitting or living in our caravan - and we love it! We upgraded from a camper to a small caravan a few years ago for a bit more comfort when the weather's bad.

I have a lot more to say and I could go on all day but this is just an intro blog so I'll keep it short and on topic, rather than risk boring you to sleep on my first blog. There's plenty of time to dig a bit deeper or go off on another tangent in another blog or three. Follow me for more exiting adventures coming soon and let me know about your world on Steemit. I should really go and get a haircut. Maybe I can pay in Steem. Is this possible? What do you think?

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Hi welcome to srteemit @kimwainwright you should get a new haircut now. lol
Anyway kidding aside I wish you all the best and more power to you and more blogs to publish. =)

Thank you @purepinay. I'll see how the 'haircut' vs 'no haircut' votes stack up at the end of the day and get one or not!

Hello welcome to steemit ☺️ it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community

Hello! I just got a hair cut yesterday

Did you keep the beard?

Welcome Kim. Are you sure you want to cut your hair? They're cool to me :)

I'll procrastinate a bit longer, however if I can pay in Steem I think I'll go for it.

Just listening to "Fools World", groovy tune, really good-sounding! People should definitely check it out.

Oh, uhm... yes, get a hair cut :p

Thanks so much for listening!

Hi Kim how are you? Really nice intro, i love it ! I’m a new steemit user as well and would like to connect with other cool steemians, artists and musicians. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. I'm really pleased to meet you. So i give you my vote, follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Greetings from Paris. Peace.

Thank you! I'll be checking out your music site. Maybe I can learn something new! Also following and looking forward to your posts.

Really glad to connect with you. I look forward to reading your next posts and help you to achieve your steemit goals. Peace. CS (Lio)

welcome to steemit comunity i hope you enjoy here :-)

Thanks! I'm enjoying it so far!

Nice post!
Welcome to steemit! i hope you enjoy it as i do!
I followed and upvoted you :)
Hope you like my posts too, im also pretty new here.
I just found this post that you may find useful :
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@monchox/tips-for-newbies-do-not-forget-them-if-you-want-to-win

Yes this post looks really useful thank you.

You have my vote my friend :) keep posting cool posts about yourself. Peace. CS

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and cool.

@kimwainwright,

This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Curators!

Please Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency!

Welcome to the Steemit Community @kimwainwright! I hope you enjoy sharing your original content here!

Please reply to this comment, and I will share your introduction post with the @OCD curator team!

Thank you @ma1neevent share away! I'm following and reading all about @ocd right now.

welcome to steemit comunity i hope you enjoy here :-)

Wow, i'm so impress with your life story. Life is full of choices.. We made them every second. Like to hear another from you. Thanks for sharing.

Feel welcomed to Steemit! I really liked your introduction post and I am very excited to read what you will publish next ;) I will also share my experiences and adventures and view on the world as well, so you have my follow!

Thanks @carinalopes I've followed you and looking forward to reading your posts!