Hi there! My name is Austin Makowski I'm a chef.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

I will be posting recipes, and cooking tips and tricks. I have worked in the restaurant industry for about 15 years now, I have dabbled in many other things as well including: special effects costume design, computer programming, construction. I always seem to find myself back in the kitchen, the great food, the atmosphere, crazy co workers, free shift drinks, late night parties, and the insane amount of pressure to perform at an accelrated level night after night. Addicted to it all? Maybe? Am I one of those crazy co workers? Definitely

I've recently started to get into the molecular gastronomy side of things food wise, so we'll see where that goes.



Frog legs, Balsamic Pearls, Sundried Tomato & Parmesan essence with arugula salad

Pistachio crusted Veal loin with roasted root vegetables, red wine & Chocolate Demi glace


Thank you to @charlieshrem for introducing me to steem!



Sort:  

[] Hello @krispysix
Looking forward to be following you. Very nice photos. I want to eat it now. I have worked in the restaurant industry for 20 years. I have dabbled in many other things as well. Now I will do Steemit full time. Never done anything as fun as this. Good luck to you and bring us your fantastic recipes, cooking tips and tricks.
Regards
The Viking from Norway
PS. Have I seen you on TV or are you a look alike?

Haha no I have not been on tv, at least not knowingly

Welcome Austin! So glad you joined!

As far as verification goes, I can verify this is indeed Austins account.

And what is your favorit dish from him? :o)

I hope one day we can join you in the table!

up voted @krispysix But you would do yourself much better if you #verified and did an #introduceyourself with a "steemit written with date" pic.

Yea sorry about that, it was my first post I'm still exploring the site and all its features

That's some delicious looking creations you have there. Hope to see lots more.

Welcome to Steemit. The frog legs look delish.

Thank you! I made the balsamic vinegar into little spheres to mimic the look of frog eggs

Is that what that is!? How did you get it to congeal? Impressive and very creative.

So you take agar agar which is basically vegan gelatin: a seaweed derivative and mix whatever liquid you want to do this to, with it. Then you bring it too a boil just like you would when your making jello, except while your doing this you have oil in a tall glass preferably, chilled in your fridge. While the liquid is still hot which you want to spherify you use a dropper or a large syringe and drip the hot liquid into the cold oil and as it sinks to the bottom it spheres and gellifies

Looks awesome, chef! y, it's interesting the paths we take - my friend Chef Chris Hill recently wrote about the culinary journeys of some different chefs.

Although I'm strictly an amateur, I've loved experimenting with food as far back as I can remember!

Those look amazing. What is the thing on top of the veal? It looks like a bone or an unusually large and thing french fry.

It's basically a thin crispy strip of garlic bread, it's called a "tuile" but you can actually make them sweet or savory

I have no idea what any of those foods were. Just kidding, but they were pretty much foods I don't think I've ever had. You make food sound like sex. I want it. Loooove the photos. Did you take them? I'm on a diet, so I'm kind of mad at you. I really want to go to your restaurant now. I hope to hear a lot from you. Definitely up-voting your post, and yours is the first one I've up-voted.