Why I Quit My Job

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

My name is Ladipo Titiloye. I want to have fun on Steemit, share my words and thoughts and hey, earn some cool cash on the side. This is my story.

quit job.png

Have you been at a job that tires you out and make Mondays seem like dangerous days? I don’t mean the uneasy feeling of an ending weekend, but a blood pumping fear of returning to the office.

This is not due to having a bad boss, (though it contributes), it’s just a case of being out of place with your job. Every time you are at work, you get a particular feeling: to quit.

This was my situation for two of the three years I spent in my former workplace. I hated Mondays and wished everyday was a weekend or a public holiday. I was not a lazy person and did not have problems with my co-workers.

However, the longer I stayed in the job, the more I realize that I was not growing. The job did not provide a chance for me to further education, or diversify my income. I was stuck in a cold routine of 8 to 5, doing the same thing without any opportunity for innovation.

A case of clocking in with the same people, working for a while, chatting, playing office politics and finding a way to get in the good books of those that matter in the office.
I was stagnant for those two years.

I picked up the habits of going late to work, screaming at every mistake people made and complaining about my work to every colleague that was ready to listen.

Even though, at the end of every year, I would promise myself that I will quit. I never did. I was afraid of what people will say. I was afraid that I would end up regretting it. The only kind of picture I could paint where those of hunger, panic and distress, so I stayed. I suffered. I became bitter even though I did my job effectively.

Finally, I took a long needed one-month leave and everything changed. I took the chance to rethink my life purpose, and structure my plans on how to take control of my life without monthly pay. I was ready for change despite the recession that was biting hard on the country. I returned from the leave, and resigned.

What a relief!

Three things have since happened to me:

I Escaped a Potential High Blood Pressure

During those two years, I was depressed so many times. I was able to feel my heart pump so much blood with a rush of pain. I would wake up in the early hours of Monday and would not get any more sleep because I want to plan how to survive through another week.

Ever since I quit, it has stopped occurring. I feel free, healthier and ready to take on the next adventure despite its uncertainty of success.

I Have the Strength to Pursue my Dreams

I want to make films, produce television dramas, and provide content for blogs and websites and run a profitable media company. I have a plan, and I am on the journey to make it happen. Running your own business is not an easy thing but if others are doing it, then I can. Whatever it takes, I am willing to do.

I am ready to learn, to make mistakes and relearn. I can afford to fail but I won’t give up. Personal and family finances are quite unsettling but I am learning smart ways to live well with little and earn something on the side (Steemit is an option).

I have only one direction to follow: forward.

stickies-3127287_640.jpg

I See Life from a Scary but Refreshing View

It’s like getting cool breeze while standing at the edge of a skyscraper roof. Life without monthly paycheck is tough, especially for those who solely depended on it. Hunger, anger and distress, these fears that stopped me from quitting for those two years stare me in the face every morning.

But I don’t let them bring me down. I take them as challenges I must overcome to make things happens. I meet new people. I do things that I never would have done before. My creativity is energized and I can’t wait to see a new day.

Mondays are now golden. I am doing what I have always wanted to do. I am happy, healthier and ready to go. I am letting go of uncertainty.

Why kill myself with worry over what I can’t control?

I take up the tasks I must do, put up plans and follow them through, with the hope that my hard work and smart choices meet success.

The story is not over; it has just begun.

Do you struggle with the fear of uncertainty about quitting? Have you ever quit your job? Share in the comments box below.

Sort:  

What a lovely post @ladmano, I actually took that same bold step of faith in 2016. I never had any job that i set my mind on after quitting buy i so much believed and hope that things would surely be fine and I always console and strengthen myself with all is well! Seriously, for months no job was forthcoming which I later had to sit and think about what my purpose was on earth. Believe me you, I came about venturing into a building materials business and when I conducted the business survey, I realized that I'd be needing close to 2million naira for a start and I had no dime. My payoff salary had been spent when there'd been no job. I know the journey won't be a rossy one and I decided to sell my laptop. After been sold, I was left with 20,000naira and I started the business with hope that one day I'll make it big. It's said that one should never despise the days of little beginning which I actually put into practice and it worked for me. Now, I am my boss, have peace of mind and satisfied! Finally, I am not where I want to be already but 100% far from where I used to be.
We all have to take the bold step not forgetting that there's always a price to pay. I did paid my prices of faith, hope, patience, commitment, believe, hard work and so on and here I am today giving my testimony. Thanks.

This is uplifting. Thank you for the supportive words.

Totally get this. I started a website providing tips and tools to help people manage stress a work better, after having similar experiences
Welcome aboard the steem express

Thank you so much. I am ready to move with the train to success land. I feel good about this place. It;s far from cold or boring. I hope to use my content to help people.

It feels like a great community, very supportive. So many people willing to help.
I'm loving it so far.

@ladmano wish you the best of luck here

Welcome to steemit

Thank you steamy.

Hi, welcome to Steemit. If you want to learn something about Steemit, you can follow me.