My Journey From An International Model To A Licensed Therapist - Personal Development Adviser & Trainer.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Heya! After a few weeks of thinking about what to write…I camed to the idea of writing a little bit about me and how I got to be a trainer – therapist & personal development adviser after leaving the life of an international model.

13600141_642109695946064_5883738972340799742_n.jpg

21032698_1224726684300595_4671338003398382417_n.jpg

Yes, I worked as a model, from country to country, from city to city, carring in my backpack always some high heels and a lot of maps. I had to go from casting to casting, it is like going to an interview, but at least 5 / day…borring and tiring, huh? Yep, it was…but oh so beautiful, when u get in front of the cameras, the fatigue is gone suddenly, it is overwhelming how good and successful you can feel.

I have done this until I was 25 years old, because they said I was too old for modeling.

12794562_1686581624939196_7363717699479308698_n.jpg

No grudges, I have been a model since I was 11 years old, many years of work, behind and in front of the stage, so, it was DONE for me.

So, one day, the last day of my modeling contract, in an airport (do not really remember from which country it was), I passed by a small bookstore, and a white book cut my eyes. It was written “Brain lock” – Free yourself from obsessive-compulsive behavior. I said “well, at least it has photos” . I was already into psychology, but not so much to read a book that contains a lot of pages about it, and especially about neurological parts that I could not understand at that time.

27583592_946216278868736_1692959339_n.jpg

Anyway, I got the book, and got into my plane. I was too tired to read it, so in about 30 min I was sleeping. No offense, the book is great.

It passed by a couple of weeks until I got to open it again, and when I did it I was amazed. It was very good and helping information.

But the book did not convinced me at that time to follow the path of psychology.

So I started the University of Literature – English & Italian, my two favourite languages.

But after some nasty experiences at this university (teachers that wouldn`t come to class, nothing to learn, and ohhh the british novels) I said quit!

Two years of trying to make something in this life and did not worked out.

So I returned to my Brain Lock Book, and my personal brain said: you can do this, go to the university of psychology!
And yes I did it, I was so content of my newest idea that I wanted to tell to all my friends, family, to all.

But, only my parents said “go for it”, the rest of them asked me every time “what will you do with this university, what future will you have, staying in a boring office, and talking to all the mad people in the world”, or “only crazy people will go to this, because you need to resolve your own problems”.

diva_frustration_social_unsupportive_friends_2_.jpg

I was never a quitter, so I did not abondened my idea.

The first year of practicing in a mental hospital, institutes and all kind of children institutes that cared about those with special needs, I cried each day on my way back home. Everyday I looked up in the sky, hoping there was a God who can hear and feel that I am grateful to be here on Earth and having the life I had.

Well, 3 years passed so hard, the exams were terrifying, the teachers the same , but I could not give up, I knew that I have something good to give back to the world.

I started to love being a shadow of a kid with autism, that was my first real job, paid (very poor) but that did not mattered, I was doing what I dreamed about.

So, “easy” like that passed my 4 years of shadowing for kids with Autism, ADHD or Down Syndrome, in schools or kindergartens. Meanwhile, I learned how to be a therapist, ABA therapy was my first love. You can meet all kind of children, with big or small problems, the secret is to find out what they like and introduce it in your therapy, so it can be more interactive and satisfying for the kid.

23032351_1282021838571079_4623934881215666999_n.jpg

One day I said “I can do more”, so I got a new degree, of a personal development adviser for all ages.
After that, I got a new one – trainer, trainer for the ones that are student in special psychopedagogy, for mums that do not know what to do when they meet new situation with their children, for anyone who I can help to offer good and useful information.

So, this is me, now I am all these, and I am not done yet, still learning, still wanting more.

If you want to know more about me, if you think that you empathy with what I write please join me through this journey.
Iam here to offer something back to the world, I love writing articles and all my words are true and written with all my heart.
wpid-thank-you-background-with-flowers_23-2147507637.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @laviniatherapist! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hello :)
Nice to meet you!
I hope i can make global friendship with you.
I just upvote and follow you :)
If you want know about me please check this out ^^
my introduceyourself

Here...well, we`re friends now! So, welcome to my blog, saw your posts, nice, thumbs up for it! Upvote & follow you already.

Oh thank youu :) i would wait your posts !

Thanks for sharing your story! Model and therapist that sounds very impressive and it might also be the pitch for a great TV series :D

Well...long story short: maybe one day i will write a novel. Thank you for your kind words!

Great transition and transformation from model into a therapist: I've been a camp counselor for 5 years and then I taught English in Vietnam for 5 more years. I've studied psychology and can see that it can take patience to come down to the level of your students, patients, and others. But it sure does make a big difference.

Thank you Joe! Happy that I can feel your empathy. Indeed, it sure does make a big difference, once you have the knowledge to reduce stress and comforting a person, for sure can help your students only by talking.

Really interesting life story. You are inspiration for ypung generations and all people. You really aproved that the brain can be unlocked

Yes, indeed...the brain can be unlocked only if you want to and by reading what captures your attention. Thank you for the interest and upvote!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

@steemladder very useful. I spent many years as a taxi-driver where everybody unloads their troubles and some of us become pretty good practical psychologists. Practical though, usually not uni-trained, as mist of us used to work 12 hours, seven days. I did this between truck driving whenever I was in a city that I wanted to stay in for awhile. A good way to meet the locals and learn the city map areas for restuarants, clubs etc. I'm retired now, but years ago did literature at an English college. It can be difficult when studying in a time frame, but it can be very fulfilling if studying on own time. Two suggestions for good reading; first, an easy read, the legend of Merlin as authored by Mary Stewart. You will need to look it up in a library, as it began as trilogy but now, I think is four, with a prequel. Secondly, try Chaucer. He wrote the Canterbury Tales. In his ancient language of pre-elizabethan England, it is very difficult, but today one can get, split page translations, with Chaucerian on one side, and translation on the other. My favourite is The Wife of Bath, Prologue and Tale.
Do enjoy steemit, as there are some very informative blogs. I spend more time reading than writing.
Keep on keeping on. 😇

Simon, I will search for the titles. Thanks a lot! Soon I will come back with new and usefull posts about life and therapy.

If you study English, do read back along my blog posts. There you will find 100 year old Hints on grammar and other things, mainly from WW1 era, but easily relevant if one makes the effort to transpose. 👍

Welcome to the platform laviniatherapist! Explore and enjoy it :)

Thank you Lopez! Good to be here!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Nice to meet you and welcome to Steemit. You will make many friends and be sure to work to engage in the community. Check out DTube and DSound also, which are apps based on the Steem Blockchain. Kindest regards.

Thank you for the tips! Just posted from DTube! Easy to post, no hard work on doing it. Best regards!

Happy Steemiting ;)

Welcome to my blog and thank you for your interest! Best regards!

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to you too !!! 😊