Hello Steemit! This is my story

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

IMG_5742.jpg


Portuguese Version


Hello Steemit community!

I'm a Civil Engineer from Portugal who wants to give the best he has in everything he does.

The beginning

I never dreamed of going to engineering college and doing what I do now. Since childhood, I have always been stimulated for the area of literature and not for mathematical areas.

Almost without knowing how to read or write, I had the enormous opportunity to have a computer just for me, where I enjoyed drawing and playing games. As language skills improved, I amused myself writing absurd stories that I abandoned halfway. I even copied entire books to the computer for fun.

Perhaps because of my education, I always grew sensitive to the emotions and behaviors of the people around me. I shared all the feelings without externalizing them, allowing me, with better ability these days, to perceive people emotionally.

With adolescence, I learned that an arrhythmia is sometimes normal and that an emptiness is too. That sometimes the will of others may not be mine. But I realized later when I grew up, that the desire of those closest to me, is also mine.

It was certainly at this age that an enormous hunger arose in me to create something. And I guarantee it was a hunger that did not end. I also tried to mask this hunger by absorbing a lot of information, fuelled also by a gigantic curiosity. And then came a book that changed my life.

The pillars of what I am today

They offered me the book Cosmos of Carl Sagan. I can say that I was until dawn reading it. I was amazed. At that tender age, I had never had so much information in such a captivating way. I packed all this information into a fixed, unchanging location in my brain so it would not disappear. Even today it remains and I can say that I remain an avid consumer of scientific books.

I confess that after the Cosmos, my thinking changed. I began to realize the beauty of mathematics, the solemnity of how to arrive at a solution, the anxiety and the addiction of reaching a final result.

I also discovered math in music. I remember hearing a guitar solo of B. B. King and saying: I want to do that. The blues reverberated loudly inside me. As might be expected, I devoted myself almost furiously in learning to play the guitar, further fuelling the hunger of creation. Eleven years later, the guitar is still a companion.

In college, I made great friendships and strengthened others. But most of all, engineering training has shaped me to be more pragmatic in solving problems. Civil engineering has come up, guess what, for the taste of creating something and making ideas real, from thinking, calculating, designing, drawing and building it. Create something bigger than us and without collapsing, survive to actions: from the smallest and most variable to the largest and inevitable. It's poetic.

This mixture of events and decisions shaped me and built the individual I am today.

Vision

I have a technological vision of the world. I believe that with innovation the world can be fairer, balanced and developed, and the creation of value should be developed in this direction.

I can guarantee that from my part, the hunger to create something is still alive. This hunger is real every day and always takes me with it. I do not pretend to be a relentless warrior because even warriors get tired if they do not feel comfortable. I think it is necessary to have someone with us, in order to feel at ease and rest from this life.

So, I do not feel special or "one in a million". I have a strong conviction that who does not leave a footprint, it serves no purpose.

I do not intend to change the world. I intend to change a part of it. A truly tangible and fair part that prompts others to change a part too, and then, rising to the shoulders of each other, change the world.

Steemit comes up in this sense. Together and in a community, change the world.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Hello @davidfumo

Welcome to the steemit family and that's a great introduction post to begin your journey here.

I’m a 19 year old steemit blogger doing quite well on this platform and writing almost daily here for over 3 months.

I have learnt a lot and make connections with many great people ever since joining steemit.

I recently begin going through #introduceyourself tag looking for new steemians with great introduction post and promising steemit career to inspire and help in order to follow the right path (please don’t mind my age, it’s just figures)

As a minnow, focus more on interacting and engaging with other steemians because this is the easiest way to grow. When you have acquired enough steem power, you can then focus on curating to earn curation reward.

One great advice for you: “there’s one thing most new steemians like to do that steemit whales and dolphins hate to see and that’s begging for followers and upvotes” I see that you didn’t follow this route and that’s a good one for you.

For some reasons this strategy doesn't really work on steemit and it’s the easiest way to piss of most whales and dolphins that could help you.

Steemit is a gift economy and naturally you get back what you gift to others. If you read, upvote and drop a nice/insightful comment on other people's posts, they do same to you without you requesting.

I have a 2 month old article I wrote explaining the best strategy for growth on steemit.

https://steemit.com/universityofgreatness/@bania/ep-6-university-of-greatness-how-to-become-great-on-steemit-without-pissing-off-a-whale-how-to-become-a-whale-without-pissing

Thank you very much