"Re-"Introducing Myself


Gif Source

First and foremost, I would like to wish everyone a Happy New Year!! May the new year be blessed with more love, joy, kindness, peacefulness, growth and success in every aspect of one's life!

FFOTS_resized.jpg
Picture Source


INTRODUCTION



2013-08-30-watermark-06.jpg
Picture Source

When I first started writing in Steemit I did not know that there is actually an #introducemyself / #introduceyourself tag until after getting myself around a bit with the help of @zord189 & @sam.hsuu and since then I've been pondering if I should write a post with #introducemyself as the main tag since posts like these are usually written from the start so as to allow other fellow Steemians to get to know the newbie better and also to anticipate what kind of posts said newbie would be focusing on in the future (tho I'm no pro myself in any way...yet).

But then again when I first joined Steemit, it was already the end of the year (October to be exact...), and thus I decided to "re-"introduce myself to my dear followers, would-be-followers and anyone interested to know me better as my "FIRST" post to kick-start the year 2018.

material-menu-ceasarestone-tom-mannion-1.jpg
Picture Source

First and foremost, I suppose I should start by explaining why "@macam.yes" in case anyone is curious?? Well, the main reason was because I did not know what ID should I put when registering an account with Steemit. The second reason was because while waiting to receive an approval e-mail after registering (it took me two weeks to receive that approval e-mail and I actually did thought of giving up before, lol.) , I tried to read some of the contents in Steemit recommended by @zord189 and I almost wanted to ask @sam.hsuu if Steemit was really meant for anyone and everyone because of how good the quality of the contents were, and after getting assurance from both of them, I thought I wanted to try to write as good as the blogs that I read but deep down I know I can never be that good, and so I took the name from a local verse "macam yes tapi bukan" meaning it looks like a yes, but it is actually a no, and in a more simpler term, a wannabe , lol. (I got to know about Steemit through @sam.hsuu and @zord189 btw...)

Anyways...



gastronomia-moleculara-stiinta-din-farfurie-5948f2a8662ec.jpg
Picture Source

My name starts with a M as well and I am currently in my late 20s (no, in fact I am surprisingly quite cool with the thought of getting older since it is not something that I can control...) I am from a bilingual family and I speak both Mandarin and English on a daily basis tho not grammatically accurate. I took up a Diploma course in Culinary Arts after I graduated from Secondary School and interestingly I do not have any seniors in the Hospitality School I attended because I am the senior. I guess I would say one of the downside of being the pioneering batch of a new school is that we really were being treated like a bunch of tests subjects, lol. I actually missed out on a lot of subjects and courses such as the knowledge and skills of Molecular Gastronomy and Food Carving because during my course of study, the school haven't got the license and lecturer chefs who have the knowledge and skills to teach these courses. The best part? I get to have the whole kitchen to myself without any need to share because the entire batch for Diploma in Culinary Arts consists of only... ... 5 students (including myself) . And by the end of my course, I was told I couldn't take extra subjects because my class have exceeded our required credit hours, lol.

One of the small achievement I made during my course of studies was my partner and I managed to win a Salmon cooking competition and the winning prize was a round trip to the World's Fair Expo 2010 held in Shanghai, China along with some cash money.

24791_109566772388623_6899456_n.jpg

Picture Source comes from my personal facebook

We have to create two dishes infusing salmon with local cuisine.

24791_109566775721956_570877_n.jpg

Picture Source comes from my personal facebook



24791_109567272388573_7917024_n.jpg

Picture Source comes from my personal facebook

This is the other dish we created with the help of our lecturer.

24791_109567275721906_5063031_n.jpg

Picture Source comes from my personal facebook



27011_1416611381680_3197465_n.jpg

Picture Source comes from my personal facebook

We were even featured in a local newspaper after the win!

cuisine & wine 2010 megazine.jpg

Picture Source comes from my personal facebook

This is a dish my partner and I created for Cuisine & Wine Magazine 2010 issue. The theme given was pink so we used grapefruit and the colour of the sauce was made from beetroot. (It is a Singapore-based Magazine)

0860cfae63b22f441995101f602e9bbf.png
Picture Source

After I started working , I tried to work in as many departments besides the kitchen department to gain as much knowledge and skills as I can and one of it was the floor operations department. I was working as an assistant manager for a restaurant when it was chosen as a finalist by the organisers of HoReCa School of Excellence (HSE in short) and was invited to join a competition where the restaurant will send a team of managers, floor staffs and bartenders to pit against another team from a different restaurant under the same category. The competition consists of a few challenges that requires teamwork from the managers to the floor staffs to the bartenders (kitchen was not included). I was sent by the company I was working for to represent the floor operations and we managed to win one of the grand prize for the night and also one of our bartender managed to get 3rd place for his drink even though his drink was totally out of topic! (shows how good he was that the judges have to at least let him get 3rd place, lol.)

15726364_706739689474134_8075471851406930741_n.jpg

Picture Source comes from my personal facebook

The team and I

tumblr_nulctbXk1t1sp1sjfo1_1280.jpg
Picture Source

After I left that company (in good terms,lol) , I wanted to take up a new skill and as I had always loved make-up since young, I decided to take up a professional make-up course. Interestingly yet again, the reason why I signed up at the academy that I am still currently attending as a part-time student was because of a friend's recommendation and also because it is very near to where I stay. But after starting my professional make-up course, I found out that this academy was actually liaising with one of the channels in Astro and that it does a lot of make-up for cat-walk projects, studio photoshoot projects, music video projects etc. etc. What was even more amazing was that my make-up teacher was and still is a personal make-up artist for a few local and international celebrities (Recently she went to do a bridal make-up for a private wedding where famous Korean boyband BigBang's Taeyang attended and performed with his fiancée)! Why am I saying all this? well, it's because the students themselves get to participate and experience these projects too!

I was fortunate to be able to participate in at least two major projects.

800x0_BTG_final_2016_1_main.JPG
Picture Source

One of the projects I participated in, the Astro Battleground 2016

13392904_1717679678485839_1703636347_n.jpg

Picture Source comes from my personal Instagram

With one of the contestant I did the make-up on.

12935088_206556236393694_1549005644_n(1).jpg

Picture Source comes from my personal Instagram

Behind the scene of the popular TV show.

03f39ae9065e4748a4c789d1973717d8_img_skin_line_head_swl.png
Picture Source

Another major project I participated. We were supposed to do a natural make-up look for the models but I did not managed to take any pictures because, I kind of was in a rush that day.

IMG20161014010644.jpg
I tried to do a Halloween look on myself taking references from the internet.


OTHER THAN THAT



colours.jpg
Picture Source

Currently I am back to the kitchen life and my make-up course is still on-going. Besides cooking and make-up, I also enjoy reading (mostly fiction) , writing and colouring tho i definitely can't colour as good as @coloringiship, lol. My other hobbies would include reading manga and now- STEEMIT even though I am not as committed as most.

I hope my post managed to give an idea on what my blog mainly focuses on and what kind of content to anticipate in the future. do drop a comment below if there is any question you would like to ask me about!


LAST BUT NOT LEAST



IMG20171128132921.jpg

I HOPE THIS HAS BEEN AN ENJOYABLE AND ENTERTAINING READ! THANKS FOR DROPPING BY!!


IMG20171105163200.jpg

If you are interested, these are a few of the posts I've previously written:

The #steemit-ironchef 2017 challenge
All About Kitchen
All About Make Up
Sort:  

Thank you @macam.yes. You gave me courage to re-introduce myself too. Your content is super impressive, to be honest! Looking forward to read more and I have followed you!

Thank you for the compliment and also for dropping by, i've followed and upvoted you too!! :D

Wishing you a Happy New Year!!! XOXO

thank you! Happy New Year and I look forward to read more from you :)

I will be looking forward to tour posts too!! :D

hi buddy, we are all steemit community ,, we hope this year could be better than before. congratulations reactivation good regards for useful steemit ...?

Im sorry, i don't quite get your question. Do you mind to explain to me a little more?

Happy new year🌷

Happy New Year to you too!! :D

You @macam.yes but to me, reading this, I personally think you are @veryyes wo. Enjoy reading your post and happy new year :)

Haha...Thank You and Happy New Year to you too!! :D

HAHAHAH VERY YES!!!

@sam.hsuu You lagi yes than me...lol... XD

wow! that's a pretty awesome resume. glad that you're back to kitchen life ;) hope to be able to try those yummy food one day! :)

Hahaha...thank you!! XD

Hello @macam.yes! When I look at your picture, my stomach feels like 'macam lapar'. hehe joking. Happy New Year!! :)

Happy New Year,to you too and thanks for dropping by!! :D

hi there, it is a nice introductory post, looks like you're really into arts, (gastronomy is a form of art and so is makeup)
Hope you have a great time here, I'm also in my 20's, and i'm not so keen to hit 30.LOL
I think we shared similar interest of food and cosmetics. Nice to know you through this post =)
cheers
Reena.K @asianetwork

Hello!! Thanks for dropping by!! :D yes, im quite into arts tho i must,say I'm really not that good in it actually, haha...i just love beautiful things...lol... XD

Happy New Year to you by the way, wishing you a great one ahead!! :D

Congratulations @macam.yes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Never too late to introduce yourself. Now i know who is the person behind all the beautiful food posts. And i have to agree with @iamjadeline, you are definitely more than a yes! With your talents, i doubt we’ll ever get a not-so-good post from you.

Oh, im humbled by your compliments, thank you for coming by... <3 <3

Wishing you a Happy New Year and a great one ahead!! :D