The Adventures of Coconut and The Clown

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

You know how sometimes you have to be cruel to be kind, like even if it means breaking the sweet and innocent little heart of your own 5 year old daughter...this is the predicament my husband and I found ourselves in this past weekend.

You see, we decided to rescue a little kitten that was due to be sent to the pound, and give it to our daughter as an early 6th birthday present. The poor little thing has had no human contact, other than being fed. So obviously, it was slightly anxious to come home with us, and be greeted by 3 excited children. Due to this, it took us a couple of days to confirm the sex of our new friend.

We had suggested for her to think of some names while we wait, and maybe make a list.

19105929_10155555064919155_4146749355622257217_n.jpg

The next morning came, and Missy emerged from her bedroom with a beautifully written list of names. She asked me if she was allowed to give her cat 3 names, like she has (first, middle and surname) to which I had no issues. Off she ran excitedly, adding to her list. Not too much later, we called her for breakfast, and as we sat down I asked her how her name choices were coming along. "Well" she replied, "I've chosen my names but I don't know how to spell them, so I'll just tell you"....

Twilight Unicone Flutterfly (surname)
Not to be mistaken for Unicorn

Now, as adorable as the name might be, or as hilarious I found it, it's no name for a kitten, especially if it happened to be a male. I had to hold back my laughter and explain to her gently that I could, in no way, let her name her cat THAT. Besides, I dont want to have to explain to her in 15 years time, why on earth I let her call a kitten Unicone Flutterfly.

There was some tears, and a few huffs and puffs, but we managed to keep her calm...until, the debate began!!

Why can't we have a girl? Because we dont get to choose.
Why can't we make it a girl? Because we cant do that.
Why not? Well, how do you think we can do that?
I dont know... well, why can't we just wait until its a mummy cat, and 'lays kittens' and then you can call them boys names!?

And with that, I burst into hysterical laughter, and my little girls heart broke...

Turns out... Kitty is a boy...

We broke it to her, later that day, that kitty was, infact, a boy. She took it rather well, surprisingly, and came up with an agreeable name, quite quickly...

Introducing... Coconut Marcy... the Cat!

It's been a few more days now, snd Coconut seems to be settling in nicely. He wasnt fond of the bed I made him, but has aquired a shelf in my laundry, which has been stylishly decorated by Missy, The Clown. They've been inseparable this afternoon (whether Coconut liked it or not) and he's getting used to being smothered with cuddles.

Something tells me these two could end up in a lot of mischeif!

Sort:  

How cute! Lovely story @mel.jai!

Hello, welcome to steem it, you can follow us if you like to get some daily content, we can do the same for you :)

Wish you good luck on steemit, its awesome.

Using irrelevant tags, especially popular tags, makes it hard to find good and relevant content.
Please try to use only relevant tags when posting!

#introduceyourself

The “introduceyourself” tag is for creating a post that tells us about you. Users are encouraged to use this tag exclusively for that, and not to reuse it.

My apologies @steemcleaners still learning I have seen plenty of people do it, so i assumed it was ok.
Can tags be edited?

Lovely cat :D Welcome to steemit!