A thought full of dreams, a heart full of soul

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone :)


I'm writing to you from Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia, and I'm super excited to be a part of the community. I'm not much of a blogger, I don't really write, but I'm hoping to share my thoughts and creations hopefully some of you can relate to and enjoy. This particular post will just be about getting to know me, so...


me
-me @ Pulau Manukan, Tunku Abdul Rahman Park


My name is Melissa, Mel for short. I'm turning 24 this year (sudden realisation about aging) and I am currently working from home as a freelance graphic designer and I love making art for myself whenever I can.

I have always been a big art person for as long as I can remember and have always been passionate about many things, painting / reading / poetry / music / photography / travel etc etc etc. So absolutely expect things related to all that from me! I love making food as much as I love eating.


labanrata
- View from Laban Rata, Mount Kinabalu (Dec 2013)


Ever since I was a child, I've always looked at the world in excitement. There were always things to explore and experiment with, knowledge to grasp, infinite places and people to see and learn about. I can truly say, growing up I may not always have had all the blessings I'm graced with today, but I have never let myself have a mentality of lack. If I wanted something, I worked for it, I grasped, I dreamed. Up until after graduating college, I thought I gave up on all this. For a while, I lacked passion. Wasn't inspired to make art, wasn't inspired to create or explore. Sometimes certain situations or routines put us in a box, and we forget what we dream about.



me
- Me when I was 3 or something

Early 2017, I almost lost my life, I've spent the last year recovering from a really bad pneumonia. This was because my health, more specifically my body immunity had started to weaken, due to lack of sleep and pulling all-nighters to get work and projects done. I won't say much about what I went through, I don't think I'm able to get over how traumatic it was for me yet. Because of this, I haven't been able to travel at all as of late.

I've always wanted to sit down and write about the whole experience I went through, but I feel that I have moved passed that, and what happened to me can no longer define me and what I want to work towards and what I want to become. I am incredibly thankful for all the people who were there with me during my recovery, most of all my God who has continued to bless me in many many ways.

But what it did to me was, it opened my eyes to how short life really is. You never know when your time is up, and it made me realise how much of life I haven't lived. I have big dreams and massive goals I want to achieve, and there's a lot more of life I don't want to miss out on. I learned to appreciate all the things I have, my home, my family, my friends. I learned to also be kinder, to love and help others, to be quick to forgive. All the world really needs is for one person to want to understand the other.

There are still yet places I want to see, people I want to meet in this life. I'm not settling down until I see most of the world. My art has also taken a different direction, I now pour more of my soul into what I create. Perhaps some I will be proud enough to share with you soon.

If you want to see lots of art I post a lot on instagram!
Art Instagram
If you want to follow me personally, I have my personal instagram as well :)
Personal Instagram


Some of my old art



art


art2


art3


Some random photos I've taken



kuala penyu
- Kuala Penyu, Sabah


Penang Cat
-Stray cat by the street, Penang Island


Bicycle
-Street Art, Penang Island


food
-Penang Char Kueh Tiaw-

Thanks for the warm welcome and hope some of you will stick around and see what I'll be up to! I'd love to see what others have to share too, especially if you happen to have the same interests as me!

If you've read this far, here's a something to ponder on :P

Life is too short
to live too fast,
and much too short
to live bitter.

Leave me a comment, would love to hear your thoughts <3

(edited)

Sort:  

Your art is very beautiful!

Thank you very much! <3

I didn't realise I posted this xD The page refreshed when I pressed enter at the tags. If anyone can tell me how you can seperate tags that would be really helpful! xD

Welcome to Steemit, Melissa! I like your Art, looking forward to see more of your great work! ☺

Thank you very much! I look forward to sharing more of them :))

I love your travel stories! Definitely followed <3

Thank you! :-)

hello Melissa
welcome to steemit family.
i like your blog . keep sharing your story with us 🙂
cheers..!!!

Thank you very much <3

Beautiful art! You have a real talent. Go and spread it.

Thank you! That means a lot <3 :)

Welcome to steemit!

Thank you! <3

Welcome!! I invite you to visit my profile. Good luck.

Welcome Melissa and thanks for your post! Glad to hear you have recovered well enough from pneumonia and are sharing your artistic gifts here. All the best!

P.S. You are definitely not even close to getting old - a least not for a few decades yet! :)

laughs I sure hope so xD Thank you <3 I am now up and running back on my feet and more inspired to create than ever.

I am a big music person too, I liked your posts :) Definitely followed!

Welcome @melissamyra. you can change your tag to @teammalaysia. @davidngtv tidak kasi tau kah?

Thank you! and no he did not! xDDD

Welcome to Steemit! Glad to see some new faces!

HI @melissamyra , glad to have you on board in steemit. Enjoy the journey ya ..

Thank you! I am looking forward to it! xD

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Thank you very much for the link!!
That was very helpful :D

welcome to Steemit! sorry a bit late to this. but so glad that you're onboard! you're making miss my hometown so much! Manukan Island! still as beautiful?

24 is super young! but it does seem like you've lived quite a life so far. this is a good place to showcase your talent. to express yourself. keep the posts coming! and don't forget to have fun along the way! :)

Thank you! Omg yes the food, the sunset, the sea, the mountains everything!! xD hehehe

Manukan is still beautiful yes! I was a little disappointed though during my recent visit there :(
Most of the corals you can see from the jetty or while snorkeling not too far from the shore have died and the fish are less too. I remember a time when you stood by the jetty and you could see all the colours below the surface, and all the schools of different fish crowding around. It made me sad :( I'm not sure about a little deeper in when people 'scooba-doo' or stuff. Aside from that, it's still as beautiful as ever xD

Hahaha xD I guess it's the worry about my skin starting to show me aging and freaking out about not doing a lot yet. "What will I do with my career!!" xD xD I look forward to it, thank you very much for the warm welcome! :D

don't mention the food! the dumplings, beef noodle, grilled chicken wings, Tuaran noodles, tarap..... so many!

I had the feeling Manukan not as nice liao. first time I went it was really beautiful! been procrastinating on my diving license though ><

your skin? hahahaha! I'm sure it's still intact ;) so what's your career by the way?

I could go on forever about KK food hahaha. Desa milk!!!! xD And same! Can't very well do diving with the lungs I have right now.

I'm a graphic designer currently working freelance from home, I mostly help with event projects :) I'm still looking to take advantage of the internet as much as I can, so basically online jobs and making apps too xD It's why I worry if I'm doing okay sometimes haha. I have plenty to learn.

oh man! how could I have forgotten Desa Milk! I grew up with that. hahaha! did you still have free milk when you were schooling? have your lungs fully recovered?

ahh. freelancer. same same ;) hope you don't mind if I buzz you when I need any help designing stuff :)

Yeah we did! xD I'm not sure if they still give those in schools today. My lungs have fully recovered yes, I just have a lot of scarring and a few air pockets still that limit me from flying, diving or doing activities involving high air pressure :P

Sure! Feel free to shoot me an email whenever! I have some work on my portfolio over on be.net/melissamyra :))

That's cool! What do you do? Pretty sure something involving music as well, another form of art. You seem very passionate about that :D

hey! let's bring this to discord ;)

welcome to steemit and wow .. love your artwork .. another great creative mind on teammalaysia amazing. looking forward in seeing more of your blogs. cheers

Thank you so much! xD teammalaysia is amazing!
I look forward to engaging in the community :))) cheers!

You are a brave girls, I belive what can't kill us make us more stronger, now we learned to cherish every single things in life, thanks god for always blessed us! Btw, your artwork was so amazing, keep on fighting!! :D

Thank you very much! And yes that's so true :)) So many many blessings <3

Lovely. Keep it coming , perhaps you can share some of of your art tutorials to process of creating your art too. that would be awesome.

That is a fantastic idea! xD I've always kept video recordings and editings but was always hessitant to put them up online. I guess this would be a good place to start :D Thank you!!!

You have lots of incredible skills 👍🏻😊 keep going on next of your journey!

Thank you! <3 :D I look forward to it!!

Welcome to the family @melissamyra

It's great to have you around. 😊

Thank you very much! <3

This is so inspiring Melissa!!! I kinda understand how you feel about the immunity and all-nighters! I'm glad you are better now.. lots of love 💕💕💕💕

Haha thank you Rubina! I'm so glad to be better too <3 I have God to thank for that. I thought I'd bare my soul for the first time in a while, I haven't had a chance to do that since what happened. I'm glad it was inspiring xD

And IKR! Sometimes I still work way past midnight and i have to pinch and remind myself why I should drop everything and sleep right away xD tch tch bad habit.

Lots of love as well to you and family <3333

Hey melissa and welcome fellow KK-lite!

Thank you ! :)

Wow, loving your first introduction post of yourself! One of the best and your art is really amazing. I hope you continue to post more, I would love to see more art posts.

Thank you very much! Hopefully I will get to post more between busy schedules! ;-; hehe
Same to you! :)

Welcome to Steemit! Thanks for your very insightful comment on my post. I'm looking forward to more! I like putting up posts that can start conversations, but haven't had any fish biting yet

Thank you! And no worries! Your post absolutely caught my eye :) I look forward to more as well! xD