Fulfilling Dreams through Someone’s Hand

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Who says that if you’re not that good at something, there’s no more way for you to achieve your dream? We all felt this and I am no exclusion. Since I was a kid, I used to draw anything that comes into my mind. At my young age, my family saw a potential in me with this endeavor so, I expected and believed that someday, I’ll be a great artist. But time flew fast, I discovered that I am just a mediocre telling myself that it was just a hobby and there is nothing essential it will bring me.
Until I became a full-pledged teacher, this is something that I don’t give much attention for I think that preschoolers and sixth graders are just so appreciative of what their teachers can do. Once they recognize the object I draw on the board or on any instructional material that I made, it is already an incomparable joy for me.
sports cartoon.jpg
Things change when my principal assigned me to handle our school paper. I had no idea of what it’s like to be a School Paper Adviser (SPA). Eventually, my heart started to love my extra assignment. As I train and coach young minds in this mind-numbing task, I the desire to teach them more stirred my soul. In a school paper organization which we call “Young Writers’ Club”, you don’t just ask them to join without aiming for a goal. Most of them will join with no idea at all. They are like deer that long for water. Young minds that need to be shaped and filled. The big responsibility is on my part as their trainer. DSCN3937.JPG
The big question on my mind is how can I give them the trainings they need if I myself does not excel in a particular skill. I just want to give you an idea how we do trainings in campus journalism in elementary grades. Journalism covers a wide range of skills to be developed in each child. You need to discover in them the talents that lives within, but before you will be able to unleash them, it will require you to expose all of them in the different areas of technical writing such as, news writing, science and health writing, feature writing, sports writing, editorial writing, and of course, editorial cartooning. Cartooning, though drawing is my passion since I was a kid, is really different from mere drawing. It must be done in a way that discusses a certain issue by just looking at it. 15894364_1405267689483857_8644557675034296640_n.jpg
I was really challenged but I came to realize that it’s not the skill which motivates the learners to be an excellent cartoonist. It’s about teaching them with all your heart, your dedication and passion. Together with some fellow School Paper Advisers, it’s a fulfilment when you see the eyes of your learners wanting to improve themselves each day, the confidence they gain after winning the competitions and going to higher levels because of the time you invested for them to achieve their own dreams. With this, I can say that their achievements are my greatest accomplishments too.23434719_1597160700304854_6138404333462684345_n.jpg
21552008_1541699329184325_9014000159463160765_o.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @mhailee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @mhailee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @mhailee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mhailee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mhailee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mhailee! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mhailee! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!