Hey fellow Steemians! Let me introduce myself ๐Ÿš€

in #introduceyourself โ€ข 7 years ago

My name is Nikola aka Mili aka @milinko which is my name here on Steem. I've joined Steem quite recently, few days ago, but honestly was thinking about introducing myself to the crowd since I am not that interesting dude really... ๐Ÿ˜

However wanted to give it a shot anyway, so here goes.ย 

I am 25 years old and I live in Belgrade, Serbia. Here's a pic of the town mentioned.ย 

[Trump voice] It's a great town. It's absolutely fantastic. Best town ever. Let me tell you. Fact!ย 

So jokes aside, Belgrade is a great town you should probably visit some time if you get an opportunity. After disastrous past and everything that happened in the Balkans some decades ago, Belgrade came to be one of the regional centres. It's now called one of the most underrated cities in Europe, which is why tourism started booming recently, especially during the spring/summer period. I won't go further in the details and bother you, firstly because I live here and won't be objective and secondly we live in a era of Google, and you can easily search for experiences and reasons to visit Belgrade. Personally i suggest blogs from people who have visited and Quora topics and questions dealing with this subject.ย 

OK? moving on. ๐Ÿ™ƒ

So being born and living here I was always an astounding student, finishing a very good high school after which I moved on to study Political Science. Yay! ๐ŸŽ“ I always wanted to study that. Probably due to my language, social sciences background during high school. Anyyyyyyway I majored in Political Science and International Relations thinking how diplomacy is improtant... ๐Ÿ˜‚ Turns out my Uni molded me towards Liberal views and really helped me understand the world from the Liberal perspective so to speak. During my studies I did what most students do, rocked many exams, failed some, learned alot. Then there were great and altogether amazing people I met. Loves which lasted...Some which did not. Travels. Countries and cities I've visited. Experiences.ย 

Btw this is also the the time when back in 2011/2012 I've hear about this promising thing - Bitcoin. Seemed like an unimportant thing that will go bust pretty soon. ๐Ÿ˜ Experimented with mining but didn't believe in it.

Finishing my studies and being an active member of a community, yet studying Political Sciences I published some works on democratization (Serbia hasn't really successfully came to terms with its past) and started working for NGOs. This was also the period few years ago I was very influenced by Libertarian ideas and books. I read a lot about Startups, Cryptos, Dark Net, Economics and Entrepreneurship.

Realizing how although studying Pol Sci, crony and parasite public sector along with uninspiring NGO sector actually are not my cup of tea, I've left and applied for a real job at a big corporation. Have to admit one thing and give an advice to all young people considering it. You know dilemma Big Corporations or Small Businesses and Entrepreneurship...Not a single person can give you that answer besides YOU and you have to try it for yourself... Scoring a big time job, with future, promising career with daily work with Top Management it sure looked promising and for a lot of people around me...so important. For me it just seemed like still being part of a system, a large, corporate one with perks isn't the way to go for a twenty-something young man who needs to learn a lot lot more. So I've moved on. ย 

Jobless I knew only that working for a corporation was out of the question, so I've started applying and few months later, sure enough, I was in an awesome small Startup with young people. ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

Here is an important fact about this, although Steemians and community are far ahead in terms of mindset. For many young people I would advise not to work for a large corporation early on. In words of a keynote speaker and venture capitals from this big conference I visited at the very moment I was leaving corporations and entering Startup world "Sure, work a big corporation, I have for 15 years. But let me tell you that they suck life out of you. Go for a year or two and you may like it, it deffinitely is for some people. But for many young people today it's simply an outdated type of structure. Try to find work at a startup, small business, freelance, learn coding, whatever it's far better trust me. And you can do it!"

So at the moment I am still living in Belgrade, close to my family, still with all my friends from the past years of my life, enjoying life, taking one step at a time, and yeah working with an awesome small team of inspiring young people looking to get things done. ๐Ÿ‘Š And yes in less time I've learned alot more!ย 

I am also leaving here some of the quotes that followed me around in my life and through my past struggles and describe my life almost perfectly:
"If fate doesn't make you laugh, you just don't get the joke." - Shantaram
" It's an incredibly exciting thing, this one, meaningless life of yours." - Tim Minchin



BTW! I am again interested in cryptos since last year and although I missed my train since first hearing about Bitcoin back when it was worth very little, over the years I've udnerstood the potential and I do believe that Blockchain is a technology that will radically change the way we live our everyday lives. ย Cryptos and Blockchain are also at the top of my interest and reading lists.ย 

I've invested in some and looking forward to going back to mining once I am able again. After researching and reading a lot, ut is my belief that for now ETH is a way to go, but in the long run people need to pay attention to STEEM, XRP, MIOTA, EOS and ANS. That's btw how I heared about Steem and after seeing this amazing project and community wanted to jump in! It's a real pleasure to see a project like this succeed and I project a bright future for steemit! So once again, nice to meet you all and happy steeming I guess? ๐Ÿ™‚


Sort: ย 

Hello @Milinko its good to see more new users around. Have fun in this community. I wish you many followers and new friends :-) Cheers @chrisx

Thanks @chrisx! :)

Welcome to Steem @milinko I have upvoted and sent you a tip

welcome to steemit and good luck in achieving your goals !! @milinko

Thank you @dihoa!

Welcome to steemit community. At Steemit we are all together like a Family. We help each other in information sharing and grow together along with steem community. Feel free to contact or follow me any time :) @hafizulislam

Awesome @hafizulislam :)

Excellent descion to join this ever growing platform! Welcome to steemit! Have fun and steem on!

Couldn't agree more, I think steem has a lot of potential! Thanks you too!

Hello @milinko! Welcome, great post! I upvoted and followed. Best Regards, @gregdiamondmusic image

Thanks @gregdiamondmusic ! Kind Regards, @milinko :)

Nice work, i hope you grow fast on steemit :)

Welcome to steemit, happy to have you here

A new Steemian :-) hello @milinko I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, Wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk