Hello Steemians!

Greetings, my name is Chris! I've been browsing Steemit for a while, and have finally registered to become a part of this wonderful community! I've belonged to many digital communities in the past, hopefully I can contribute here as well. Much thanks to @sweetfin and @steemfuzzy for introducing me to Steemit!

                             A little about myself:

Originally from Los Angeles, CA; I'm currently living in Hong Kong. Nope, not Hong Kong China, but rather just Hong Kong. I've learned being here that although technically part of China, the people of Hong Kong refuse to accept it!

Here's a recent photo of me in Hong Kong, astounded by it's urban density.
pic.JPG


Anyways, the things I love? Traveling, Photography, Food, Running, and Hiking!

Traveling? I love things from all walks of life. My travel philosophy has always been "When in Rome, do as the Roman's do".. Hamburgers and Tourist stuff may be great, but so is local food and meeting local people! Needless to say, I try to travel as often as possible. Lately I've been mainly exploring parts of Southeast Asia since I'm currently located in Hong Kong.

Here's a photo of me waiting for the sunset in Bagan, Myanmar:
bagan.JPG


Photography? Thanks technology, every cell phone now has a camera. And a pretty good camera nowadays.. allowing even amateurs like me to take nice photos! And for the photos that are not nice enough? There's always a filter to fix that ;) My Instagram for random photos that I take is @milksteaks


Food? What can I say, other than I love to eat! I've been a proud Yelp Elite member for six years straight now. To be honest I'm not sure I even have a favorite food category. I kind of like everything! I'm also open minded enough to try everything at least once. Maybe not so strange to someone from that area, but strange for me personally has been trying Horse sashimi in Tokyo, Rabbit head in Sichuan, and Scorpion-infused whiskey in Laos. I gotta admit, most of the strange things I've tried isn't as bad as it looks or sounds!

Here's a photo of Lao Lao (aka Laotian Whisky)
laolao.JPG


Running? I try to run 10-20k a week. Nothing too crazy, but just enough to allow myself to eat whatever I want without getting too big in the belly! I've done half marathons before, but never a full one. Perhaps one day... Its definitely on my bucket list to do a full marathon!

Here's a photo of the Venice Beach Half Marathon I participated in previously. Photo taken at around 5am:
venice.JPG


Hiking? Another great way for me to keep 'fit'. Personally I think hiking is one of the most rewarding things one can do! You go through the pain and torture of the hike, and usually get rewarded with a wonderful view at the end. Hiking is usually how I clear my mind and reflect on life.

It took me a few hours to hike here, but here's a photo of me on top of the Great Wall of China! (eating McDonald's for lunch and checking my photos):
greatwall.JPG


My Life philosophy? Its best stated by Ferris Bueller - "Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it."

And if I don't stop typing now, I could miss reading another great Steemit post! Enough of my nonsense, I greatly look forward to meeting and interacting with everyone in the Steemit community!

Cheers,
Milksteaks

Sort:  

Hello & Welcome to Steemit Chris,
very nice first introduction post, have the feeling somehow I saw the photos before ??

I am @digital-gypsy - nice to meet you:)

I think with your topics ( Food, Photography and Travel ) you will reach out many people here and get their attention !

if you like rainbow photos have a look at my account, just posted some nice Rainbow Photo

Good Luck & Cheers

Hello @digital-gypsy nice to meet you! Hopefully you didn't see those photos anywhere not posted by me, because it's me in the photos! I guess those are pretty popular photo spots, so it's very likely you've seen similar ones before. I can't imagine anybody not liking rainbows! I'll definitely check out your account. Cheers

Welcome to Steemit @milksteaks :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

Welcome to Steemit! :)

Thanks for the welcome!

Welcome to Steem @milksteaks I have sent you a tip

Thanks for the welcome and the tip! I'm still learning how to use steemit!

Welcome! Great pictures. I hope to see and here more of your travels.

Thanks for the welcome and compliment! I look forward to sharing more of my travels with the community

Welcome to Steemit:)

Thanks for the welcome!

Welcome, i cant wait for your next post!

Thanks for introducing me to steemit!

You got me at Ferris Bueller. Welcome to steemit. 100% upvote. Cheers!

I still watch it every time it comes on TV! Thanks for the welcome

I welcome you to the steemit community. I hope you find here interesting.
You are also welcome to follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK for assorted exquisite dishes from all over the world.

Thanks for the welcome! Interesting recipes there!

It is my pleasure! Cheers

Congratulations on landing yourself on the hippest and fast growing Social Media platform on the planet.Get ready buckle up !!!!! we going to mars with STEEMIT SHUTTLE!!!!!
THANK YOU
resteem follow upvot gif.gif

Welcome to Steemit! I love you pictures from all over the world. That first picture though... That's amazing. It looks like buildings on all sides... never ending! Awesome shot! :)

Thanks for the welcome and compliment! I look forward to sharing more photos of this concrete jungle! (Hong Kong)

Hello and welcome 👋🏼 If you like to photograph maybe you should enter my new contest. It's called #yourcityvibez it's all about urban photography, I think Hongkong is a great place for that. Check please the rules and the deadline in my latest post. I hope I will see something there from you 🙂

Thanks for the welcome. Looks like a cool contest, I'll check it out!

Welcome & Up-voted
Wow you have been around quite a bit. You have some amazing pictures there. Had some traveling in Asia as well and I love it, great time and will share some of that in the future!
I am interested where your life takes you in the future so I am going to follow you. If you find the time, check out my profile, will share some more about traveling in the future as well, and maybe you like my recipe that I just posted, so follow back if you like. See you around, cheers! :)

Thanks for the welcome and compliment! I look forward to seeing some of your travel pics as well. I see from your intro you're from Germany, such a lovely country! And will also definitely check out your recipe. Cheers

Finally posted something! Welcome to Steemit!!

Thanks for introducing me to Steemit!

Welcome to steemit. You are welcome to look at my post

Hi Chris! Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks for the welcome @glowbeauty!