Muffin Tuesday

I started making muffins every Tuesday about 2 ½ years ago. I never thought it would be a habit that would stick - I mean, EVERY Tuesday?? That’s a big commitment. But it did. And here’s the real story of how #MuffinTuesday came to be:

About 3 years ago, I fell into a majorly depressive state (I had previously struggled with depression, still do). My doctor suggested going to group therapy. I went. Twice. (It was an eight week class.) BUT what I did get out of one of those times, changed my life forever. They told a story about a woman that had depression and she likes to bake. So her culinary therapy was to bake a cake everyday, which involves finding a recipe, buying ingredients, baking the cake, and giving it to a friend or colleague. It take something she already likes to a meditative and altruistic process.

I thought: Well, I don’t have care that much for cake, I’m not into sweets, but I’ve made muffins before, I could do this with muffins. And every day is a little daunting, but how about once a week, on Tuesdays, since we have meetings at work anyways, I can bring it in as a treat. So, I started waking up at 5:30am on Tuesdays to make muffins and brought them to work to share. And #MuffinTuesday was born.

It’s evolved since then. I no longer work where I used to, where we had meetings on Tuesdays. But I started going to this super awesome climbing gym on Tuesdays, so I brought the muffins there. And I went to a coffee shop to work on applying for jobs, and so I brought the muffins there. And now I bring the muffins everywhere I go on Tuesdays - to work, to the gym, to a networking event, to a friend’s house, on my bike - and give muffins to friends and strangers! I’ve tried all kinds of recipes: orange cranberry (my personal favorite), ginger apricot, kale feta sweet potato, strawberry shortcake, the list goes on and on.

I recently found this article on the benefits of baking for other people which really resonated with me: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/baking-for-others-psychology_us_58dd0b85e4b0e6ac7092aaf8?utm_campaign=hp_fb_pages&utm_source=gn_fb&utm_medium=facebook&ncid=fcbklnkushpmg00000023

Baking is not for everyone (I’m actually more of a cooker than a baker), but it can’t hurt to try or find something similar that offers you mindfulness and wellbeing benefits.

So, what do I do when I’m not baking muffins to share? I rock climb, practice acroyoga, moonlight as a bike valet, advocate for green building, network with other professionals, cook healthy meals, play Settlers of Catan, travel, volunteer with Habitat for Humanity, and in general try to lead an active, healthy, sustainable lifestyle.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @muffintuesday I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hello @Muffintuesday - welcome to Steemit ! i am @digital-gypsy - nice to meet you and all the best !

Nice, a new Steemian, more or less ^^ Hello Muffintuesday I hope you have fun on Steemit. feel free to contact or follow me at any time :-) Cheers @chrisx

Welcome to the Community, Muffintuesday! Wish you much luck! Cheers! Follow me !

Muffins are awesome. Especially the ones with the secret fillings that are a pleasant surprise. Welcome to the community you have a lot of interesting material here. Wish you all the best keep posting/ steeming

Thanks! I have a ginger apricot one that is quite popular - it has a layer of jam tucked in the middle of it!

@muffintuesday hey buddy welcome to steemit! I trully liked your introduction so I followed you and upvoted as well!

Excellent decision you made! I support you in whatever you do!
I am staying tuned! Fetmom- real estate investor :)

Thanks for your support! I used to be nervous to share the true origin story of #MuffinTuesday, but the more I do it, the better it feels!

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

YES!!!!! The muffins are here! lol

YES! You made it here!!
Welcome to Steemit Tinn ;)

This is the best place on earth.

hey girl hey! Try not to get addicted like I am. :) Can't wait to see more of your adventures. OMG Ginger apricot.. please make me more!

hello~ muffintuesday, Follow & Upvote is a You and I great strength~

Muffin Tuesday, great concept and interesting story! Welcome to Steemit, looking forward to some muffin pics!

Thanks, I'm excited to share my muffins with you all!

Welcome to the amazing world of steemit. Followed. Follow me back 😘