Introduceyourself: A Southern Chick Who Asks, "Have you got your Zen on?"

In a world full of stress, we need more ZEN!!
And that’s what I’m about, finding more Zen. 

However, don’t think because I talk about getting all Zen that I’m some mystic being living in a rarified atmosphere different from most people. I’m just an ordinary person, living an ordinary life. 

How ordinary am I?

Well, let me introduce myself....

I’m just a regular older American female, living on a small farm and trying to pay the bills. A grandma who loves her grandkids!

I’m an animal lover and nature lover, and find taking pictures of both a delight! I’m also an avid reader, love to write, listen to music…

In short, I’m just a regular person. Nothing extraordinary here, just a desire to find that inner peace I call Zen.

So What Do I Mean With All This Zen Business? 

Okay, when I say I want more Zen in my life, I’m not talking about sitting around all day meditating, and I’m certainly not talking about becoming a practitioner of Zen Buddhism. A worthy goal for many, mind you, but just not my thing! 

 

No, I’m thinking more along the lines of these definitions of Zen, the first being from Merriam-Webster:

  Zen: having or showing qualities (such as meditative calmness and an attitude of acceptance) popularly associated with practitioners of Zen Buddhism.

And even more to the point, I like this description of Zen from the Urban Dictionary: 

1 - Zen (noun): a state of coolness only attained through a totally laid-back type of attitude.
2 - Zen (adjective): used to describe someone/something that has reached an uber state of coolness and inner peace
 

Doesn’t everyone want to be super cool and filled with inner peace? 

I sure do!  

Stress vs. Zen 

Why do I think finding your Zen is so important?

Seriously? Have you looked at the headlines lately?  

And how about all the studies coming out that are connecting stress with being sick? As in, stress is becoming known as the root cause of almost all ailments. 

In this world filled with stress-inducing problems, we all need to find a way to de-stress and find some inner peace. Otherwise, we just burn out. Our body stays on over drive and gets sick. Our mind stays on overdrive and there is emotional fall-out. 

We NEED to find some Zen in our lives. If a person wants to stay healthy, to live life to the fullest, there just isn't any other option.  

Now not everyone will call it “finding Zen”, but whatever you want to call finding that inner peace that helps you make it through the day and live in joy and happiness … we all need it.

Looking for Zen In All Kinds of Places 

So if you’re looking for Zen, where do you find it?

 I think most people probably think of meditation first. And yeah, that’s a good way to de-stress and find some inner peace. 

But it’s not the ONLY way

How about when you go out in nature and feel the awe of seeing a beautiful sunset, or get a peep of some elusive animal walking through the forest? 

Or maybe you enjoy the routine and fun of taking your dog for a walk… 

Or you’re a runner, and love that high you get when you stretch those muscles and just gooooo… 

Or you read a lovely bit of verse that touches your heart… 

Or the music that lifts your spirit and makes your soul sing… 

Or maybe just sitting in some sunshine enjoying some peace and quiet gets your zen on… 

In other words, there are many paths to inner peace, and different people find different paths to that peace. Some ways work better for one person than they do for another.  

For myself, I like to explore all kinds of ways to find that Zen, whether through humor, photography, nature, or more traditional ways like mediation or prayer. 

Why don’t you join me on my journey to discover as many ways as possible to get some Zen in your life?  Cause you know, everyone needs to get their Zen on! :-)

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here:)

I am looking forward to learning more about SteemIt and meeting the people here. Thank you for the welcome.

Hi there welcome to steemit @naturallyzen I'm happy to see you joined this awesome community, I just want you to know that if you have questions never hesitate to approach anyone here including me. =)
Your grandkids are lucky to have you, see you around and good luck. =)

Thank you for the welcome and offer to answer any questions! I appreciate all the help I can get. Grandmas like me sometimes have trouble wrapping their heads around some of the more technical stuff. :-)

Hi Lady of the Zen! This post is great. Keep up with this style!

You've been featured in The Fresh Five!
It's a daily post designed to help introduce brand new Steemians to the community.

We're all here to help you find new friends and answer any questions you might have.

Here is the link, come say hello:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-fresh-five-for-feb-22nd-new-steemians-you-should-get-to-know

Welcome to Steem!

Thanks so much for the mention in your post. That's pretty neat to be part of your Fresh Five for the day! :-)

Congratulations @naturallyzen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!


Welcome to Steem @naturallyzen.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Thanks for the welcome. I'll be sure and check out the starter tips and blue paper. I know I have lots to learn!

Welcome to steemit and looks like your going to do well here and i always got my zen on

Glad to meet someone who always has their zen on! It's a great way to live if you can manage it. :-)

That's probably the most important thing to have your zen on. Welcome to Steemit! :)

Thank you for the welcome! I figure a little zen in your life is a good thing for everyone!

Yes, a good calm positive vibe not only impacts you but others around you as well.

@naturallyzen, welcome to Steemit. You have joined a wonderful community.

Thanks for being unique and adding to the diversity of our Steemit community. #notlikeme

I appreciate the welcome! My friends might say that a better definition of my being unique would be to say "eccentric" instead. :-)