Introduction - The old man with a gamer tag and a new kidney

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey there, my name is Tony and I'm a 47 year old former math teacher, married for 25 years with one daugther. I used to spend most of my evenings at the park coaching soccer. I coached my daughter's team from the age of 4 to 18 and coached the girls soccer team at the school I taught at. Boy, has my life changed I've been medically retired since December 2011, when my kidneys failed. I had a kidney transplant in October 2013. I've got a laundry list of ailments that keep me from working, driving, and limits my mobility; but this is no sob story. It is what it is and there is no reason to dwell on things beyond my control, it is not health to mope around; LIFE IS GOOD.
I keep busy refurbishing electronics, and hitting auctions, thrift stores, and yard sales looking for good deals to fix/clean up to resell on eBay. I opened an eBay store; Silver Lion Trading Company (Tonysilverlion) that has helped supplement my income; it also gives me a revenue stream for my coin collecting hobby. I recently started building gaming computers, 3 so far; one for myself and a couple for my nephews. I hadn't played computer games since my 20's, but they got me back into playing recently. I still use the same gamertag I created on the original xbox many moons ago. I have 2 beautiful grandsons, 3 & 1 yrs old. These guys make every minute I am with them golden. Like I said LIFE IS GOOD.

coach tony.jpg
seems like so long ago. Always at the park, 5 days a week.

coaching u12.jpg
they were so little.

mi familia.jpg
These two beautiful ladies have been my rocks for the last 6 years.

anna n me.jpg
I don't know what I would do without this pain in the ass in my life.

my boys.jpg
My two little guys visiting me after my last surgery.

can I have some.jpg
My companion when the wife is at work.

selfie7 12.jpg
ME

Sort:  

Hello @oakleyshark! Welcome to steemit! :)

Welcome to Steem @oakleyshark I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you!!

Let me welcome you to this awesome place Oakleyshark . I'm @chrisx and if you need any help feel free to contact or follow me :-)

Thank you, following you!

welcome @Oakleyshark to Steemit! . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me ...

done. thank you!

Yes indeed life is good especially when we live it in a good fate, I love your happy family, welcome to steemit dear friend @oakleyshark, I've met with good friends by searching 'introduceyourself' tag, i love newbies and delight in giving them a hand of friendship. Love from @maxdevalue, am sending some steem to your wallet right away, welcome on-board! Your contribution is needed here in steemit.

I wish you well, take time and lookout for people of like-mind, make new friends especially minnows and newbies of same interest, grow together and support each other, that's the secret here, don't be carried away by those that has made it with huge followers and big up votes, Rome was not built in a day, one step at a time, never follow people because they are popular rather follow people of like passion because they're likely the people that'll value your posts and up vote them, take time and construct good comment on any post that you like and value, don't be fast to post too many posts in a day, 2 to 4 is okay for the day but make sure they're nice and educative and you ready to reply all comment no matter how insignificant it might be, there are more to learn as time goes on. I care for you.

Great advise and thank you. I am feeling so welcome on here.

That's a sign of success. Welcome.

Welcome Tony to Steemit enjoyed your post great platform to express and learn new things, enjoy.@kevinace

I am enjoying it so far, thanks!

Welcome to steemit! Upvoted and followed (y) Check my profile, there are lots of guides and hacks for newbies ;)

cool, thanks

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Happy to be here, following.

hello~ oakleyshark, Follow & Upvote is a You and I great strength~

Welcome to steemit. I up voted u and follow! Good luck @alizachaya

Welcome to steemit @oakleyshark! Let me know if you have any crypto related questions, I am happy to help :)

Very good to read your introduction Tony!

Thank you, it felt funny writing about myself.

Welcome to Steemit! You will rock here! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Honors chemistry, impressive. I taught middle school science for a couple years.

A new Steemian :-) hello @oakleyshark I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, Wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

My time here has been great so far. Following!

Thank you :-)