Introduce Ourselves - We are Builders, Travelers and Artists From Ohio!

Hey, Friends!

We are Jason and Chrissie, and we are from Ohio. We live in a relatively small rural community north of Dayton. We are parents of two awesome girls, nine and sixteen, who keep us on our toes. We both have nine to five jobs- Jay runs the archery and hunting division of an outfitter north of us, and I, Chrissie, manage a few properties around here. We are totally blessed with our regular jobs, but our real passions ignite whenever we are together as a family.

We have discovered a love – no - obsession, perhaps for travel. We have made a few trips over the past 8 years, quite a few of them Disney related. Don’t tell anyone, but I’m pretty sure my 6’3” hillbilly, gun slinging husband is the biggest Disney fan around. It’s a fabulous oxymoron and all of us girls take full advantage.

Last year we did a spur of the moment trip on buddy passes (where you fly on whatever plane has open seats) and ended up in California. This past summer we spent a month abroad in Europe. All four of us traveling six countries. It was a complete eye opener. I will post more about that trip and our other adventures here in the near future. Believe me, they are never dull! We are currently planning another trip to Iceland in 2018. Because Iceland kicks ass. Seriously.

How do we afford to take four people globetrotting for a month? Glad you asked. We work like dogs the rest of the year. A few years back I decided I wanted us to build an outdoor dining table from reclaimed wood. We made it, then promptly turned around and sold it after posting a pic of it on Facebook. Fast forward two years…I still don’t have my friggin’ table, but we have blossomed into a wonderful little enterprise building furniture and art every weekend for clients. You ever have those things happen in your life that seem to fall into place so perfectly that you know it was out of your hands? This is one of them. Total gift handed to us. Well, a gift that requires a zillion hours of work, but a complete gift none the less. It isn’t just me and Jay out at the garage working every weekend. The girls are learning how to sand and stain pieces well. They have put hours of work in to pay for travel. We always give them the option to stay in Ohio while we travel if they don’t feel like putting in the work. So far, they have chosen to put in the time and effort. Wise choice, young grasshopper.


We decided we needed branded clothing for our business, Organic Recreations, as we are always making videos related to building and art. Once we designed logos and posted pics of our new swag, people began requesting O.R. clothing. From this was birthed our clothing line to go live on January first if all goes well. We are incorporating the kids in this venture as well. They are currently creating their own brands and logos for clothing, which will be sold on our site. They will get to keep all profits from the sale of their clothes. I am excited for them to have their own small ventures, and hoping it opens their minds to ways they can use their talents and gifts.
So, this is us.

We work hard. Play hard. We believe you should be grateful for what God has given you each day – your outlook on life changes how you live. How you live determines how beautiful the outcome of each day. We hope to build on our community by joining Steemit and to share our drive for hard work, creativity and travel with other like minded people!

Sort:  

Hello, @solarguy! Thanks for the welcome. I look forward to keeping up with you!

You guys are absolutely going to do amazing on here! So excited to see your posts!

Thanks so much for your help and support! It is greatly appreciated. :)

Welcome to Steemit! Upvoted and followed. How did you hear about Steemit?

Hello and thank you! We were introduced by our friends @aprilangel and @codydeeds. They are pretty awesome. Just sayin'.

Awesome! Yeah @aprilangel has some pretty great posts. I followed @codydeeds. Look forward to seeing more posts from you guys!

Thanks for the follow! As a warning it's mostly gibberish and conspiracy theories.

Thanks! 😍

You're welcome it was the anxiety post that caught my eye: https://steemit.com/life/@aprilangel/how-i-healed-anxiety

.....I plan to take a few more minutes to read some of your stuff after I take my daughter ice skating. I think I will enjoy what you write!

Welcome chrissie. I have some family that will be moving to central OH next year. I am interested to follow your business and travels.

Hi, @vir! Dayton has some pretty cool stuff. We really enjoy Yellow Springs and the Metro Park system. I hope they enjoy it here!

Hi @organicrecreate and welcome to Steemit!!! :)

Hello, @wartrapa! Thank you for the warm welcome. It has only been a few minutes and I am already feelin' the love.

It's always nice to have a good welcome. Ask whatever you need to know, I'll be glad to help :D

Thank you so much. I appreciate it!

Hi and welcome to Steemit!

Thanks, @ubik! So far, this has been a great experience. I am slowly learning, and enjoying it!

Warm welcome on Steemit :-)

Hey, @lichtblick! Thanks so much!

You are very welcome and I follow you too ;-)

Later tonight I am gonna take a few minutes and read through stuff from all you wonderful people to see what you are all up to!

Thank you very much for your intrest :-)

Great intro, welcome to Steemit! :))

Thanks, @pilgrimtraveler! Sounds like I better check you out - we love to travel as well!

Yay, friends! 😊 I can't wait to follow all of your projects and travels here!

This is a great first post!

Thanks! I had great help! :)

Wonderful introduction! Hi and welcome to Steemit! :)

Well, thanks so much, @alcibiades!

Welcome to steemit :D

Your video is so lovely and your photos are beautiful!
Where was the last photo taken?

@beanz, Hello! We have about a million pictures from our travels. That is probably what my next post will be about. The last pic in my post is from Salzburg, Austria. It was taken on top on Hohensalzburg. So amazing!

Welcome to Steemit! Looking forward to reading more about and seeing your woodworking projects! 😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks, @creatr! We are always keeping busy, which we love. Also interested in trading what you do!

As in bartering? That's great!
Or, as in reading my work? If you click on my GIF above, you'll find my Topical Table of Contents... ;)

Welcome! Glad to have you aboard...

Thanks so much for the welcome! 😊

hello ohio people

Hey! Where you from? Somewhere warmer than here?

Welcome to Steemit. Stephen

Welcome to Steemit! upvoted and following :)

Welcome to the Blockchain!

Hello Chrissie, hello Jason, welcome to Steemit! :-)

@gtg, Thank you! We are very excited to be a part of such a wonderful community!

Welcome to Steemit, Jason and Chrissie! :)

Thanks, @valth! It is fun to see what everyone is about!

Wow, now that 's an intro post! Fantastic. Welcome!

Thanks so much, @gringalicious! I'm glad you enjoyed it. You might like my post about Switzerland from yesterday. Gonna post another somethin' today. 👍