Cascadian Enigma

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hey Steemit.

I’m a 30-something big picture thinker who is here to inspire health in our minds, bodies, communities and culture.  I enjoy having my opinions challenged and look forward to the varied perspectives this community has to offer.

A bioregionalist hailing from Cascadia who believes in personal sovereignty, decentralization, and ecological respect.  I’m a curious adventurer, a subversive persuader, inspired by connections with people and ideas.  Always trying out new perspectives, I tend to be a bit of an enigma even to those closest to me.  You’re not likely to find me clinging to any sort of dogma here.

I enjoy music, photography, martial arts and working with plants.  I've included a few of my photos in this post.  You can explore my musical tastes (including some DJ mixes) here.

I see us needing a massive cultural shift.  We’ve seen the cracks in the facade of the status quo and realize that this cannot go on forever.  As the internet has helped pull back the veil, the western world seems to be on a collective search for meaning and truth.  This sentiment and a feeling of disempowerment seem to be at the heart of the conservative nationalist backlash the world over.  My own reaction was to retreat to the basics of human existence.  I learned to grow food and worked to understand the dynamics of the local ecology that support me.

I’m no technophobe.  I just think our current mindset of consumption and centralized control is folly.  Most of you probably do to or you wouldn’t be on Steemit.  Lets dream up new ways of being.  New ways of using technology that give people more potential, freedom, happiness and security.  I’m here with the intention of using this tech-enabled global community to spread truth and plant seeds of connection, empowerment and support.  As humanity moves into uncharted waters, I've decided it's time to get wet.

Stoked to dive into this decentralized media platform.  I’m here for the ethics, not for the money.  Although I will be adding my 2 cents to the conversation so much that eventually I may even have a dollar.  Mostly I’ll be sharing skills, stories, observations and resources that I feel have value and empower.  

With love,

owleye

Sort:  

Hey man, welcome to Steemit! It's good to have you on board. I only joined up yesterday but there's definitely a good vibe on here from what I can tell... there's lot's of driven people getting into it for the right reasons, I really think decentralization is a great concept.

Thanks for the welcome. Looking forward to building community here.

Congratulations @owleye! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome @owleye!
I look forward to reading more of your insights, as you may have noticed I love plants too :)
Take care,
@amymya

garlic is key in health

Mmm, garlic...

Welcome to steemit @owleye! It's nice to meet another like minded steemit citizen :) I relate to you in a lot of your philosophies and your choice to simplify your life to get back to whats important. I gave up my lush suburban life and have been wwoofing the last 2 years and now I am ready to start a homestead with @idyllwild. Coincidentally I am moving toward the cascades next month :) Looking forward to reading some of your upcoming posts :)

Welcome here!! Check our @earthnation Steemit Guild!
asc.ai/steemit Love what you're about! Great fit with the Earth Nation!

Thanks for the welcome! I’m just figuring this place out. What’s a guild?