Putting my toes in the steemy water. Hello from BC!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

I'm writing to introduce myself so I'll be concise and stick to what's important...

I prefer light roast coffee and I never lick my fingers while making food for other people. One day I will create my own coat of arms representing those two values. I'm a labourer trying to decide his next moves in life and excited to train his long dormant writing muscles. I like words and poetry and writing about trivial things in a serious way. There are a lot of strange birds chirping and hooting in the crypto-forest so I know I'll really have to pull up my socks to bring fresh material here.

Photograph is my own

I've lived my whole life in British Columbia in Canada. My earliest years were spent on a small farm with various birds and animals. My hobbies include language and playing the harmonica. I find it great fun to surprise people with a greeting in their mother tongue; a couple of words can go a long way. One thing that bothers me a lot is waste and there sure is a lot of it out there! Even creating empty content is an irresponsible waste of others' time. I'll be mindful of that as I learn how to improve the quality of my writing.

My content will be focused on creative writing and humour with brief interludes out of left field. I like the serious stuff too I just don't know as much about it! When not being funny I like to break things down and keep them simple.

Steemit is fascinating and I really don't understand it yet. I've picked up on the warmth displayed between many users and I hope that it stays that way as Steemit becomes more popular. I've been learning a lot since I began a few days ago and I'm happy to have found this unique community.

Thank you for reading my introduction; I'll see you out there!

Sort:  

Welcome! That's awesome that you play harmonica. It's one of those instruments that I just struggle to get. Welcome to a rad community! Following ya.

Thank you! If you spend some time learning to produce a clear single note you'll be well on your way! As for the more complicated stuff I'm still very much a learner.

Do you usually play a C, or do you have a set of different key harmonicas?

I have a few harmonicas: C, Bb, and A from Lee Oskar, G Cross Harp from Hohner, Golden Melody in D from Hohner, and a Seydal low E. For my skill level a good C or G would have been enough but I got a bit carried away. Lately I play my G the most. I also picked up a Hohner chromatic harmonica (one with a slider) in an antique store recently and have been learning how that thing works.

Very neat! I've never seen a harmonica with a slider. Is it for bending notes or what? I'm kind of the same way with ukuleles. I really don't need multiple but I have a baritone uke, multiple sopranos ukes, a tenor uke, and I really want to get an u-bass. Keep riding the waves of music!

The slider works by pressing a button on the side. Each hole is split in half and pressing the slider closes the top half and opens the bottom half. So my 10 hole chromatic basically has 20 holes. It's sort of like bending by giving you extra notes but without the bendy sound. On this kind of harmonica there are no missing notes. Music is fun even though I'm not the best at it! I'm imagining all your ukuleles hanging up in a row on your wall. I didn't know there was such variety among them but it makes sense. Thanks, you bet I'll keep riding those waves!

How cool! You should take a photo or video of it and post about it sometime. That's pretty rad. Be well!

Hi @pius! Welcome to Steemit. It's very cool that you play the harmonica. How long have you been playing? Look forward to your comedy posts :) - @Tiffy

Thank you @tiffy! I bought my first harmonica 4 years ago. I play pretty casually and forget about it from time to time but always come back to it. Getting to that next level is always the challenge!

Welcome to Steemit! I'm following you and excited for your content! :)

Obrigado! :)

Welcome to Steem @pius I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit, @pius!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot.

Hey there! Welcome to the community! Glad to have you here! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek