Hi Steemit! I'm Lexi, And I'm About To Make The Scariest Transition Of My Life — Pretty Decent

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Join me on my "Pretty Decent" adventures?

Bonjour, Steemit! My name is Lexi. I'm a freelance content strategist with lots of passion, particularly in the areas of business, music and fashion. I've been known to go by the pseudonym Pretty Decent, and if you click here you should get a pretty decent (sorry) idea of my vibe.  

In just a few weeks, I'll be making the biggest leap of my life thus far: moving all the way from Florida to New York City to split a bedroom with my best friend and try to "make it" in the Big Apple. 

My dream for a while now has been to produce actually useful content around this entire experience, everything from how much money we've saved to finding an apartment to dealing with the homesickness. 

There's just one problem: I really hate social media right now. 

That's right, you heard it here, straight from the mouth of a full-time Internet Person. I'm currently on a complete hiatus from personal social media. I find sites like Twitter and Facebook to be a total black hole of negativity, and I just spend too much time on Instagram wishing I was someone different than who I am.


Cartoon via Emily Flake for The New Yorker

But as a digital marketer, I spend my entire day thinking about that big word: Content. I've spent countless hours in the last four years producing high-quality, professional-grade content, only to watch the share counter sit idle and social media metrics dwindle. 

Sometimes, it feels like there's no hope left for making a name for yourself on the Internet...which is a bit ridiculous, when you consider we're only in the infancy of what the Internet will surely be. 

That's why I really appreciate Steemit. Not for its monetary potential, but for the promise that here, anyone can be "someone." I have been so inspired reading your stories and watching your videos, and I can't wait to join you.

Of course, at this point I have to give a special shoutout to my mom, @GatorLynne, who introduced me to Steemit. It's official: she knows more about the Internet than I do. :) Be sure to follow along if you'd like to read how that happened.

Because I really value transparency (woo, blockchains!), before I end this I want to share an idea of the type of original content you can expect from me, Lexi, a.k.a. Pretty Decent to share here. 

  • In-depth posts on what it's like to uproot your life and move to New York City
  • Digital marketing tips, tricks and best practices (Think: personal branding, graphic design, content marketing!)
  • Work from home advice, especially staying organized and motivated
  • Style inspiration roundups, particularly those inspired by classic TV shows and movies
  • Playlists, new releases and reviews of my favorite music. I love rap and R&B.

Can't wait to share *all* of my big, scary transitions with you.

- Lex

Pretty Decent Instagram
Pretty Decent Blog

Sort:  

If you hate traditional social media and are looking for a new way of blogging - You are right here lady ;)
Resteemed you via @welcoming, my page for sharing promising new users!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thank you so much! I appreciate it!

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome Lexi, I think you find this community different than others,, jkenny

Thank you, jkenny!

Wow pretty awesome introduction, how are you? Welcome to steemit by the way, hope you're having a great time.

Thank you so much! I just read your beautiful 2018 post -- those photos = mesmerizing. Hope you're doing well, too! Excited to follow along. :)

OMG! I remember @GatorLynne now, she told me about you. I was wondering the why @GatorLynne was familiar, sorry I have so many friends I met here and am not good with names, hehe.

Thank you, I am doing good. =)

I look forward to more of your blogs soon, I know you will deliver more quality content, just by reading at this blog =)

Ahhh thank you! And yes, she's told me all about you too :) I'm excited to follow along on your adventures!

Welcome to Steemit! You are really going to like it here. This is a unique place where there is no competition. Instead, we all work to build success by helping each other out. The best way to grow is to build Steem Power and vote to reward other authors.

This is a great place to network with other people from all over the world. If you continually post great content you will grow a following in no time and start making some nice author rewards.

I encourage you to take the time to search for other posts that interest you and upvote them. Also, start following authors that post good content and upvote them as well. Make some friends and you will be well on your way to earning some nice curation rewards and growing your following!

Best Of Luck!
Spencer Coffman
My Latest Article: How To Save For Retirement

hi Lexi, you should have named your self @stunning not @prettydecent :)
welcome to steemit, I hope you find what your looking for on this platform :)

welcome

Thank you!

your more than welcome :)

Welcome Lexi, this is a great community. looking forward to see your post and ideas. I am blessed with 5 daughters, one who has a makeup youtube channel. She too should be on Steemit soon. Going to use you as inspiration for her and her sisters to join. upvoted, followed and resteemed

There's just one problem: I really hate social media right now.

Welcome to STEEMIT @prettydecent! I can certainly relate, what's great with STEEMIT is that not only are there some really cool people you'll meet here, you'll even be rewarded financially for interacting with them!

On facebook or twitter, you'd get zilch... well, except for the heartache and pain from all that "negativity", as you described... lol

In order to help kick-start your "STEEMIT experience", you may also be interested in checking out my recent post on how I built up my "presence" on STEEMIT. :)

Hi Lexi, welcome to Steemit! I wish you the best of luck on your transition, and look forward to reading about it on your blog. I guess you already know from your mom that steemit is a warm and welcoming community.

I'm sorry to hear about your experiences with social media. I'm not the biggest fan of it myself. Your introduction is doing quite well, but please don't be discouraged if afterward you notice a major drop off in engagement for a while. Steemit likes to give a warm welcome, but it still takes some time to gain a following here. In the mean time you can settle in to the community by interacting on other people's blogs. Many of them will follow you back and at some point you will have an engaged community on your own blog!

I say that last bit by faith, as I'm still in the early stages myself. But compared to my efforts on other platforms, steemit seems far and away the easiest to get going on!

Hi Shawn, thank you for the kind welcome. I appreciate your honesty. Like any venture in life, I'm sure this will be an uphill one. I'm excited to try and apply the skills I've learned about humans and the way we consume content on a platform that doesn't have the traditional barriers to entry. I'm really looking forward to having a lot to learn :)

Love the shirt. Ask me about my break from social media. There is some irony and humor there. People are on their phones too much too often nowadays. We all can be people as long as we are willing to go through the process of becoming what we were destined to become. Too often, people are too lazy to put in the work in the development of their identities, their brands. Welcome, Lexi. You look great.

Thank you Joey! I totally agree. Since my hiatus I've noticed myself reading (physical books!) more, a welcome surprise. Your response reminds me of my favorite quote:

"The only person we are destined to become is the person we decide to be."

And life is a box of chocolate. Very delicious to eat. We often have more choices, more decision, than we realize at first. Readers are leaders.

Welcome to Steemit, and really nice intro!

As social venues go, Steemit really isn't like anything else out there. It most resembled what we used to call "social blogging" which was extremely popular before MySpace and Farcebook came along and turned everything into ever shorter and more inane soundbytes.

People would share actual content from their lives-- article style-- and the discussion would go. And that's sort of what people like to do here. Although, of course, there are folks of many different persuasions here.

Anyway, hope you enjoy your time with us. The water is a LOT deeper than twitter and instagram.

Thank you for the warm welcome! Yes, I've been very excited to return back to such a community-driven format for personal anecdotes. It's so refreshing to be somewhere where people are genuinely interested in conversation.

Hey there Lexi! Welcome to the world of Steemit, hope you'll have a blast in here and I wish you the best of luck!
I really like your mindset and all the stuff you're planning to do. It takes a lot of guts to take some life-changing steps, but hey, we all know that life begins at the end of our comfort zones!
I might even follow you on Instagram, but you have to promise to follow me back, otherwise I'll just be sad... :c (jk)
I'm looking forward to your future posts and stories and I wish you much success!
Also, you can check out my blog if you're interested in adventures, photography and adrenaline stuff! I've just started writing stories from my life followed by some awesome shots me and my friends took in the beautiful country of Croatia!

Hello! Thank you so much for the warm introduction. I can't even imagine how beautiful Croatia must be!

I can only agree with your opinion on social media. Also I can't wait to see your future posts here on Steemit!
Have a nice day ! :)

Thank you my hypebeast friend!!

Welcome @prettydecent nice to meet you. Follow me at https://steemit.com/@eddy2cul and like my posts. I'll do the same ☺

What a great job! Very proud of this girl! To the moon! -Mom :)

Welcome to Steemit!

"I'm currently on a complete hiatus from personal social media. I find sites like Twitter and Facebook to be a total black hole of negativity"

I can speak from personal experience. I delete my Snapchat/Twitter/Facebook 15 months ago - it was on the best decisions I ever made in my life. Trust me - in the long term those platforms will be absurd looking back, and you will reap massive benefits from not eating negative vibes all day. Trust me, removing that nonsense from my life was a great decision, glad I'm not the only one.

Good'luck on Steemit!

Hi, and thank you for the well wishes! I'm all here for dumping traditional social media. Thanks for sharing.

Welcome Lexi :)

Thank you! :)

Welcome Home Lexi. Good post. I totally get what you mean about the state of social media and digital marketing at the moment. On one side there's so much potential for anyone to reach the world and aspire to greatness, but on the other side it just feels hollow or full of meaningless connection.

I joined Steemit for a similar reason that anyone can be someone, but also that through our passions here we can truly gain freedom. Thanks for joining us. I seriously look forward to your Digital Marketing tips, Design, and dope Musical Vibes. We may even have to team up, friend. haha

(10 mi from NYC over in Jersey)

Thank you for your kind words! I love the idea of really creating true community around passion. Other social media seems so passive and attention-focused these days, I'm excited to see the effects of this type of curation system. I agree on teaming up! :)

Welcome aboard, Lexi.
I'm sure you'll do great. (Here and in NYC.)

Thank you, Matt! :) I appreciate it.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @prettydecent to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Welcome to the platform and im all for your move! Do it! Trust the Universe and make that move! And remember if you meet a stranger and they give you a direct lead to something, FOLLOW THE LEAD, New York is full of synchronicities to get you to where you wanna be. Just follow the trail ;) Enjoy!

I love that - the part about synchronicities. A book I've been reading said "Never move to New York unless you're willing to be lucky." Thank you for sharing.

Welcome! I look forward to reading your posts after your hiatus :) It'll be helpful to write your NY experiences here and talk about home sickness. Your mom will only be a post away - that should be somewhat comforting? :)

Thank you! That is DEFINITELY comforting :) I'm excited to join the little community she has here!

Hello, welcome to this amazing website! Have fun!

Hi, great introduction ! Welcome to Steemit community !

Thank you! I appreciate it. :)

Yeah, Twitter is an absolute hole at the moment, don’t blame you for canning it.

Ugh, it's really awful isn't it?

Super cool introduction, and it's so cool you can join Steemit with your mom as one of your first and most loyal followers for sure! :D Would love to follow you on your adventure, welcome on Steemit!

Thank you! It is definitely nice having her around :) I appreciate it!

Welcome! Honestly, I feel you! I worked in influencer marketing, content marketing and pr and totally avoided social media for my personal life aswell. I think it's also due to the fact that I had to analyse social profiles of influencers the whole day and they are already big personalities yet. When you see how much effort they put in over years, it kind of makes you think "better stay backstage, there's no way you will get to that point anyways". So I also think of steemit as a platform that reshuffles the cards, as everyone just starts or is here for max. 1 1/2 years. Anyways, I'm looking forward to read more from you and follow your path on steemi! :)

Yes, exactly! On the larger networks, it always feels like the cards are stacked against you. Steemit's approach to community is really refreshing. I'm excited to stick around for a while and see what happens :) Best of luck on your journey as well!

Great post! Welcome ;)

Thank you! :)

Welcome to Steemit Lexi. I love your writing style already. I'm looking forward to your content on here.

Kind regards,

Adé ✌🏿

Thank you, Adé :) Love that gif!!! hahaha

Heya Lexi

I am really Interested to explore your work.

I just hope that Pretty Deent would help me gain some Awesome brand recognition and memorability from advertising, marketing & sharing my Website around the Globe.

PS: I am planning to launch my Website in the next few days.

Welcome to steemit. God, you are beautiful!!!!!!! Those hair...Like an ancient Greek goddess :D

Thank you!! :)

Hi Lexi!

Welcome to Steem.
As you're already a great blogger (although I think the link you added is broken?) you'll fit in well on the platform. There is so much to see and do here. I'm a curator and so I look for great articles on the site and submit them for big payouts... but they have to fit specific guidelines in terms of exclusivity to Steem, formatting, etc. I put up a post about this recently if you want to check it out... but otherwise keep doing what you're doing (hanging out here and avoiding negative social media).

Welcome aboard!

Hi there! Thanks for alerting me to the broken link. Good to know I can have you to alert me to the best content! I look forward to following along. :)

Thanks for taking the time to write to me. Hope you're having a great day.

Hey Lexi!

Looks like you've got this platform under control already... I thought I might have been too late and you might not have seen my comment...

Ahhhhh, while I'll help find great content and highlight newer people to Steem, what I meant was that since you're a pretty established blogger already, once you get on top of the @curie guidelines you might be in the running for the bigger payouts yourself. We're here to reward excellent content on this site... we want to make sure great new Steemians don't give up because their voice isn't heard.

You've very welcome! Hope you also have a super rad day!

Ahhh, that is awesome! I'm so excited to follow @curie!

I've just tagged a new post with the tag -- I hope you don't mind me asking, is that OK? If not, can you direct me on how to be eligible for the tag?

Thanks in advance :)

Awesome! I'm rapt you're excited!

I've already got you on my list of people to check through, so you don't have to tag or anything... you're on the list.

If you haven't already, check out my latest post for the curie guidelines... if you check all those boxes you're golden!

(Golden for next week... we tend not to submit people in their first week just because we want to see if people are consistent and stick around first).

Please feel free to ask me any questions... happy to help!

Welcome to steemit! If you are still in FL come March we are planning a big steemit meetup....details to come.

I'm originally from NY and was just in NYC during the holidays....12 degrees was not fun LOL. NYC is awesome though.

Thank you!! I'm looking forward to experiencing the cold finally :)

Welcome to Steemit @prettydecent !! :)) It's interesting how it was easy to find myself in your introduction post. I feel you and wish you all the best in your Steemit mission!! God Luck!! :))

Awww thank you!! I appreciate it!!

This intro was really good! Welcome to the Steemit platform. Dope to see you got your family on here as well. I got my dad and brother on here too lol. So far i've seen nothing but positivity on this platform so i wish you nothing but that during your adventure on here and in NYC. Hope to grow together in this community :)

YOU CANT LEAVE FLORIDA WITHOUT MEETING ME! WE are having a florida meet up in march, why are you heading to big apple when all the cool kids are down here. I guess there is no going back now, i wish you all the luck. I wanted to invite you to a group called the minnow support group. Stay in touch, and have a ton of fun. Next time im in NYC Hopefully ill come see ya!

Aghhh I know right! Unfortunately I have to be up by February for work. I’ve joined the Minnow Support Discord (I think) but I can’t sort out how to register or where to focus my attention on there! Is there a specific channel you recommend?

The registration room is currently closed, our bot is broke, but chat whenever you can!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @kubbyelizabeth from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Great intro, Lexi! I hear you about social media. Finding Steemit has been pretty incredible for me, though. And, wow! Moving from FL to NY is a h-u-g-e step! Best of luck to you! I look forward to reading about your journey. :)

Thank you! I'm excited to share it. Looking forward to seeing more from you as well!

Hey, Lex, welcome to Steemit! And thanks for the comment. Hey, you have a really interesting story going on, here. Definitely going to follow. I feel you on the FB. I'm on everything: FB, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat. I work with a lot of Young Adults, so I feel its needed, but...I think I'm going to delete FB for awhile. I also need a bring. Just so much....everything.

I've been blogging for about 8 years on a Wordpress blog. I have over 500 posts on there; tons of great content. And I've been glad to share on there because it's been helpful for a lot of people, but I would love being able to pay off some of the student loans through this platform. I'm working to finish a doctorate, so I definitely have some student loans! lol....Hey, so where in Florida are you from? I used to pastor in Tampa, but have family all over Florida. Have a brother in Orlando, one in St Augustine and my in laws are in Miami.

I feel you on Wordpress! I've always worked there too but I'm absolutely sure it isn't working any longer in terms of monetary gain. It just doesn't work for discussion -- there's too much freedom to manipulate it however you want. I love that Steemit encourages such real conversation. So refreshing.

I lived the past five years or so in Orlando actually! Sounds like you have roots all over the sunshine state. I'll be moving to New York in just a few weeks now, so I'm pretty excited about that :)

Very cool. Yeah, my people are all over the sunshine state. Miss it especially this time of year!

I definitely look forward to reading more about your adventures in NYC. Have heard of Sara Dietschy? She cataloged her journey via vlogs of moving, I think it was from Tennessee to NYC, in order to do creative work and YouTube. Here's her link: https://www.youtube.com/user/saradietschy
Ok, gotta run. See you online.

By the way, go Mom!! (@GatorLynne) That's awesome that she got you on. I just told my parents about it and they're going to jump in as well :)

ok, i feel the same, hate social media, so im doing this with another purpose

Welcome to steemit😊I think you will pretty do well here especially with your background. Looking forward to your posts. Goodluck 😊

Your going to be my first resteem! As an entrepreneur, I constantly gave the same dilemma with social media- what a frustrating paradox it is!

Just made my first post, would appreciate it if you checked me out!

Welcome @prettydecent! That's so interesting that you are on a "break" from typical social media right now... I totally understand what you mean about it having the potential to turn into a black hole of negativity.... I have actually never been on social media except for starting here on Steemit a few months ago, so it's all kinda new to me. I had a few reasons for staying away from Facebook, Instagram, et cetera, but avoiding drama and negativity was definitely high on my list!