Finally an introduction

in #introduceyourself4 years ago

I guess it's that time finally. I have been putting it off for so long for a number of reasons, mostly anxiety, but I can't put it off any longer. I am finally going to introduce myself. I started my account back in January of 2019 and had mostly been curating although I had planned to make posts. I thought I was going to break out of my shell and start posting earlier this year but with everything that happened in May, I took some time off to reflect on everything that happened.

The change to Hive has really interested me and I want to be more involved with the gaming community and blockchain gaming and NFTs so this is my starting point. I have a very fluid sense of self so I'm not really sure how to introduce myself 'correctly'. Like I said earlier, one of my biggest interests is in gaming but I have a wider set of interests than that such as trading, film, music, comedy and writing. I hope to be able to combine some of my interests and skills and bring a lot of value to the communities here. Sometimes I struggle with etiquette and culture so I hope people can give me constructive advice and give me a chance to learn and grow. I like to think I can adapt well to the challenges and hope to help grow a stronger network here and help make Hive one of the best communities in Crypto.

One thing I have noticed people talking about is something called Tribes. Can someone help explain what their function is? I understand the communities but I was wondering how Tribes differ. Am I able to join multiple Tribes or do you have to commit to only one? One other thing I am curious about is how much Hive Power does someone have to have in order to be a more prominent member of the community? I would like to grow my account to over 9000 Hive but I'm not sure how significant that benchmark is. My final thought/question before I get started is about the topics I post on. Is it better to focus one account on one niche and make a separate account to post about another topic or is it fine to use one account and post on any number of different topics? Thanks for taking the time to read this and feel free to give me any feedback you have. I would like to get started right and be a reputable and successful member so any tips you have would be greatly appreciated!

Sort:  

Greetings to hive

Thanks. I hope to add a lot of value to our communities. Always feel free to reach out if you need any collaboration on a project.

Don't forget to use a VPN when browsing online.

Welcome rawbe!
Ecency is mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Download Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com, desktop: https://desktop.ecency.com apps that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as Points to promote and boost your content.
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency

Hey thanks. I will have to check you guys out soon. Between desktop and Android, which do you recommend as the best way to use your platform?

A very good hive mobile service.

https://ecency.com works on your desktop and mobile devices. For unique mobile experience with notifications you can try mobile app, for desktop secure experience you can try desktop. Choice is yours!

This post didn't show up on the anyx.io nodes. I had to use the hive.blog nodes to see it.

Should I avoid posting on those nodes to increase my visibility for future posts? I'm not too sure what the difference is to be honest.

@shadowspub another Canadian here @rawbe just got on hive!

If you enjoy Cannabis content make sure to checkout
WeedCash Network for the best curated cannabis content on Hive!

img_0.2722408749595304.jpg

I guess tribes usually have their own second layer coins, which you can buy and sell on https://hive-engine.com/ and an own interface to the blockchain. Yes, you can join several tribes.

I would recommend looking for the community which fits in context and respectively post there with this account. Hive itself is already a niche with less then 30k active daily users.

I don’t think there is a specific Hivepower value, which makes one more or less prominent. Be prominent by good content.

Hey thanks for the feedback. I have found a few communities I like so far that I am testing out. I hope to be prominent with my content but I suppose that's one of those eyes of the beholder things so hopefully others think that as well. I would like to get more involved with tribes and check out those layer two coins soon. There's so much to explore

There is indeed! You definitely need to upload a profile picture so we can put a face or vibe to the name!

That's a good idea. I will look for a profile picture that's a good fit. Do you know if there's any etiquette for a profile pic like when we use images in our posts and have to provide sources. I'm not sure if it has to be an image I own or something.

I have a very fluid sense of self

I hear that - I hate intro posts for that reason!

There's a little bit of confusion between 'tribes' and communities. Natural Medicine, for example, is both a tribe and community - there's a community you can subscribe to, but it is also a tribe, as it has tokens and an .io.

Thanks for the confirmation. I'm glad that's not just me. I'm starting to understand the difference between them better now. Thanks.

Hello & Welcome!

Hey thanks. Happy to be here. Everyone has been so welcoming so far.


Hey @rawbe, here is a little bit of BEER from @designpod for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Have some BEER! !BEER for you.

Following you now.

Make sure you stick a picture on all your posts or they look like crap in the feed. You can edit old posts so you can put a picture on this one.

If you post approved content you will get rewards, but if you expose the censorship agenda you will probably get spanked. More friends, and more rep can help, so start out carefully and get established before letting rip.

Hive is a rabbit hole, all the best

Ah ok. I have learned since starting but wasn't sure if I should edit in that way. Personally, I don't mind leaving it and it showcasing how much I've grown and learned but I could edit if you think the aesthetic will matter much long term. Interestingly enough, I looked back on this post in ecency and it just took my profile pic and used that for the thumbnail.

I'm not sure if this is unusual, but when I'm manually curating my feed in a hurry, the two things that decide my votes are the title and the thumbnail image!

And when I'm checking out new accounts I scroll straight to the bottom of their timeline and check out their first/intro post - so it's possibly worth updating that one occasionally

I hope you make another post in the near future. The only way I know to shake anxiety is the same way to shake fear. Head on! Knowing F.E.A.R. is false evidence appearing real.

You're right I should. I have actually drafted and not published probably a dozen or so posts since my last one. I am a very critical person and it often starts with myself. I think critical thinking is very valuable and shouldn't be overlooked but the perfectionism is definitely holding me back. I found a good video that uses this 70% rule to encourage me to find a better balance