I'm Zach, an American Actor in China. 我是 左右美国演员。

Having been born in a town of not quite 200 people in the middle of nowhere Nebraska, and attended university with a class of only a couple hundred I always knew small town life would never be for me. But when I made a joke to my acting advisor about taking mandarin as an elective 'because I needed something easy' I didn't realize that would be my way 'out.'

image

Onee B.F.A. in acting, six years, 280 talk shows, 15 sitcoms, three movies, 17 thousand instagram followers, and 140 thousand weibo followers later I can hardly believe the champagne dream I call my daily life.

image

Mainly based in Beijing China as an actor and talk show host I've also taken on projects in Korea, Egypt, Mongolia, Hong Kong, Macau, Canada, and The United States.

image

Traveling location to location I'm reminded of something my professor told me, 'your job doesn't have to be your passion, but should allow you to do what you want with your life.' I am one of the lucky few who has a job that is my passion and allows me to do what I what with my life. Which is travel, familiarize myself with new cultures, learn new languages, and above all else act.

image

I look forward to sharing my gritty, awkward, but always fun journey with you.

image

从美国内布拉斯加州的农村出生长大。在俺们那疙瘩的人口不到两百个人。所以我从小知道我不能永远住那个村。一直想走南闯北。

在内布拉斯加威斯利安大学学习的演戏职业。上我大学有一个外语的要求。必须学习一个语言为了毕业。那时候老师问我'Zach你想学习什么?' 我开了一个玩笑,'中文吧。听说很简单。' 我觉得这是很明显的开玩笑因为所有人知道超级难。但过了一段时间我发现我老师真报名的中文课。哎呀我的妈呀。

image

6年之后我已经拍了两百多百电视剧比如;《非正式会谈》《非你莫属》《你看起来很好吃》《北京客》《我在贵州等你》 13多电视剧比如《生死血符》《结婚时差》《客家风云》《如果可以这样爱》等等。现在Instagram有1万7千粉丝。微博有14万左右。

image

我拍过戏在,贵州,北京,上海,宁夏,内蒙,天津,山东,昆明,湖北,湖南,横店,厦门,香港,澳门,韩国,埃及,加拿大,美国和蒙古。我一开始觉得这些事情是做不到但我现在发现天下无难事,只怕有心人。

-Zach Ireland also known as 左右

Sort:  

Welcome @realzachireland !

Welcome! Very Cool Job indeed 😎 , I will look up your work and make sure to check it out!
upvote_initiative.png
Manually 40% UpVoted & Re-steemed! Yes, I do this personally, and not with a bot!
More about the Initiative here...
Remember To Vote blueorgy for witness!

Thanks so much! If you speak Chinese and like war dramas I recommend 《生死血符》its the same director who did Mr. Six and the lead man and woman are dope.

Will defiantly check it out, don't speak sadly but I'm sure I can finds some subtitles?

Glad to see you on Steemit! Can't wait to live vicariously through your travel and acting adventures!

Thanks Cody, I've been looking for an outlet to get back into writing, sometimes it's so easy to get wrapped up in the daily riggamarole and forgot the adventures you have. I think this will be a good way to keep a good log of what I've done.

Greetings, and welcome @realzachireland ! Keep posting up cool photos, I'll definitely follow :)

Thanks Mike, I'm constantly traveling for my job. And the world definitely has an abundance of great scenery. So expect a bunch of pics.

Sooooo cool! It was super smart to go somewhere you could differentiate yourself, and it looks like it's paid you back in experiences way beyond what Hollywood could provide.

Absolutely! That was my thinking entirely and the opportunities I've received are absolutely insane. I'm incredibly lucky. It always makes me wonder when someone's reasoning for not doing something is 'because no one has done it that way before,' it stands to reason to me that approaching something in a new way has a higher yield for success.

Great philosophy, hopefully it will inspire more people to do the same!

Welcome to Steem @realzachireland I have upvoted and sent you a tip

I don't have any steem power to upvote this or I would! I have seen you on tv! You're a great actor. Welcome to the community. Following.

Thanks! I'm glad you like my work! I really look forward to sharing my stories here. There are so many silly things that happen behind the scenes here I honestly wouldn't believe unless I saw them myself.

Hello Realzachireland its good to see more Steemians around. Have fun in this community. I wish you many followers and new friends :-) Cheers @chrisx

Hello @Realzachireland I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community !! Nice post, Wish you much luck! Cheers! i will follow your account, please follow me at @mekong

Hello @realzachireland. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

welcome Zach, you look like you got many stories to tell, best of luck here

你好左右。欢迎来Steem。

Welcome to steemit @realzachireland

Give us great motivation.. Keep steem on.
Nice to know you.

I do hope you enjoy this community.

Thanks azissuloh, I look forward to seeing what I can find here.

Awesome!
This is a great introduction post and I think you will be very successful here on steemit if you are consistent.
I will give you a follow in hopes that you are and see what awesome posts u can come up with!
Welcome and SteemON!

Thanks quinneaker, it's a bit of a challenge to navigate the interface of steemit. So it may take a bit to get more polished. But I definitely have a good amount of pictures and stories to share. I checked out your account and followed you as well, loved your picture of the babies with the bindis.

Yes the Steemit UI is shit...Steemit as much potential as it has is still in BETA. But I can assure u that this platform has the potential to be very powerful. It is a wise investment.
I appreciate u checking out my posts, lots there, hope you find stuff you like and that I keep creating content you find valuable.
SteemON!

Welcome to Steemit and more success to your acting/modeling career!

You started Mandarin when you were in college? How long did it take for you to become fluent? Any tips you would give past Zach to learn quicker?

Cool story, welcome to the site.

Thanks for the welcome!
I did start in college. With a language like mandarin because it is so vastly different than English (my mother tounge) I would honestly say fluent is a big word, and I rarely use it. I will say it took me about 3 years of living in the country to become competent.

The reason I phrase it like this is because, even though I participated in a science experiment style talkshow (think bill nye) and had to use '10 dollar words' like 'surface tension, viscosity, and silicone. I still don't know how to say, 'divide' for
Example. Or talk about anything mathematical, because I rarely talk about them in English.

But to answer your question I would really tell myself the more effort you put into studying at the start the easier it will be later on, the times are MUCH more important than you think, learning mandarin will be a never ending process so remember it's not a sprint but a marathon. I have friends who have been learning Chinese for 20 years and STILL learn new words.

Cool, thanks for the info. I've never studied it, but bought Rosetta Stone Mandarin during cyber Monday last year and it's 3rd on my list of languages to get started on (luckily the others won't take 20 years to completely master). Just trying to get different language learning advice from people who have succeeded at various languages to figure out optimal ways to learn them, but really it seems like time spent planning it out is better spent just jumping in and learning.

Thanks, see you around on here!

Welcome to Steemit, Zack! Your job sounds really interesting. I've newer even heard of actors who tried to make it big in China before, so it will be really interesting to read about your stories of how you did that!

I wouldn't say I've made it big, but I'm definitely trying and people seem to take notice. From what I can tell it's mainly Elbow grease, a friendly smile, and a whole lot of dumb luck.

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Thank you, I look forward to being apart of the community and hearing everyone else's as well.

Thank you, I look forward to being apart of the community and hearing everyone else's as well.

Sweet story Zach!

Dude you look exactly like a younger version of Conan o'Brien !

And instead of your show in english yours is in chinesse! Having something you love be your work can at times be a blessing and soul crushing, but it does work out for the best ! Cheers and Steem on !

Hahaha! That's the first time someone has told me I look like a young Conan! He was my idol growing up! Normally people in china compare me to Sheldon from the Big Bang theory. :D

And now probably Tom Holland :p

Oh You are so pretty Jajaj
Hello I am @Vrpinto

Congrats bro! Ive always had a passion for acting as well... Glad your dream came trueee! :)

Welcome, do you speak Mandarin as well?

Hello and welcome to Steem! :-) Followed. Follow me back 😘