My first week on steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

I have learnt a lot in this short week of being on steemit; one of the points i name below, from what i have learnt to how. Its a topic i feel i want to discuss because i think i have understood more of it it may help other new users, as a newbie myself.

  1. Upvotes
    There was a post (i should have re-steemed so i remembered who it was by) which taught me and made me aware of how much my upvote is actually worth. Because i am a new user, by reputation score is not very high unlike others, neither do i have a lot of steem power, and i believe because of these two factors, when it comes to upvoting someones post, most of the time it does not make a difference. I can see that when i hit upvote the rewards of the post (if any) stay the same. Rarely, it makes a 0.1 cent difference but only if my upvote is around the 100% mark, however sometimes even if I'm at 100% my upvote does not add value

I've found steemworld.org to be very useful to know what percentage i'm at as well as what my upvotes are worth ( currently 0, although rarely, my upvotes do add value sometimes)

I guess what i have learnt from upvotes and my own analysis is that the higher your reputation score is and the more steem power you have, the more your upvote is worth. It is also better to upvote posts when you are in the 80%-100% range as that way, if you are i guess somewhat generous enough? Your upvote (depending on sp and rep) will reward others with a specific amount - curation rewards for you may also follow after.

for big accounts who have been on the platform for a long time, their upvotes are worth a lot more, but I'm sure a lot of you who first started out here would know it isn't easy

Please correct me below if i am inaccurate in anything i've said, i am still a newbie after all so still trying to get the hang of it all. Also if anyone has any advice for me it would greatly be appreciated.

Thank you for reading! 😊 also thank you to all those that have upvoted my previous posts and commented - very much appreciate them, even if some posts have not made anything, i still appreciate the upvotes and comments especially those who never fail to upvote my posts