How Steemit is lifting the fog from the crypto space and lowering the barrier of entry.

in #introduceyourself5 years ago

Author: Arto Teräs

Get PAID for original content through an upvoting system tied directly to one’s social influence checkmark-sm.png

Get REWARDED for engaging and furthering the conversation through commenting checkmark-sm.png

Get EXPOSED to the power and promise of blockchain without a PhD in Computer Science checkmark-sm.png

I consider myself an edjamacated human... Or at least I thought I did until I entered the crypto world about 4 years ago. Akin to new world explores of the past I jumped feet first into the market dreaming of a future where decentralized ledgers could pry open transparency shaping our world into a place where the masses could retake ownership of the economy, politics, and the internet.

Then reality hit. Cryptocurrencies and the Blockchain were only in their infancy. While their promise was true realities like scalability, security, and adoption still plague the space today.

Scalability:
Anyone in the space in late 2017 seen first hand what scalability brick-walls Bitcoin (BTC) has. I remember seeing the price jump to over $19,000 (USD) per BTC and thinking I can’t wait to get my cold storage BTC onto an exchange. $80+ (USD) in transaction fees and days later when my coins finally arrived on my exchange the price had already peaked and began to fall. Thinking the bounce was coming I held and never ended up realizing my profits.

Security:
“I convert my paper cash to some fake coin someone mines by solving a math problem?”
Yeah… well… Yes, that is what you do.

“Then I leave that coin on my computer that crashes when I open Internet Explore?”
Well, you can transfer it to an exchange.

“Who runs that?”
Some college kids in a country thousands of miles away.

“No thanks!”

Adoption:
As a developer I had a leg up on the masses. I poured over whitepapers and fiddled with code. Slowly I began to understand what the blockchain was and how it could be used. Fast forward to today and I still have a hard time explaining what is under the hood and why it has value to my family and friends. Pile on trying to communicate why Ethereum (ETH) is different than Bitcoin (BTC) and all the exchanges, wallets, and apps needed to interact and use the blockchain; it is just easier to argue about politics. I will never forget a friend once saying “I don’t know how electricity gets to my house, but I use it every day and don’t need to understand.” That’s the key! The user interface/experience needs to be so seamless a regular Joe can just sign-up and begin using the blockchain and all its wonder without having to fully understand how it works.

Enter Steemit! After joining Steemit a few days ago I am impressed at the quick learning curve. I feel like a fog has been lifted and I can see the castle on top of the hill. With no cash or effort, I created an account and began interacting with the Steemit community on the blockchain. This community is creating value and rewarding content creators in a way that has never been done before.

I am excited to lend my skills to the cause and engaging with people to further spread the adoption of STEEM.

sarus

Sort:  

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

@dronegraphica has some pretty cool aerial pictures! Thanks for the link.

Welcome sarus!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome to Steem sarus! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Congratulations @sarus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome to steemit @sarus.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Hello @sarus! This is a friendly reminder that you can download Partiko today and start earning Steem easier than ever before!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem. You can login using your Steem account, browse, post, comment and upvote easily on your phone!

You can even earn up to 3,000 Partiko Points per day, and easily convert them into Steem token!

Download Partiko now using the link below to receive 1000 Points as bonus right away!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @sarus! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!