Introducing Everything from the Sea to the Sky! 🌊🌌

in #introduceyourself β€’ 6 years ago (edited)

Introducing Everything from the Sea to the Sky!

If you’re not lost it’s not an adventure!

sea-to-sky: Maricel, an 18 year old ball of energy, born with the travel bug and an insatiable thirst for adventure.

IMG_20180920_194303_176.jpg

Hey Steemians! I am excited to begin this steeming adventure with this incredible community that I have heard so much about and hope I captivate you enough to follow my exciting story!

So who am I?

My name is Maricel which is the inspiration for the name β€˜sea-to-sky’ since it literally means sea and sky in Catalan. I liked this as it links to my search for adventure and travel and everything from the sea to the sky.

I believe strongly in positive mindset as this has often proved valuable to me in many difficult situation pulling me through and helping me see the bright side of things, β€œalways look on the bright side of life!”. Following this theme I have three main mantras that I always try to follow in life: every cloud has a silver lining, carpe diem and most importantly hakuna matata! :D

I love staying active and doing thrilling sports like acrobatics and surfing! Gymnastics was a big part of my life growing up, there was a time when I was doing up to 8 Β½ hours every week but sadly with exams the past few years I’ve had to give it a rest but I definitely intend on taking it back up in future! Being the type of person who gets very restless after doing nothing all day, it makes me tired and groggy creating a vicious cycle making me want to stay in bed all day, so the cure is to always be doing things and always keeping active.

I am bilingual and have a dual cultural identity, born and raised in Scotland with a Scottish Dad. Having a Spanish Mum however has been another huge influence on my life and meant that I took my first flight over the sea to sky at just a few months old. Every year since, I have been lucky enough to be able to travel to Spain either by plane, flying now being almost second nature to me, or even a few times driving there by car or campervan with my family.

2018-10-20 06.45.30 3.jpg

What can I bring to the Steemit community?

I just spent 2 months travelling across Europe to Morocco with a group of friends, all of us just having finished school. Before I went travelling I spent loads of time searching the internet for people who had done what I was about to so I could prepare for my travels, including some inspiring travel bloggers here on steemit. It was super helpful and saved me many troubles but of course there were a few lessons I had to learn by myself. So I plan to do the same for you, I'll share with you everything I know and have learned from research and experience so your journey is even smoother than mine! And if you’re not sure you even want to go travelling just stick around for my future blogs which will be entertaining for anyone and might even convince you to begin your own journey. I will be blogging and sort of vlogging so i can include clips of the funnest moment for you to enjoy! So to sum it up I’ll be sharing my adventures and what I learn, my mistakes so you don’t make them, to entertain you and maybe even to inspire you to take the plunge and have your own adventure!

be5a97db-91f6-435a-8e6b-5a50b3cdf115.jpeg

I started my journey in September 2018 with five amazing friends who have the same passion for travel, fun and adventure. We have been planning this adventure together for the past 7 years, dreaming of the time when we could finally be free and independent to do what we want. We vaguely planned a 2 month trip, surfing down the west coast of France Spain and Portugal, with an interrail ticket leaving the details to figure out as we went along (which definitely lead to some interesting experiences and many lessons to learn from :’D). Travelling all the way down to Morocco, surfing some more, and going to a nomadic festival in the Sahara desert.

I arrived back in Scotland on the 31st of October and am now job hunting so I can earn money just so I can spend it on yet another adventure abroad, ideally in the heat to escape from this wet, miserable Scottish weather :'D! I still don’t know where I will be going at this point but that’s just part of the adventure!

Speaking in even longer terms than that, next year I plan on going into a Philosophy and Psychology joint honours at uni, so expect to see some of that influencing my blog. I’ll most likely also be talking about the transition from the freedom of travel into the, dramatically different but still exciting, life of a student and how to live as a student with the travel bug!

You will see the raw content, as they say β€˜the good the bad and the ugly’! Although there are certainly more good and exciting things than ugly! This is a new experience for me and I am willing to make the effort and get past the learning curve to create the best content to the best of my abilities.

I will leave this introductory blog here but will be back very soon to begin my blogging journey.

Thank you for reading and I’ll see you in the next blog!

Sort: Β 

Welcome :) Great introduction! Gladly resteeming this for some more exposure!

Greets, @theaustrianguy aka Martin!

Thank you that means a lot!

Welcome Aboard Steemit!
Looking forward to more of your posts!

@bluefiunstudios, for @welcomewagon

Small Welcome Wagon.png

welcome to steemit

Thank you!

Hola, me gustarΓ­a leer los artΓ­culos que escribas para la comunidad de Steemit.

Hola y gracias! Me alegro que te haya gustado lo suficiente como para leer mis blogs en el futuro! El proximo saldrΓ‘ pronto :)


Welcome to Steem @sea-to-sky.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

You've Been.png

We wanted to let you know, we have given you a 100% upvote, are now following you, and are introducing you to everyone we know. You can visit our post HERE

Welcome to the SteemIt Community.
Scott & Ren

Wow that means a lot to me! I am so happy to be introduced to your community and am incredibly grateful. I am super excited that you deemed my post worthy thank you so much!!

You are so welcome. I hope it helps. You have such a wonderful introduction and plans for us. I can't wait to see where you go!
Ren


Welcome to Steemit @sea-to-sky!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Welcome to Steemit I am sure you will love it here.
I have found your post because @zorank featured it on his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Hi Maricel, I’ve popped over after reading @xcountytravelers β€˜Have Ya Met?’ post and am sure glad I have. I loved reading your introduction post. You really are a β€˜ball of energy’ I can literally feel it from your words.

I’m really impressed that you and your group of friends were beginning to make future plans as far back as eleven years of age and carried them out as soon as school was out for you.

I’m going to show my daughter this post, she’s of an age with you and studying Psychology and Philosophy in Galway, Ireland. Maybe you’ll inspire her to join Steemit. Who knows?

Welcome to the steemiverse - a place beyond even the sea and sky! 😁

Well,

Thank you! The comment made me smile more and more as I read on until I swear it could reach from one ear to the other! What a cool coincidence that your daughter is doing the same as I will, if she does decide to join this amazing community tell her to drop me a comment! Thanks again I look forward more and more to really being a part of the steemiverse especially as it's beyond even the sea and sky!πŸ˜‚πŸ˜

Your smile must be contagious cos now I have one from ear to ear too. 😁

Great post Maricel! Just out of curiosity, where are you planning to go next?

I don't have any specific plans yet, only to get some work so I have enough money to head off travelling again. I'd like to go somewhere I haven't been before so you can expect a new adventure!

Very nice #introduceyourself story @sea-to-sky. You have my upvote and follow!

I'm looking forward to reading more about your travel adventures soon and I have also featured your story in my entry to Pay It Forward curation contest by @pifc. You can check the post here.

Wow thank you so much @zorank that's really exciting to me that people want to reshare my post I am really grateful!

Welcome to steemit, Can't wait to read about your travels :)

Β 6 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Very nice to meet you. What a great introduction post.

Spain is a very beautiful and varied country. Since we're neighbours, I have been there many times and I will be there a few times more.

I will be following you, looking up for your next posts, Maricel.

PS: I have found your post because @zorank featured it on his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Spain is certainly a beautiful and it's always important to have the opportunity to travel! I'm so glad you enjoyed my post :)

Welcome to Steemit! You have taken the first step in achieving many goals here at the crossroads of cryptocurrencies, blockchain, and social media. Consistent engagement is needed to progress and grow your following and influence. I am currently working on a weekly post to curate new users and providing them an introduction to the ecosystem. I have selected your post as one I will feature in an upcoming post! I explain this initiative on one of my previous post.

There are a number of great content creators on the platform to help you on your journey. I have recently ran into a great post by @roleerob that is great to get off to a great start here on the ecosystem. As I continue to expand this initiative, I continue to find great content and guides for new users such as this post from @finnian who not only includes a great step-by-step process of registering for #Steemit but also provides great security and engagement tips as well to help you on your journey. Another great user creating content for new Steemians is @paulag who is creating community backed video series on learning to navigate STEEM.

Keep your eyes out for these tips and references to help you on your journey to becoming a minnow! It is also a great idea to follow some of the great projects being built on the #STEEM blockchain. You can see these projects here. Some of these projects provide you the ability to interact and engage within the community and have the potential to provide rewards for your engagement. For example, @actifit is a fitness app that tracks your daily activity which you can post to the blockchain and earn rewards for your participation. Another interesting project is @steemmonsters which is a digital trading card game that enables you to collect and battle with the community all within the #STEEM ecosystem.

Lastly, a new initiative has just been launched by one of our top witnesses @gtg to support new users that become very active and need additional bandwidth to remain actively engaged in an effort to build enough Steem Power to grow your influence and interaction in the ecosystem. I would highly encourage you to visit his post for further instructions. I wish you the best in your future endeavors!

Thanks a million! That's a really cool project you have to help budding users, I am glad to be a part of it.

what a promising introduction Maricel @sea-to-sky , sounds like good sinopsis fro your steemit journey in the future and I like it. and If you don't have any adventures stories to tel because you're too busy to find the right picture.. you can just take us walking around your neighbourhood because sometimes .. something that you think usual and nothing in your perspective is the most interesting and unsual information for other too.. so Enjoy your Steemit Journey!

found your post through @zorank entry post in the pay it forward contest this week. Nice to have you here!

I'm happy you have enjoyed my post and thank you for the top tip I hadn't thought of things like that!

Hello @sea-to-sky, welcome to Steemit!

I love your introduction post, I feel the positive vibes and your travel adventures seem to be so interesting! I hope you'll have a great time on this amazing platform. :)

Thank you for the feedback! I'm glad the positivity came through, that's exactly what I hope to bring to this platform. I'm sure I will have an amazing time, I've heard so much good about it.

Welcome to Steemit Maricel πŸ‘‹πŸΌ

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello, ball of energy. Love your photos and adventures. Do you ever go bridge jumping?

Hahah hello! Thank you very much:) I have never actually gone bridge jumping although we did do some cliff jumping while in Portugal!

Sounds very exciting. Born to be wild. You have a gift to the world in living life. So much wisdom in that.

Welcome to steemit!

Wow! What an adventure you have already had. That is wonderful, I cant wait to hear more about it. We are hoping to travel to Spain some day to do the Camino de Santiago. I hope you find a job soon that will help you do a lot of travel.

One of the things that will help you grow here in the world of SteemIt is to remember that community is the reason this is such an amazing place to be. To get involved in that community you want to read what everyone is writing and you want to comment, sincerely comment on what you have read. This helps to get your name out there and helps people get to know you in addition to your blog posts and videos. Comment, comment, comment is what we encourage to grow in this community. However, being new you probably have a low Steem Power (SP) which means you will have a voting power and low resource credits. (You can find that information here: https://steemd.com/@yournameHERE). The key is, while you are so low in SP, to keep your Resource Credit number to about 80%. Here's a great article by @welcomewagon to explain why: https://steemit.com/welcomewagon/@welcomewagon/80-why-you-need-to-know-it

The same is with your voting power. If you are like we were when we began, we thought the "upvote" was like Facebook's "like" button. It is, but it holds a lot more weight because you are actually paying someone Steem (money) for their work. Because of that, you don't want to push the vote button for every post you read; only vote if it really is good quality and content you truly enjoyed. Here is a video by @sethlinson that might help explain it a bit better:

We hope this helps you get around easier. You are always welcomed to ask us questions and if we don't know the answer, we will get you to someone who can. Welcome to the SteemIt Community and can't wait to see what you have in store for us all!

thank you so much! :) My adventure really has been wonderful so far, in fact we did the camino the Santiago, walking from France across the border to Spain. I absolutely recommend you do the camino it is 100% worth it!

Oh, i just love that you did it!

Congratulations @sea-to-sky! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome to Steem sea-to-sky! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Senyum yang menawan. Aku menjadi terpesona.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @sea-to-sky! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sea-to-sky! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @sea-to-sky, welcome to the steemit platform. Hopefully you will grow and reach what you want here. Greetings from me @anroja, if there are questions please contact me. Don't hesitate to follow me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi sea-to-sky,

This is a lovely introductory post, Thank you for taking the time to write the post and say hello to the community!

I am here to help!

I would encourage you to keep posting and comment on others users content to help make a name for yourself and to get the most out of the platform!

Feel free to comment on my content and I'll up vote your comments! Drop me a follow so you can comment a lot and get a lot of my upvotes!

I have upvoted your post!

@charitycurator :)

Happy to be one of the 1st to welcome you to Steemit and be one of your 1st upvotes. For me, the 2 best things about being a Steemian are sharing and automation. The sharing part is when you upvote someone else's post, you get a piece of the curation (money/crypto) from that post (and vice versa). The automation comes from using steemauto.com to auto upvote so you can literally make crypto (Steem) in your sleep.

For example, you can make a piece of the curation on my post from 2 days ago "How the Magic of the Wihan Felt" by upvoting it (The Sharing). The amount of money is shown in the post.

After signing in to steemauto.com using Steemconnect (a part of the Steem blockchain), come back and click here ""Stewsak Fanbase"" and follow to upvote and receive a share of the money made from all of my posts (the automation). Sharing is a beautiful thing and I would love to share the piece of the money/crypto with you on all of my post. I look forward to reading your post in the near future and if you have any questions, ask away :) Welcome to Steemit & have a superb week!

"Wishing you the best..."

@stewsak

Congratulations @sea-to-sky! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sea-to-sky! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!