Hello Steemit, I'm Serste

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Words and images by @serste
901665_10200274596301011_792495745_o.jpg

Wow, this is gonna be stressful.

Less than two weeks ago I had to record a less-than-a-minute self presentation for a contest I won.

(Yes, you won a contest, incredible! Aren't you happy about it?)

Although I was extremely happy discovering my name in the winners' list, then it came the hard part of modern day's artists' life: the SELF-PROMOTION.

selfpromo.png

(...aaand here we go again! Why can't you just see the bright side of life? This kind of things are you best occasion to get people know you, and get enticed about your talent and brilliant personality, being able to truly appreciate your work! This is so millenial of you.)

The main problem I have with self-promotion (in everyone of its expressions, from taking a compliment to compile a curriculum vitae) is that I hate myself.
Puffo_Modugno.png

(add sad italian music here)

I hate myself so much that I've ignored my Life's Call for at least ten years, wasting my hungry young braincells in jobs I didn't like, diluting them in gallons of whiskey and nonsensical social interactions, suppressing them under a coat of self-indulgence.
selfindulgence.png

Turned 30, my motto was (try to) not panic, while something in my chest was trying hard to escape.

After a long sequence of under-payed jobs in border-line contests (maybe I'll talk about hot dishes and cocaine-addicted costumers another time), I had reached the saturation point in which being a kitchen worker was no longer an option, so for he third time in my life I had signed up for my true dream job: the Data Etryist.

Yes, people in cubicles with a fine moquette under their feet.

A cubicle would be my only responsibility: no more apprentices to 'help learning' at my own expense, no more serpentine co-chefs to be constantly afraid of, no more anxiety about killing someone because your boss had bought again from the black fish market.
17917560_10211081801354383_7650168804240470391_o.jpg

If you've ever been a Data Entryist, you already know how bad informed I was about the job.

In less than two months from the awkward welcome, my willing to live was half-sized.
why.png
I mean, I didn't even remember why I was punishing myself that much.

Probably the most long-lasting feeling after eight hours in a small room with 25 strangers is disgust.

Not for them, for us all.

At five point 45 in the evening I used to switch off, unable to go on in a task I didn't see the utility of, and just let my eyes wondering through the room, visualising the shimmering living tissue of human bacteria all over the place.

At six point zerofive my bus had left without me once again, the next one fortyfive minutes later, long trip to home, just eat and walk the dog, go to bed with no horizon to loose your thoughts into.

(Let's hope she's ready for the bright side now)

The original project was silly as all dreams should be: I was going to take this last under-payed job, but it would be something less life-threatening than Kitchen's Hell.

Office would be wonderful, thanks.

I would work for what it took to make 5000 euros to move myself and my two dogs in England, to try to make profit of my talents.

The image of Pino and Lola on an old car driven by a finally free me lasted, as told, two months.

My partner came in my life at the fifth month, on January 17, and saved me. He got pretty angry that I was wasting my life like that, and proposed to help me out.
Male_Face.png
Quite a prince, but he wasn't in a good shape too: he quit his job and I get back to Kitchen (I know, right?).

It took us a long year to move together from our parents' houses, and he is supporting my art attempts since three years now.

We moved to a old house near the woods, with my dreams to come back to my childhood relationship with Nature finally fulfilled.
cervia.jpg

Here we live a very simple life, cheap as it can be, and part of my day is devoted to the cure of the house and its inhabitants.

It is my only way to pay my partner back, since I'm not really ready to be rich and famous yet, as you may notice :)

I would like to share here some bits of this life, just because I'm learning to love it a little more every day, not without struggling.
solstizio_scribbles_50res.png

I hope to be able to keep on a diary for once in my life.

(for. once. in. your. life.)

Best regards, kind reader!

Serste

P.S.: please excuse my poor English, I'm still working on it!

Sort:  

Hello, welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to Steem Community @serste! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Recibe una cordial Bienvenida a Steemit, es un placer poder compartir contigo.

It's nice to meet you Sertse. Welcome to Steemit!
I'm also new in here, and I can't wait to see more of your posts, just started following you, would appreciate if you would follow me back :)

Thank you very much, I followed you back!

welcome serste! Glad to see your here

Welcome to Steemit! Nice intro and very interesting pics. Best wishes.

Thank you @uncommondream :) Best wishes to you.

About the Bright Side of Life:

Poor english? what poor english? Your prose is just exceptional :D You write just as beautifully as you paint/draw! I read every word of this intro and that deserves a re-esteem! I hope you'll like it and don't hesitate to ask if you have any question!

Well, I really have to give a special thank to you, @herverisson: I was labelled as 'incapable to ever grasp the English language' in high school, but lately I'm having many occasions to write and read it, such as this one, and I'm feeling more comfortable with it. I really appreciate you liked my intro!


Welcome to Steemit @serste!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hmmm, there something gritty, something exceedingly genuine in your voice @serste and I like what I hear. Following you. (Btw, your post found it into my feed care of @herverisson, so thanks to you!)

Self-promotion is the worst, everytime I'm forced to do anything of the sort I feel like a huge part of my creative energy is being de-legitimized and a chuck of my soul is being recalled. So, I hear ya.

I'm @danielshortell and I write short fiction here on SteemIt, it's nice to meet you.

It is an honour to be read by a true writer. Thanks for taking the time to look in my world :)

'I feel like a huge part of my creative energy is being de-legitimized and a chuck of my soul is being recalled' you couldn't say it better than this!

Bienvenida a Steemit, espero que la comunidad sea de tu agrado y puedas desarrollar todo tu talento. Saludos

Welcome to steemit community!

Welcome to Steemit! I already had the pleasure to meet you over at dada.nyc and I'm really happy, that you made the move to Steemit. Feel free to reach out to me, if you need any help and (most of all) have fun!

Hi @shortcut! So nice to find you here! :D Thank you very much, I'll keep in touch for sure!

Welcome to Steemit! @alexandravart told me to stop by and check out your blog, I love your work, I've seen you on DADA too :)

@juliakponford Thank you for stopping by! Glad to find you here: I'm already a follower of yours and I enjoy your content and art-curator skills.
So your compliment about my work is most appreciated!
I hope to interact again with you, on dada or here on steemit.
Thank you very much!