A shabbos goy on life, entrepreneurship and cryptos

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

May contain swearing and other naughty things. But I promise to keep it SFW.

My very first steemit post. It has come to be. My online crypto buddy @marketwizards introduced me to steemit a while back. I promised to write something and here we are.

My real name shall not be uncovered. My face shall not be uncovered. But I shall tell you other things about myself.

I am 32 (at the time of writing) and I live in a tiny flat land in the continent of Europe, called the Netherlands. You might know it as Holland, but Holland really is a set of provinces (North Holland and South Holland) in the country of the Netherlands. CGP Grey has a video on it I suggest you check it out.

I love to travel when I can. Recently I have been to Belgium (although that's not very exotic), Germany (again, not very exotic) and before that I have visited France, Italy, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, the USA and... UK! That's it. On my to do list are: the rest of the USA, Canada, Russia, Dubai, New Zealand (fuck Australia and their spiders the size of a BMW) and then some other countries.

Oh yeah, also want to do a cruise. There's this giant cruise ship going between Spain and Florida. Oasis of the Seas, it's called, I believe.

Big Boat

...right, Oasis of the Seas. It says so on the hull. Look at the size of the thing. Look at it! Can you imagine the resources and technology that went into it? The reason we haven't explored Mars yet, is because this thing right here, is the pinnacle of human achievement. Hands down. And... They have a pub on board. Get shit faced, on a ship, in the middle of the ocean, then hurl all over the place and watch the crew try to clean up your vomit as it slides over the floor, side to side.

When it comes to hobbies, I like technology (IT in particular), business and economy related topics. But I also like cars. Although I'm not too up to speed on my technical car knowledge, I do know my way around the terminology. Just like any other self-proclaimed car guy. What do I drive? This:

Volvo V40

A Volvo V40 T5 with 245 bhp and 400 nm of Torque. It's fast. And I like it. Sporty and safe. It was a big decision between that and a Volvo S90. Price wasn't much different. But right now, I'm still young enough to get away with driving a sporty car like this. Sure, it's not traditional sporty, but I'm not a traditional person.

Anyway... another great hobby is crypto currencies: the technology, the value, the market. It has it all. And as a tech guy/business guy, it's like all the good things in life rolled into one. I hang out with a bunch of goyims on a Discord chat. Their names are Alex, Bling, Fire, @jasperr, @marketwizards, Naazide, @simca and @zedfactory. I don't know them in real life, but they are my goyims. Just like old times on the old IRC servers. We help each other out with cryptos, real life issues and just being weird in general.

Professionally, I have an extensive background in software development, as well as entrepreneurship for the past 5 years, running a software development business. A boutique shop, if you will. Been developing software and managing development teams for about 15 years, 5 of which as part of my business. I've always stuck to the so-called "enterprise level software", which sounds fancy. It merely means that I have worked on projects for big(ger) companies (500+) and have got some pretty nice names on my portfolio, including, but not limited to, the ministry of defense.

The past few days I've been doing some thinking on what I would write about. And specially why. What could I write about that people would find interesting to read? Everything's been done before.

Well... Since my company went tits up, I've been working for a big company (200.000+ employees) and I am enjoying it to the fullest. There's lots of freedom and I feel comfortable calling it "entrepreneurship with a salary", so basically the hip term "intrepreneurship". I notice that I have more (life) experience than most people around me.

Why not write about that? So that's what I'll do.

I've decided that for the coming weeks I'll write a series on entrepreneurship, for the young starting entrepreneurs out there. What to look out for, what mistakes not to make, but more importantly perhaps, what mistakes you really should make in order to learn from them. But not only will I talk about how to (not) run a business, I'll also talk about how to deal with employees, deal with customers and deal with business partners. How to do some proper networking at events (i.e. how to behave at fancy parties) and the dark side of entrepreneuring: firing employees, dealing with creditors and with curators.

To top it off, I've included a nice FAQ for you guys. Enjoy and I hope that my future posts will actually help someone!

FAQ

Q: Are you jewish?
A: No.

Q: Are you a nazi?
A: No.

Q: Why use this name then?
A: I never figured it would stick. Yet, here we are.

Q: BUT DATZ RASIST!!!111
A: No.

Q: BUT, LIKE, IT IS BCUZ MY GENDER STUDIES TEECHOR SED SO!!! AND I LIVE IN CALIFORNIA.
A: No.

Q: I WUZ BORN IN 1995 SO I NO EVERYTHING
A: No.

Q: What will you post about?
A: At my age, 32 at the moment of writing, I've been through a lot, both personally and professionally. I've had my fair shares of mishaps, but also good things happen to me. I've succeeded in business and life in general, and then some time later, I've failed miserably in business and life in general. I like to think I am succeeding again at some level.

Q: Why write this?
A: Not only do I think steemit is quite a nice concept, but I also like to share my experiences. Not to be self-centered, but perhaps it can help someone going through the same thing, or wanting to go through the same thing (i.e. start a business).

Q: But you talk about yourself a lot.
A: Yeah, I get insecure sometimes and I talk about something that I think people will either like about me or something that I myself don't like about me, so I share and see what happens. Usually people laugh about it.... oh you mean here? Yeah, it's my blog and all. So fuck it.

Q: Is everything you posted, or are going to post, true?
A: Yes.

When will my next post be? Probably this week, so keep on checking.

Sort:  

Hello and welcome to Steemit family and our ever-growing platform. You have made a great decision by joining us and helping us to create decentralized entity that will change the way social media and other business models work in the future. I would like to help you out in your early days by using my steem power to upvote your first few posts. Simply follow my account and tag me by @czechglobalhosts in your posts and I will make sure to read your post and upvote you! Good luck and steem on! Tomas

Hey @czechglobalhosts good to see you here. I read you have your own business. Perhaps you'd be interested in the content, but perhaps in the future you could have some input, as well!

I definetely like the Oasis cruise ship in your picture! I have seen it out in the open ocean many times. Have fun and steem on!

Welcome to Steem @shabbosgoy I have upvoted and sent you a tip

welcome here Shabbosgoy :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me!

Thanks @khunpoom will do!

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good day and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :)

@shabbosgoy are you working for jews on Shabbos? Thats whats called Shabbos Goy.

Don't we all?

Good post my friend i am @djnoel :)

Hey mate, welcome to Steemit!

another great hobby is crypto currencies: the technology, the value, the market. It has it all. And as a tech guy/business guy, it's like all the good things in life rolled into one.

Sounds exactly like me. Definitely given you a follow and look forward to hearing more of your story.

fuck Australia and their spiders the size of a BMW

But the big spiders eat all the other shit insects you don't want.

Add Aus to your to do list. You'll be fine ;)

Congratulations @shabbosgoy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment