The Big Change

White ironed shirt, black tie, and shined shoes. I handed over my letter of resignation that I wrote weeks ago to my boss. I picked up my last cheque and said my goodbyes. I was neither happy nor sad, but I felt an immense amount of freedom. I left stability for uncertainty.

Departure, August 24, 2017, 12:00 PM. I pressed confirm. I ended up buying a ticket to Bangkok that very same day. I didn't have any plans nor did I know what I would be doing in Thailand. I just needed to go and pursue my passion in photography and live the life on my terms. I also wanted to do this alone. A week later, I sat on the last row of a China Eastern Airplane bound for Shanghai Pudong International Airport. Hours later, I was waiting for another flight to Suvarnabhumi Airport in Bangkok. It was rather impulsive, but little did I know that it would change my life.

DSC_5836.jpg
(I'm a huge fan of street food. I lived in Bangkok's China Town for a bit. You can find the nightscape photos on my website.)
DSC_5250.jpg
(This photo was taken next to the Mekong Delta during my trip to Vietnam)

For two months, I was blessed to be able to shoot in six different South East Asian countries. I made lots of friends, ate lots of food, and fell in love with the cultures. I rode on buses, trains, drove motorcycles, and bicycles. I have never lived so much in so little time.

22254870_10212049932418097_2754850812388961081_o.jpg
(This was during my trip to a non-ride elephant sanctuary an hour away from Chiang Mai, Thailand)

Now I am back in Los Angeles. I just recently landed a job as a freelancer for a media company. What I did was risky, but what is life without risk?

My name is Shaun and I hope I inspired you to do the same.

Thank you!

I will be writing a detailed photo series of my journies across the world. Stay tuned!

Sort:  

Very cool!! I shall tune in/follow, lol. Welcome to the community. I'm new also. Love the moves you are making, and the photography. I wanna get back on a plane...

Thanks man! I'll do the same! I'll write about my trip soon.